We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here with 8 of my friends and family for my hen do on Saturday 17th May. We booked the Lazy Hen package and we weren't disappointed. Such a great package for the price paid. We all had executive rooms, which were an excellent size and looked out on to the golf course. Lunch and dinner was amazing and the portion sizes were good. Facilities are fab and we all enjoyed our treatments. Staff were very attentive and helpful, especially Michael our waiter at both lunch and dinner. Even though it was extremely busy we did not have to wait long for food or drinks. Wish we booked 2 nights so we could enjoy more of the facilities and location. Will definitely be back and will bring my hubby next time!

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive room as those look out on to the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Catherine

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Lazy/Crazy Hen Package. It is indeed good value and is our most popular package.

I hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,000 - 2,006 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a wonderful night's stay here recently. Staff were attentive without being overbearing. Food was great and facilities were first class. Will return! Peebles is a lovely town with lots of lovely little independent shops and cafes.

Room Tip: We were allocated Room 402 which must have been the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patsy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Patsy

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Peebles is indeed a lovely town in a wonderful area of Scotland.

Roo 402 is typical of our bedrooms in the hotel but obviously benefits from the high floor and golf course views.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here with friends for one night on spa and golf package. Excellent value as dinner bed and breakfast, round of golf for the gents and a spa treatment for the ladies all include for £159 per room. Room large and comfortable with excellent bathroom. Breakfast and dinner very good but advise booking table for dinner to get time you want. Golf course superb, challenging for the high handicap player but in a glorious setting. We were lucky with the weather. Would be very hard if twine blowing. Ladies thoroughly enjoyed the spa. All staff we met were friendly and helpful. No complaints whatsoever. We are trying another macdonald hotel next month. Hopefully we will find the same standard.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank billobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for your very kind review, we are all delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope you enjoy your next visit to Macdonald Hotels & Resorts.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Cardrona Macdonald hotel in Peebles was brilliant, friendly, comfy, helpful (especially Leigh on reception) nothing was too much trouble. Food excellent, facilities cannot fault at all. In fact so good re-booked a 2 night stay 3 weeks later for my husbands 60th birthday treat!!! Booking easy, lots of little things provided to help make our stay even more special. It is in peaceful surroundings, locality great for investigation the Scottish Borders. Very efficient. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hazelbarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Hazel

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we very much look forward to welcoing you both back.

Kindest Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at the Cardrona several times usually on business, but this time thought I would take the family as its very nice, how wrong I was! The room we had was shabby, the carpet tread bare, and I mean thread bare. The seat worn out and the worst thing the bed was completely worn out. When I mentioned this at checkout the comment was “you can’t expect us to refurbish all of the rooms at once”, well forgive me but aren’t beds the most important thing? After all we book hotels to sleep in!! The restaurant wasn’t much better, 2 hours to get 2 courses and another ¼ of an hour to get some cheese, goodness knows how long it would have taken to get something hot. Breakfast was not much quicker but the food was warmer. All in all I would have been better off stopping in a Premier Inn, they may not have a trouser press, but then, the one at the Cardrona didn’t work anyway, and spending the money I saved on the family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Paul

Thank you for your feedback, I will ensure we use it to improve upon your experience. We do have extensive refrubishment works planned for the hotel including some bedrooms and public areas.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked here for a short break to celebrate a special birthday. Booking in was swift and efficient and the staff very helpful. A pleasant lunch in the bar was available at reasonable prices followed by the afternoon being pampered in the spa. Lovely area with superb staff and an array of relaxing therapies on offer at reasonable prices. Leisure facilities are well kept and attractive. Our room was spacious and had two very comfortable chairs in which to lounge. Bed wonderfully supportive for a great nights sleep and everywhere spotlessly clean. I'm sure this was an executive room but it certainly did not come at an executive price! Our evening meal was chosen from a wide choice and portions were adequate and beautifully served. Breakfast was as good with a huge range of food and drink on offer. One of the best value for money breaks we have had in some time in a first class hotel in loverly surroundings.

Room Tip: It probably doesnt matter which side of the hotel you are on but the staff make the effort to place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team and we all hope we can welcome you back to Cardrona again.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

May 2014...We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights DB&B this month and everything was excellent.We were allocated a room on the second floor south facing overlooking the golf course.The en-suite bathroom had a large self standing shower and also a separate bath.This was an executive room which was given to us and we were not charged extra for it. The pillows were duck & goose down of the highest quality .All the staff were extremely helpful & friendly.Our luggage was kept under lock & key until our room was available & was then delivered to our room when ready all free of extra charge.We were given very reasonable rates due to availability [special offer] All the meals were excellent & of the highest quality.I even got porridge for breakfast as per my request. We definitely hope to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Alan

Thank you for your very kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and indeed to the Scottish Borders.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,063 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
777 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
450 reviews
2.7 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing