We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night only. We paid extra for a room over looking the golf course, it was well worth it. The food was excellent and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and gave good service. As previously commented by others some areas of the hotel are tired and could do with a fresh coat of paint or new carpet but nothing that would spoil your visit. I would have no hesitation in going back for a further visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sapper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a lovely review. We are all delighted that we enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    900
    427
    149
    88
See reviews for
447
1,517
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

arived at Cardrona at 1pm and were given immediate access to our room. What a view from our bedroom window! The room was large and very clean and comfortable.Asked reception about local walks and were provided with a good selection.
The pool was very pleasant and the changing rooms well maintained.
Our evening meal was exceptional and breakfast the next morning did not disappoint.
We played golf and were very impressed with the course.
This was abreak e could not fault and have already booked to return.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms had fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jennifer

Thank you for your excellent review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Cardrona.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just an overnight stay with 2 rounds of golf, but very enjoyable & we wish we had booked for longer. Hotel very comfortable, welcoming & helpful staff, good food & an excellent golf course (6550 yards off the yellow tees!!!) Only downside was the Spikes Bar - staff very nice but not too welcoming in appearance & poor signposting off the 18th. Course is set along the banks of the River Tweed in a beautiful area - the Tweed Valley is a must to see.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the golf course is very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Brian

Thank you very much for your welcome feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Cardrona.

We have had a few new team members join us in Spikes recently and they all now have a smart new uniform.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for two nights midweek with our two dogs. Check in was great, we asked if we could get a ground floor room with access outside for our dogs, we were told there would be an upgrade charge and they were happy to show us the room first. We chose to upgrade to the ground floor deluxe room on golf course side if the hotel. Room was spacious with plenty of room for two large dog beds. The only windows are the patio doors but we were fine with sleeping with them open - put a chair in front of them to stop dogs going out. This might be a problem if you have dogs that would escape as room would have been very hot otherwise.

Dinner service on first night was very slow. The restaurant manager was doing a good job doing her best to be apologetic, we did get a discount on our bottle of wine as recompense for very long wait. Breakfast also very busy, but we've had that at other MacDonald hotels too. Food is fine but it's not a refined, intimate dining experience.

Good gym, we didn't use the spa,weather was great so made use of the patio table and chairs outside our room when back from walking.

Overall better than we probably anticipated and good for dog owners. We'd definitely go back for a short break.

Room Tip: Ground floor, golf course facing with patio doors have outside sitting space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labrador_Mum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback.

I hope we can welcome you back again to Cardrona.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Last week, we stayed in the MacDonald Cardrona Hotel on their special overnight DB&B deal to celebrate our anniversary. The room was very comfortable and the food delicious. We enjoyed two days in the lovely sunny Borders visiting nearby Peebles and SIr Walter Scott's former home "Abbotsford". An excellent short break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear John

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Here for a birthday treat booked by my husband. Unfortunately having my first wine spritzer at Spikes bar on our arrival on 18June. I was just finishing my last 'gulp' when I saw a sliver of glass at the bottom. Lucky me I did not swallow this. Consequences frightening!
We reported this to the general manager but however we did not receive any feedback or reassurance that the rest of the ice was checked before any accident happened! The rest of our stay was fine but but feedback would have been good?
Catherine Irene B

Room Tip: Ask for a golf view room. Rooms facing the road a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Irene

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry that the incident we discussed spoiled your stay. As I promised when we spoke we did look into the matter and ensured that the appropriate action was taken at the time and to prevent any further risk. I am very sorry I did not see you again top confirm this.

I do hope this incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the golf course. The room is a great size and immaculately clean. The breakfasts are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The dinner menu was much improved from our last visit. The food was lovely with a good choice. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. A really lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mary

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I will pass on your comments to the team and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,998 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
760 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
437 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing