We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed with a party of 8 golfers played the course once in the rain and once in brilliant sun shine which change our marking of the moving from below average to good .Would have marked higher if the greens had not been hollow tined recently.The hotel staff were very friendly, with good standard of evening meal along with good breakfast. Rooms large and clean walk in shower was of good size with no leaks which is uncommon in most hotels i have stayed in recently. The tall waiter in the dining room interacted well with our party and his local knowledge of the area was a benefit to the hotel, sorry i did not get his name

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingePeterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your golf break with us.

I will pass on your appreciation to the team. I think it is Michael that you refer to so I will ensure he is rewarded.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    877
    406
    133
    84
See reviews for
431
1,466
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Rooms were clean and the deal of dinner, bed, breakfast and spa treatments was great value. Food was delicious but you must book and the whole thing is very structured. Surroundings was magnificent with undulating green hills - sensational countryside and if you are looking for a golfing weekend I am sure this would be a more than satisfactory location. I found it to be a very commercialised organisation and felt we were just making up the numbers - absolutely no personal touches. The reception staff were rather abrupt and perhaps should brush up on their meet and greet skills. The restaurant/bar staff were very polite but again just going thru the motions - the same as any other hotel chain throughout the world. Due to the high volume of spa treatment bookings, although the deal included a 1 hour treatment, we had to split our treatment into 2 x 1/2 hour sessions spread over two days which were very rushed so there was nothing relaxing about the experience - bit like waiting in a doctors surgery, wait your turn, next, off you pop. I don't think I would rush back. Bang for your buck but not my cup of tea - prefer to be treated as a guest rather than a number .....

Room Tip: I should imagine all the rooms would be identical but try a room on the upper levels overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454sassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We will certainly take your comments on board and do our best to improve where possible. Your feedback is very important to us.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Could find fault on our stay, we arrived at 1100 & checked in dropped our our bags had a quick lunch in the Golf bar which was reasonably priced. had a game of golf on the magnificent course, due to the heavy rainfall some of the fairways were a bit wet, which was unavoidable. we had a great round, course is very good, Food in the evening was excellent & very well presented staff were friendly helpful. we are arranging to go back, hopefully for 2 nights this time. Well impressed

Room Tip: We had a very good room which was not over looking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brannybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the golf and food we have on offer. Lets hope we get some better weather soon for the golf!

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After staying elsewhere for 2 days, in another 4 star country house in England, we did not expect things could get much better, but they did. In particular, the quality of the dining experience was brilliant as part of the 2-night package that we went for, which also included some excellent wine. We enjoyed being able to walk by the river into Peebles (got a bus back) and then enjoyed visiting Traquair House. We were not golfing or having spa treatments but enjoyed the pool and the views were breathtaking.

Room Tip: Consider taking your bikes - good easy cycling on track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coxtonwen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your break and the some of attractions that The Borders has to over.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Cardrona. Everything was excellent. Spotless room, comfortable bed, lovely food and great service. We also had a complimentary bottle of wine which was a very nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and helpful in particular Sam, Steven, Michael, Deanna and Nick was epic!! We would certainly recommend this lovely hotel and would return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ann

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your appreciation to those mentioned individually.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night family stay at the Macdonald Cardrona and doubt I'd book again.

Originally tried to book on Booking.com but the website had incorrect information showing so had to ring Macdonald directly. I was told by the operator that I would be upgraded to an Executive Family room which, instead of having a sofa bed, had 2 single beds and a double.

On arrival at the hotel, the upgrade to 'Executive' actually meant that there was indeed a sofa bed, with a camp bed and a double. And two dressing gowns. And a view of the golf course. After querying this with reception, I was told that Reservations had given me the wrong information. What a let down!

Due to lack of space in the room, we asked housekeeping to remove the camp bed and my kids shared the sofa bed for our two night stay.

On the subject of beds. Be careful.
The double bed was incredibly uncomfortable; I constantly woke through the night because of springs digging in my back. Not very executive!

A short while after arriving in the room, I was flicking through the guest information book and discovered a disgusting, vulgar message which had been left by either a previous guest or disgruntled employee. I took this down to reception and reported it to the lady on duty who didn't seem in the slightest bit bothered by my unpleasant find. Not great customer service.

Breakfast in the hotel was pleasant enough; cold buffet selection then hot meals to order which were nice, but please, hotel manager - please sort your dishwasher out. On both mornings, every single glass had dried orange juice welded to them. Not very hygienic at all and extremely off putting. The dining area seemed large enough for the amount of diners but the furniture was shoddy - not what you would expect in an upmarket hotel.

The pool area was nice and my kids enjoyed that, but there is no clear path for parents who do not wish to swim and just want to observe on the loungers. Myself and another guest were told that there were blue overshoes available so we could walk through. There wasn't.

The one saving grace for this hotel is the location. With stunning views of Cardrona's hills and it's proximity to Peebles and Edinburgh, I can see why people chose to stay there. Unfortunately though, I'll be booking the Barony Castle next time I'm in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and provide us with feedback.

I am very sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable and as perfect as it should have been. Please be assured that we do action all guest feedbcak that we receive and your comments will be used to improve our service and standards where possible.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were delighted with our deal for a two night stay with DBB for 12 intrepid golfers on both nights.
The service on the first night dinner was very poor. Red & white wine was ordered neither bottle was presented to check if it was what we ordered and neither was offered for tasting. It was subsequently discovered that the white wine was not chilled and the red, wine after it was poured into glasses of a few diners, was found to be an incorrect wine. A Chilean Merlot had been ordered and was in fact found to be a Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon. This was drawn to the attention of the waiter who served the wine and his excuse was the C Sauvignon was served as they had run out of Chilean Merlot. We said this was unacceptable as it had not been drawn to our attention and we had not been given the opportunity to make a different choice. He said he would draw this to the attention of his manager but no recompense was offered.
Further, only enough bread was offered to half the diners. Also at no point during the meal did any staff member ask as if everything was to our satisfaction, as is the case at most good hotels and restaurants in my opinion.
We then discussed our dissatisfaction with what appeared to be a senior looking member of staff. Her explanation was that bread was only provided for those diners taking soup as their first course. This we found was very poor service.
On the second night's dinner the service improved significantly. We were all welcomed to our tables, bread was offered to all diners regardless of what starters they were having and their was no issues regarding wine or food.
The adjacent golf course was a good test and set in lovely Border's countryside on y the banks of the the River Tweed. Although a long course, with a lot of walking between greens and tees the golf was enjoyed by us all.
I found the wet-side facilities disappointing. There was a long pool, no jacuzzi and the sauna was out of operation. The steam room was average. There was a gymnasium and spa facilities which I did not use.
The hotel although satisfactory was rather soul-less. At check-in there was no offer of baggage been transported to our rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I will ensure all of the points you have raised are shared with the team and we will ensure your comments are used to improve our service where it has fallen below our usual high standards.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing