We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park(Peebles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,747)
Filter reviews
1,747 results
Traveller rating
525
596
335
171
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
596
335
171
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiespool and saunabar menulovely groundsgames roomheated loungerssingle beditison dealan overnight stayfood was lovelyrelief maprestaurant staffa bit tiredblue dug restaurantpublic areasrelaxing stayboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,134 - 1,139 of 1,747 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel the public areas are lovely and bar area conservatory have recently been refurbished to a high standard. However our room was a great disappointment, having paid for an upgrade I was expecting better. The paintwork in the room was unfinished the ceiling had numerous patches and the shower was poor. The sound proofing was even worse we could hear every word the people in the next room were saying. Then they decided to use their whirl pool bath the noise was terrible while filling it up and it got even worse when they turned it on it was like being inside a giant washing machine. Hardly the relaxing break we went for.

We decided to eat in the bar and although food was nice it is overpriced you are obviously paying for the refurbishment pity it didn't stretch to our bedroom.

The leisure facilities are good and we enjoyed a swim in the lovely pool and my husband used the sauna. The changing facilities and shower are excellent If it had not been for this I would not have enjoyed our trip at all.

We stayed here for a Birthday treat, it was not what we expected and I would think twice before booking again due to the poor quality of the room. Also please clean drawers thoroughly their were hairs in one, very off putting and shows housekeeping standard could be better.You are letting yourselves down by allocating such dreadful rooms please give the room and bathroom it's much needed second coat of paint. Also do something about the noise and sound proofing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank RelaxingMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Dear RelaxingMum,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor regarding your stay. We are at the start of a lengthy refurbishment of our bedrooms as we understand some of them have become a little tired. The leisure facilities are very good and we are pleased you managed to make the most of them.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent a three day break here at the beginning go August. Our room was as far away as it could be, despite having booked many weeks in advance. The room was tired and in need of redecoration. The bathroom had mould in the tiles and sealant, not something I would have at home. We had to report two faults to the reception. The room was not value for money. However, the food, staff and hotel facilities were first class. If our room had been better I would visit again, however I would ask to inspect the room first.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Dear Shirley G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. A handful of rooms have already been completed and many more will be refurbished as the season quietens down. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience and the food was to your taste.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The very informative folder in reception may be borrowed so that the traveller can read about the history of the hotel, which is chequered to say the least. Only 3 years ago Barony Castle was a training college for paramedics. At one time it was a hotel called Black Barony Hotel. It's had a fire, one owner has been bankrupt and it has been derelict.

Our large room was comfortable and had been "refurbished" with a very comfortable super king size bed. Our friends did not all have similar experiences and the quality of the rooms varied greatly throughout our party of 42. All the hotel's carpets need a good clean and our bedroom was no exception. The bathroom had been refurbished, but was knocked about and the standard of redecoration was poor - I could paint better! The towels were snow white and fluffy. The toiletries were nice. The tea/coffee making facilities were good. We eventually had to have our TV retuned and some never got theirs working. The hotel is certainly "work in progress". Reception staff are charming and helpful.

Some of our friends needed training to find their way through the hotel from their rooms.

The breakfasts were standard hotel fare with addition of haggis - and piles of doughnuts, round and ring ones. Nobody seemed to eat them for breakfast, so I wonder if the staff enjoyed them for elevenses? The toaster was dreadful and you could either have warm bread or burnt toast.

It was a good place to stay for 4 nights and a good centre for reaching places to visit, though quiet and peaceful in its large grounds, away from the village of Eddleston.

The Great Polish Map of Scotland in the grounds has been uncovered, cleared and fenced and with a superb grant will soon be looking spick and span again. It is the largest map of its type in the world and I'm sure that the fascinating history is on the internet.

Room Tip: Check first if it had been updated from the training college days. Wifi does not reach all rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamemerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Dear madamemerlot,

Thank you for leaving us such an extensive review. Some areas of the hotel are a little tired but they will benifit from a freshen up this winter and the majority of our rooms will under go a refurbishment. The map is amazing and improvements are being made every day.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter S, operations manager at Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is in a very peaceful setting with an interesting history that the staff are very willing to tell you about and even provide extracts from a book written about the history of the area. It is at present undergoing refurbishments and some rooms are really up to date whilst others are a little tired. The food was very in tune with the area with dishes based on venison, wild mushrooms and local produce. Breakfast was full of a great choice of dishes to suit all tastes and included porridge and haggis. There are walks around the hotel to enjoy and of particular interest is a map of Scotland made by the Polish.

Room Tip: If you are really bothered you could ask for a refurbished room, we didn't and were quite happy with the room we were allocated
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, operations manager at Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Dear France 036,

Thank you for the lovely review. We love to see our guests making the most of the wonderful grounds that we have to offer. Great to hear that the rest of the hotel was up to your expectations. We would love to see you back at Barony soon.

Kind regards

Peter S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews