We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed a few days here, as part of a larger group exploring the Scottish Borders by car. Staff were helpful and efficient, food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast, and there are some lovely grounds to explore. Our room was bright and clean - what more could you want? Oh, and the coffee in the bar was the best we found in Scotland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peteratsylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear peteratsylvan,

We were delighted to see that you and the group you were traveling with had a great stay. Our coffee is roasted to order by matthew Algie and I agree that it is of excellent quality. All of your kind words have been distributed amongst the team, thank you for your time.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    486
    270
    138
    93
See reviews for
257
793
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having stayed at the Barony Castle quite a few times in the past and enjoyed the experience I decided to book again. Room was ok and comfortable apart from having no light bulb in one of the bedside lights, and the room above us had the most terrible squeaky floorboards! Dinner was not great - we ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio from the drinks waiter who came back to inform us that they did not have any (!) so we changed our order. 20 minutes later we had to ask a waitress to find out why we were still waiting. The food could have been better. We ordered coffee and had to chase that up after 15 minutes - eventually the order arrived but not what we had ordered! Taking everything into account I don't think I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on to the pool roof seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Rona J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We were sorry to see that the standard of service on the evening in question had slipped below your expectations. Your comments have been discussed and we have adjusted our training plan to avoid such problems in the future.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We travelled 5,000 miles and got a room where the lights didn't work, with dirty marks up the walls and with a view of a wall. Also, despite struggling with bags no one offered help or a luggage cart. Apparently it's our fault for arriving so late - by 8.30pm all the good rooms with working lights, clean walls and views have gone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise_takes_a_bawth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Eloise_takes_a_bawth,

Than you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comments have been shared and discussed with our team.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Needed somewhere to stay in Edinburgh. Rooms were expensive, but found this hotel and much lower prices, even with car hire, it was cheaper than edinburgh. 40 minutes drive from the city. Wonderful location and able to run on the hill behind. Interesting grounds. Nice pool and spa facilities. The corridors are a bit faded, but signs indicated that these were being updated.

I did find the food a bit pricey, but enjoyed what I had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolDjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear BristolDjp,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your stay on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a friend's wedding and had a fab time.

The hotel is beautiful and a lovely setting for an intimate wedding. If i went again i would definately stay another night so we had more time to explore the grounds and make use of the pool and sauna.

The food was gorgeous, both the wedding meals and the food we ordered at the bar and breakfast can not knock it at all.

the rooms were tidy and clean. I did comment to my husband saying the corridors ect could do with updating as they were a bit dark and dull, but there were signs up saying please bear with us whilst we have renovation work done and we did see a few people with decorating materials.

The staff were all very helpful and polite.

The only comment I can make is the drinks were very expensive.

The hotel is in the middle of no where so I would advise your own transport, (though I know this is not essential, some of the wedding party used a bus from Edinburgh with no problems) but since the area is beautiful we didn't mind the drive at all. Whilst there we visited the town of moffit, lovely little town to explore and get some lunch. We also found a little hidden toy museum there

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Joanna A,

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We were glad to hear you enjoyed the Wedding and the rest of your stay with us. All of your kind words have been passed on to the team, this kind of review really means so much to all of us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Barony in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel this week for two nights. The hotel was nice from the outside and the reception area and hallways are nicely decorated and fit in with the theme. The bar, gardens and pool area were also nice (this is definitely where most of the money has been spent so far). The only drawback I can say about this hotel was the room. The size of the room was ok but it was far from clean. The windows had mould around the edges, it had a lot of cobwebs around the window. I don't think the windows or that area had seen a duster or cloth in sometime. The bed was not very comfy. I think the mattresses could do with a change. The bathroom was pretty clean, nothing to complain about here. Overall, a good stay but could do with a good clean. We did only pay £55 per night so you get what you pay for I suppose, although I have stayed at premier inns and travel lodges for similar money and they were spotless.

Room Tip: If you don't like cobwebs or fancy getting lost in a maze, don't stay in room 220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear MartW2011,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on tripadvisor. You are correct, our initial focus has been on the public areas of the hotel but the bedrooms have not been forgotten. We are currently following a refurbishment plan and starting to notice a real difference in our rooms too.
Your comments regarding bedroom clenlieness has been passed onto our housekeeping manager.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were very unsure as to what to expect because of the not so good reviews. We had no need to worry. Yes, the rooms need a little TLC, however, it was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Nice to have a bath also. When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome. Our wardrobe was lacking coat hangers and we had a bulb out and our friends next door had a nice little armchair which wendid not have, so we requested this from some cleaners nearby and we were contacted shortly thereafter by a lovely lady from maintenance who gave us lots of coathangers, an armchair and someone to fix the lightbulb. Impressed! The grounds are really lovely and a walk is a must. The lamas are soooo cute. The spa was great. For all those idiots who complained about not knowing the code to get in or how to ask for the sauna to be switched on, well, if they had read the welcome note given on arrival, they would have known. The bar and resturaunt were really lovely and contemporary. The evening meal we had on our easy breaks deal was amazing. A la carte. Could not fault it. The staff were all so nice and very polite. We would especially like to thank Kaylie our waitress, Taylor our very young waiter who was really lovely and also Borja our waiter who was lovely and very pleasing on the eye for us girls. There were others but we could not catch there names. Thanks to all for a lovely stay and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We were in room 225 and 227 which were at the end of a corridor and very quiet, clean and adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dellulahlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear dellulahlaura,

What an incredible review, thank you so much for taking the time to write in such detail. We aim to please all of our guests, unfortunately this is not possible all the time. It is amazing what can be achieved by reading one small piece of literature. Your kind words mean so much to our team, reviews like this make a real difference.
Thank you again for your time and honesty, looking forward to seeing you all in the near furure.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing