We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #2 of 2 Eddleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Passing through Eddleston and decided to stop for lunch. So glad we did. Fantastic place. Food is first class. Staff are extremely pleasant and attentive. Service excellent. Decor excellent. Worth driving 100 miles for a delicious lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9Moer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We happened on this place 3 years ago by laterooms not knowing that in fact it was more well known for the high quality food...to which this year when we returned to Scotland it was a must on our agenda. New chef, more knowledgeable staff, think we had the best room too, but it isn't why you go here. Food excellent even breakfast is out of the ordinary, the wine list is extensive and the attention to service is impeccable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You must try the staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable this wee jem is in a good location to visit local attractions for walkers fishers or just site seeing the food is brilliant the rabbit was amazing we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meeky5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a two night stay here and it was very enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfortable if a little on the small side. The star of the show however is the restaurant. Our meals were of a very high standard, excellent food, good wine list and attentive, knowledgable staff. Breakfast was equally enjoyable. A very good stay and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I rarely leave trip advisor reviews but feel compelled to when i encounter something a bit special and wish to share my experience for the benefit of others. We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident as i was staying at an adjacent hotel. Was very lucky to secure a reservation on Easter Sunday and arrived in good time to enjoy an aperitif. We arrived and was warmly greeted by their polite, knowledgeable and highly attentive staff and led to the lounge. The lounge itself is beautiful and is classily adorned with antique furniture. The wine list is extensive, diverse and good value for money - classic old world wines are exceptional value compared to what one would pay in a London restaurant. They also serve half bottles of quality wines which is a very good idea - no need to compromise! The restaurant is decorated to the same high standards as the lounge and the owner has created a warm, unpretentious atmosphere. The food is of the highest quality and the menu showcases the best locally sourced produce. I had loin of Rabbit and black pudding to start followed by braised ox cheeks, both were extremely tender, moist and full of flavour. The owner who was eating in the restaurant also took the time to come over and greet us which was a much appreciated gesture.
To summarise, this is a fantastic restaurant which from what i can see, relentlessly pursues quality both in what they produce and the customer experience. This is reflected in the knowledge of the staff, the food, the wines, the decor - right down to the glassware and cutlery. I had a fantastic meal and we were given a high level of attention by the restaurants very hard working and dedicated team. I will give this restaurant my highest recommendation and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnicholls84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The horseshoe inn's fine dinning experience was second to none. From the minute we booked the service was excellence. My husband & I were staying in barony castle for my birthday & decided to eat at the horseshoe. We were not disappointed. To begin with we received a call asking us to attend canapés before dinner & they'd send a car to collect us & drop us off after our meal. The place was beautiful, real attention to detail and the food also. I would recommend my experience to anyone and for a birthday treat, I certainly was treated! Thanks marco for looking after us so well & your knowledge of wines & whiskey was also very impressive.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just spent two nights in the comfort of the Horseshoe Inn.
An excellent establishment, We dined exquisitely and slept in comfort.
Our stay was made all the more pleasant by the superb service of the
staff lead by Mark and Shashi. We left relaxed and spoiled,and planning
our return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaA1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
0.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
768 reviews
4.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
443 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.8 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Eddleston EH45 8QP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eddleston
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Horseshoe Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoe Hotel Eddleston
The Horseshoe Restaurant With Rooms Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing