We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous end to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic night at the Barony Castle Hotel. All members of staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful, everywhere was clean and well maintained and we had complimentary room upgrades.... amazing rooms, what more can I say!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Rachael B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I have passed your comments on to all members of the team.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday as much as you enjoyed your short stay with us.

Warmest regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely location but poor help from staff. TV in room did not work and when I went to breakfast, was told it was NOT included but nowhere on the invoice etc does it say that. Will not go again. Staff member checked me out and told me where breakfast was but should have known having my details in front of him that breakfast was inc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
1  Thank NowraBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear NowraBoy,

I was disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We strive to offer a superior service and a hassle free stay to all of our guests so I must apologise for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed three nights,16 17 18th may.This booking was made in august,I requested room with larger bath as I have mobility problems .Called hotel twice to make sure and was assured both times no problem .On arrival not only was room not accessed by lift was also up two flights of metal stairs then a long corridor,after this room had standard bath ! called reception for room change ,same bath offered upgrade at £15 per night ,bath same size but slightly easier access,shower door was filthy on closing black mould behind door and on tiles ,didn't use shower,as the shower head is a health hazard.Why could hotel not email me between august and may about upgrade for larger bath ,sorry mercure poor poor customer service ,and to charge for upgrade even poorer when it still did't reach standard required.

Room Tip: choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Mikalexi,

I would like to offer my personal apologies for the disappointing service you recieved during your recent stay. Your comments have been discussed at length to ensure this problem does not affect future guests.
Thankyou for your time and honesty.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for two nights with family. Fantastic approach up to the hotel itself. We arranged at a busy time but the staff were very apologetic about the time taken to work through the arrivals.
Room was a good size and clean.

The hotel pool is quite small but as long as it's not busy it's fine. Control panel for the door didn't work too well though, people having to chap to get someone inside to let them in.

Good choice at breakfast with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulgamelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Paulgamelb

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, it is always a pleasure to read such a positive reply and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay.
On behalf of all staff here at Barony Castle, I would like to take this opportunity to say that we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Peter S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had really high expectations of this hotel, but our stay was spoiled by poor service. On our first night our service at dinner was ok, however we saw others around us complaining about the length of time they were waiting for their dinner or a drink. It wasn't even busy that night. On our second night my sister and I experienced the same poor service, we had to wait ages for our starter and had to ask where it was, we had to ask for our wine several times. Eventually we got our starter but not our wine, the waiters then came out with our starter.... 3 times!!! the table next to us were just laughing.... I was losing the will to live by this time..... we still hadn't got out wine! The staff didn't seem to communicate with each other and this was definately what was needed. Breakfast the next day was a similar experience. It seemed to me that someone needed to oversee what was going on and organize everyone! Some of the staff didn't seem to speak any English but they still need to be able to commiunicate to know what the guests are wanting or needing without having to ask several times for the same thing. I don't like to complain but we were really disappointed in our stay at the Barony Castle Hotel on this occasion. It was a shame as the venue was lovely and the rooms were clean although the whole place could do with a lick of paint :-(

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Anne T,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback has been passed on to the relevent departments and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write an honest review.

Warmest regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fantastic hotel in beautiful grounds ,spent 3 days on sept weekend ,pool and spa are also great , however food maybe not as good as it could have been but breakfast was lovely ,all round relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maura nnurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Maura nnurray
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, it is always a pleasure to recieve positive comments even though your stay was some time ago I will pass on your comments to the team.
On behalf of all staff here at Barony Castle, I would like to take this opportunity to say that we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Peter S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed overnight after purchasing a itison deal for £99 - this included a three course dinner and breakfast the next day. The hotel on arrival looked stunning as we approached it from the carpark. The check in went very quickly as we were the only ones at the desk, we were asked to do a 'pre-authorisation' £50 transaction on our card - this was because we wanted to bill all our purchases that night to the room.
Dinner was very nice, the soup of the day 'butternut squash with chilli' was delicious!
My only gripes were that the staff didnt understand us very well as they were all spanish (i think) also, after ordering a martini and lemonade I asked the girl behind the bar if I could have a slice of lemon in my drink - the next day when paying our bill I realised she then charged me £0.75 for this - which I think is a little bit ridiculous when you can buy a whole lemon for £0.30 and the slice she gave me was literally a slither!
Also, after using the swimming pool I was disappointed to learn that the female changing room meant you could not get changed in privacy as there were no cubicles - which meant a very awkward moment of trying to get dressed with my towel still round my waist.
Although I sound like I am complaining this was still a very nice overnight stay - the hotel is situated in a very peaceful location.
Overall I am unsure I would return but I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisalou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Lisalou88
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our aim is to achieve a high service standard and I am dissapointed to hear we fell short on this occasion.
On behalf of all staff here at Barony Castle, I would like to take this opportunity to say that we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Peter S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,168 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#4 of 8 in Peebles
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
797 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,472 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range: £49 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing