We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We bought an Amazon deal and paid for an upgrade for a golf view. The room was well equipped and the bathroom had a large shower as well as a bath. Our evening meal was excellent as was breakfast where there was plenty of choice on the cold buffet as well as the hot food available. The staff were all pleasant and efficient.
We enjoyed our break but would be reluctant to pay full rate as the hotel is impersonal and would prefer a more intimate four star experience.

Room Tip: Request a golf view. Be aware that corridors on floors are long and if you have any difficulty wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marionweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and I hope you continue to use Macdonald Hotels and Resorts.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    862
    391
    129
    82
See reviews for
421
1,444
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We booked up for an overnight stay on the bank holiday and had a wonderful time.
On booking we organised an afternoon tea which was just perfect with freshly made sandwiches and scones with clotted cream and jam and many other voices of cakes.
When we checked in we were offered an upgrade to a lovely room overlooking the golf course. The bed was very comfortable. This of course meant we got robes and slippers to wear to go along to spa area.
The food was excellent with many choices for dinner and breakfast.
I would stay again as really loved the spa area. Swimming pool sauna and steam room were all very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggerc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't stay again. The beds were so old you could feel the springs in your back. The front desk staff were unable to do anything to help us other than provide extra pillows so we could sleep on the floor.
The food was lovley but we had a very rude waiter that when my mother asked to speak to his manager because the bill was incorrect he accused my mother of being abusive. Not the kind of treatment i would expect from a 4 star hotel!
When we raised our concerns with the duty manger all he could do was apologies. He made no attempt to compensate us for 2 nights of misery.
This hotel is over priced and can not cope with a wedding and other guests.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Youngmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback.

I am very sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. I will certainly take your comments and discuss them with the team to ensure we learn from any mistakes.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We bought an Amazon deal for one night dinner, bed & b/fast and on booking up, we upgraded and paid £20 extra to stay in an Executive Room which overlooked the golf course at the back of the hotel. When we arrived at Reception on arrival on Sun 4 May, we were told they'd upgraded us again to a Deluxe Room (no further cost) and we were more than happy with the room and view that we had. The hotel was very busy but we found the staff to be extremely polite, helpful, friendly and very professional.
Prior to staying, I informed the hotel that my husband is vegetarian and I'm vegan and were delighted to be given a separate menu with 3 choices of starter, mains and dessert - food was lovely. It's so nice to have a choice, not just to be given take it or leave it option.

This morning (Mon 5/5), we used the pool and steam room which added to a relaxing weekend.
Then breakfast and again, the restaurant staff were very helpful and the lovely head restaurant manager (didn't get her name sorry) came up to us and said that we could order a separate cooked vegetarian breakfast this morning - we wanted to thank her too for all her help and for looking after us.
There is a huge variety of fresh and dried fruits, cereals, hot and cold food, juices, teas/coffees, bread, bagels etc - enough to satisfy anyone.

We would definitely stay at the Macdonald Cardrona Hotel again if there were any other deals on and would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to an Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Susan

Thank you for your great review, we do appreciate the time taken to post feedback.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on an Amazon deal and were treated as first class guests. We were allocated a superb room and although it faced a main road the view of the Border hills more than made up for that.
Restaurant was excellent with very good waiters and waitresses and we were allocated a window table. Dinner and breakfast were top quality. This was specially pleasing as we were celebrating my wife's birthday. Additionally a voucher was obtained for a round of golf. Stewardess could not have been more friendly and helpful and allowed an earlier start. Golf course itself was in very fine condition and the round, although not in good weather, was very enjoyable.
The hotel is beautifully equipped, set in very pleasant surroundings.
We would definitely return and were delighted to be regarded as equal guests with those paying full rate, unlike another hotel in nearby Peebles!
Well done, Cardrona. We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Donald

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

The golf course is indeed in great condition just now, I hope you scored well.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had my wedding in September at cadrona macdonald hotel and couldn't of been happier.
The staff were brilliant and the food was outstanding nothing was ever a problem we felt so relaxed.
The function room was a perfect size and all the window made it so light looking out to the perfect view.
The weather did help we got some lovely photos with the hills in the background.
Thank you for a perfect day
Johanna and Sean Norval

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannanorval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Johanna

Thank you very much for your kind review following your wedding with us.

I am delighted that you had a great day and we wish you well for the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed the hotel and the surroundings. The staff were all very pleasant especially the reception staff. The room was quite large and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. We did not use the gym or the swimming pool but we had a look and they seemed excellent. There is a nice walk along the river and even though it was raining we were treated to a gorgeous rainbow right over the hotel and the golf course.
We had dinner in the bar as it seemed a similar price to what we would pay if we ate in peebles. It was fine although would not rave about it. The drinks prices were steep but as you would expect in a hotel. My husband was a bit disappointed by the poor selection of beer especially as there are a few breweries nearby. Would have been nice to have a choice of local Scottish beers.The breakfast was very good and was freshly cooked to order. You could also help yourself to juices, breads etc and the quality was very good.
We really enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LDS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing