We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from a most comfortable, relaxing stay.

Staff are pleasant and helpful.

Food was delicious although afternoon tea could be improved.

Accommodation was excellent ... bed very comfortable and room warm and cozy.

Room Tip: Some squeaky floorboards, so pay extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Lizette T,

Thank you for your kind review, it means so much to us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    500
    285
    142
    96
See reviews for
263
822
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I were at a wedding and stayed at this hotel, the building has a lot of History and the grounds are lovely a very peaceful retreat and the Staff were lovely, However the rooms are tired and could do with refurbishment, which I do believe are in the process of being done.As it is an old building this will be expensive to do. The cleanliness as regards to housekeeping of the rooms needs more attention and perhaps the appointment of a housekeeping manager would be a positive move, and that would improve customer relations

Room Tip: rooms above the garden Area were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Dugie C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest and well observed review.
We are in the process of a costly refurbishment plan which is sure to be impressive once complete. Your comments are important to us and we would love to see you return to the Barony in the future.

Warm regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A place with a lot of potential. As they refurbish this large hotel, it could have the makings of a fine place. I would concentrate on some quality matresses that are not rock hard with the springs digging in as people are there for a good nights sleep. Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank malenymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear malenymike,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an honest review, we appreciate it very much. I will pass your comments on to my team membaes.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Having received an itison voucher from my other half as a present, with visited this venue and were highly unimpressed.

The hotel was rough around the edges, which I usually overlook, but was also unclean.

The staff were not overly attentive, and in some cases just rude. The restaurant was also running on low staff, as it was fully booked until 8pm when we arrived, although there seemed not to be anyone there between 6 and 7.

Food in the restaurant was generally very nice, although the bar was somewhat small.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sam H
Many thanks for your valued review. We are very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On arrival, we were greeted with empty wine bottles and beer glasses along the corridor that our room was located on. These glasses were not removed for the whole duration of our stay.
We then noticed that our nearest fire exits had not been checked since March 2014, so it was very disconcerting not knowing whether the fire exits on our floor worked correctly or not.

Our room was ok, but the walls were dirty with stains which had not been removed (it looked like nobody had even attempted to take them off), and the bathroom had black grime on the tiles. Aside from these downfalls, the cups and glasses were clean and the water was nice and hot.

We went to the restaurant 'The Blue Dug' for dinner, and both ordered a glass of wine. When I ordered my glass, the waiter very simply and rudely said "How old are you?", which was very unprofessional and offputting. It was apparent that the staff had not been trained in how to deal with asking for identification in a Challenge 25 situation. However, the glass of wine was with a meal, and it is legal for a sixteen year-old to have wine with a meal, so I was rather astonished at his lack of knowledge of the rules of alcohol licensing. The food was lovely - I highly recommend the sea bass and noodles. The coffee (Matthew Algie) was really nice too.

The following day, we went to reception and asked for a map of the walks around the castle grounds. It was noted that the maps weren't available to take for yourselves at the tourist information leaflet stand. We set off, and perhaps 5 minutes in, and just behind the castle, we encountered tables and glasses crates,various metal poles all dumped in the forest on the walk. This was really disgraceful, and a real eyesore. A real shame to dump all of the hotel's rubbish into the wildlife habitat around it.

Overall, it was a rather unpleasant experience and I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Emma S,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We appreciate all feedback, positice and constructive.
I am truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.
Once again thank you for your time and honesty.

Warm regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Bought a 5pm voucher as a present for my partners birthday. Walked John Buchan Way from Broughton to Peebles (13 miles) - then got a taxi to hotel from the town to hotel(!). It's probably 3 miles outside Peebles. This is the second time we have stayed here. Grand building on arrival, nice grounds for a wander. Enjoyed the dinner and breakfast and didn't have to wait around. Pool area ok - only 2 seats but quiet when we went, only one shower in changing room though and it had run out of gel! Agree with some of the grumbles of other reviewers, our stay was ok but there were a few daft things that could be sorted. Couple in front of us at reception were complaining about black mould round their bath seal, (they got moved) the code for the pool door only sometimes works, toaster burnt the toast, waited 20 mins for tea to arrive at breakfast, upper bench in sauna needs to be properly attached - daft wee easy fixes if they were a bit more diligent on their maintenance. But overall for what we paid it was good value and enjoyable. Would return but would ask for room NOT above pool area, our room (222) was very warm, even with window open.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We value all types of feedback, it is invaluable tool that enables us to rectify problems, our job would be much harder without it. Thanks again for your time and honesty.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,916 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
408 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing