We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired overpriced Hotel Not up to Mercure Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely peaceful location. The common ground floor areas have been superficially refurbished since conversion from a Health Service training facility a few years ago but are tired. The layout of the place is appalling. The one lift does not provide access to a rabbit warren of narrow passageways and stairs. Our attic room was very small, half of which was a sloping roof, dirty, no soap, small threadbare towels, cracked loo, broken handle on wardrobe, only 3 coat hangars. Clearly overpriced and not what I expect from a Mercure.
The restaurant food was good but limited menu with repetitive trimmings with most dishes - Chips - chips - chips! even with lamb! The meal was spoilt on the Saturday night whilst the wedding reception room was cleared by wheeling and carrying the unwashed plates- glasses etc in a convoy through the dinning room. again due to poor layout of the building.
Staff were well trained and very polite and friendly.
Probably wouldn't stay here again. Final gotcha sting was a £2.50
credit card surcharge which was not brought to my attention when my card was dipped as a
deposit on arrival! Shoddy profiteering!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here as a couple on 2 June and had a great time. The staff were nice and friendly. Jeanette on the desk and Stewart in the bar especially. It was nice to see that they were local to the area and knew their customer's needs.
The restaurant staff (young girl and boy) were again local kids who were really friendly and more than helpful to everyone's requests.
The hotel is in a beautiful location and near to Peebles and Edinburgh. I would say it is about 4 hours easy drive from Manchester.
The service was a little slow in the restaurant (perhaps the chef was new) and it was amazing that "last orders" were 10 45. It made me laugh because we haven't had licencing restrictions like that in Manchester and the sticks towns for years, especially in the hotels where there are residential guests. This, however is an idiosyncrasy of Scotland and is all part of the experience.
We would stay there again and get a bottle of single malt and a packet of Pringles for the room for those "special" cravings.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good to me so I would go for the cheapest in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellyg077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Neil G,

We were delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Positives - lovely location, nice gym, nice food, helpful staff
Negatives - tired decor, mould on bath seal, no seal on shower, lousy internet ( not working in room at all)
Overall it was ok - you got the feeling that a wee bit of investment would just lift it The absence of internet in rooms was annoying as it was combined with very poor mobile reception

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear hendepi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment for the majority of the bedrooms. The gym was refurbished last year and fitted out with all new equiptment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Barony in the future.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

2.50 credit card fee requested on arrival, I refused.
Noisy room refrigeration unit starting at ~2.30am
Breakfast 15 mins late
2.50 credit card fee requested on departure, I refused.
Requires decorating and staff with smiles.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear William W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay with us. It is our company policy to charge a £2.50 fee for any accounts settled with a credit card but no charge is applied to pre authorisation or accounts settled with a debit card, if you were not made aware of this then I am very sorry.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

All staff at this hotel can't do enough for you, excellent customer service throughout, from housekeeping to waiting staff to event manager. Although we had a few minor issues, these were all rectified in a way. Beautiful hotel and surroundings with breathtaking views. We were disappointed at the lounge/bar menu as it didn't have much choice and was pricey for being a 3 star bar menu, no shops or coffee shops near by unless go into Peebles. They set their standards high for food but had brown lettuce in salad they served up, unacceptable anywhere, although the chef did want to redeem himself the following night with a lovely restaurant meal. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan in summer, extremely hot at night without a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Lin C,

I was delighted to see that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the barony in the future.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
1  Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed over night at this Hotel and was happy with everything . Room was clean, food very good and staff very friendly . Breakfast was plentiful . For £37.50 each my husband and I were very impressed at what we got for our money .After reading some reviews I was wary, but the truth of the matter is " you can't please everyone"The 3 course meal in the restaurant was included in the price . We will be back .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear susan532014,

Thank you for your kind review, your feedback is important to us.
We are aware that we can't please everyone and if we were to believe everything we read we would never leave the house.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,168 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#4 of 8 in Peebles
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
797 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,472 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range: £49 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing