We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed a number of times at this hotel. Pet Friendly: our Golden retriever loves it. Step right onto golf course for walks along the Tweed ( and golfers: great quality championship course). Fab breakfast sets you up for the day (esp. mini cinnamon donuts (very moreish!). You can always work them off at the lovely leisure pool , steam room etc. High quality food in Evening. Nearby Peebles is worth exploring (Recommend Cocoa Blacks cakes). A fantastic place to unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking golf course (lower floor even has patio on to golf course)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Sandra

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay along with your lovely dog. We do indeed welcome dogs and the rooms with patios are ideal for this.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,732)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,975 - 1,981 of 2,732 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the hotel recently courtesy of an offer from Classic Britain for one night dinner, bed and breakfast, including a round of golf (for two people), for only £45 per person.

Check-in was very quick and we stayed in a second floor double room overlooking the driving range and golf course. Views to the surrounding woods and hills are lovely.
The room was a good size and lovely and clean, as was the en-suite, which has a larger than average shower cubicle.

The golf course is in really good condition and it is possible to hire a ride on buggy from around £18. There is also a spa/health club which we didn't use because of time constraints.

The hotel was very busy and the only time we could get a booking for dinner was 9 PM. Table service was a little slow and we had to request that some of the cutlery be changed as it was not clean. The food however was delicious and the service speed improved as the pressure on the dining-room staff eased.

Breakfast was somewhat eclectic, as the hotel was quite clearly understaffed and things didn't arrive at the table when you would expect them: cooked breakfast 5 minutes before the toast or coffee arrived!

Two complaints:
1) the room came with tea/coffee making facilities. Somebody had used the cups previously, but the cups had been put back onto the tray unwashed. I tried calling reception and housekeeping to get clean cups sent along. Nobody answered either telephone number and I eventually had to walk to reception to get new cups - not acceptable!!
2) As with the dirty cutlery at dinner, it took me 6 attempts before I managed to get a clean glass at breakfast time - again, not acceptable for a hotel of this class!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry there were aspects of your stay which were not up to our usual high standards.

Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the team at the hotel and together we will focus to ensure they are not repeated.

I do hope that this has not detered you from returning to Cardrona again.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been to this hotel several times before and chose it over the Bank Holiday weekend as a break for myself and my husband, plus two daughters and their partners. The leisure facilities are excellent, a great swimming pool and gym, that nobody was using. The golf course looks good and the bar at the 19th hole was packed. The rooms are very comfortable and the food in the restauranet excellent. The only thing we could find to fault was that the win was just put on the table with no offer to taste it or to pour it out, which wasn't very good for a 4 star hotel.The surrouinding borders countryside is spectacular and you feel that you have had a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: The ones facing the hills at the back of the hotel have the best views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Tracy

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your break.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here one night to break a travel journey up. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lots of parking available. The hotel reception is very clean and spacious and the staff greeted us on arrival. We checked in and were given our room 201. We went to our room which was based exactly next to the hotel doors leaving the lifts and reception. The room was great, very clean, bathroom had bath as well as a shower cubicle. Very was of the car park and was at car park walk level right at the spa stair entrance. On being in the room 15 minutes it became apparent that every time someone walked through the doors from reception it banged shut and the other door squeaked and that was only at 3pm so no idea what it would've been like later when everyone was coming back from the bar and restaurant late. We couldn't get booked into the restaurant until 9pm as it was full which was fair enough as we hadn't pre booked but some visitors were not happy about this as they had booked for dinner bed and breakfast. We decided to go to the lounge for a drink and decided to see if there was any other rooms available. The reception staff were helpful but had no other double rooms available but offered an exec room for an additional £20. We went ahead with moving rooms as we really knew that the noise issue would be a problem at room 201 so we moved to 208. The room was the same size etc and quality with the different of a better view of the golf course and was lots quieter. As the restaurant was full we went to the Green tree pub in Peebles for food which was a little outdated but the food was great. We had a good nights sleep staying here and the shower was very powerful. Wide selection for breakfast however the cooked breakfast was a little sparse. Would return to this hotel but would ensure not positioned at the lifts and book the restaurant in advance

Room Tip: 201 double room is noisy next to the doors, 208 is quiet with lovely view of the golf course
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed and helpful review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Cardrona dn the nearby town of Peebles.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friends and I had a really excellent stay here this month. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Everything was very clean and comfortable. I think every room must have a view of the hills which was really lovely. The restaurant was superb with excellent staff. Food was beautifully presented, very tasty and the menu was tweaked each day so that we had real choice over the 4 nights we spent there. We will return on another visit and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Margaret

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you all back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room 412 has a nice view of the golf course. Dinner and Breakfast were both very good. The food is of first-class quality. While a late check out of 12pm was included in this booking with Classic Britain, 3pm is unusually late to be allowed to check-in. This was compounded when we sat in reception for an hour before checking in and the receptionist failed to tell us our room was ready after promising to do so. However, this did not spoil a lovely overnight stay at an excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Derek

Thank you for your review and your comments which we will certainly take on board.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay as a whole and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Once again we spent another break at this Hotel. Cannot fault it, everything from Customer care, cleanliness, quality of the food and excellent service. Lovely room, most comfortable bed and we had the beautiful views of the rolling hills with the horses grazing peacefully. This hotel is situated just 3 miles from the delightful town of Peebles , very handy for touring the Scottish borders and only 30 miles from Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Divine2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Borders.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,027 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
768 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
443 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range: £61 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing