We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Traquair Arms Hotel(Innerleithen)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Park(Peebles)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,915)
Filter reviews
2,915 results
Traveller rating
1,185
958
488
181
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
958
488
181
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelcream teaexecutive roombar pricessteam room and saunafirst classrelaxing breakleisure facilitiesdb bevening mealboth nightsfood was lovelyenjoyable staycooked breakfastbed and breakfastlovely roomshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,090 - 2,095 of 2,915 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business and chose it for the gym facility.
Nice and easy to park and greeted well on reception. Room was spacious and comfortable. Only grumble about the room is the bathroom floor. The tiles were wobbly and the grout was missing. It's begging for a bare foot catastrophe! Dined in bar which lacked atmosphere and adequate seething but food was good. I had fish and chips. I was just disappointed with receiving 7 chips! Come on chef don't be stingy! Breakfast was excellent. Gym was ok but lacked many strength machines. Pool is a good size. Overall would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Russell

Thank you for your constructive and helpful review. I will certainly share your feedback with the team to ensure we improve where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went for a relaxing spa break with my daughter with a good value offer of DB&B and 50% off their spa treatments (and a free round of golf which we didn't use). Arrived early afternoon so we could use spa facilities before our full spa treatment later in the afternoon. pool was a bit cold, no jacquzzi but had sauna&steam rooms. I had expected a relaxing spa afternoon as I had enjoyed at other establishments but unfortunately a number of children arrived and were quite noisy which spoiled the relaxing atmosphere for us. We decided to go for lunch but as there was no 'luch area' specufucally for spa guests, we had to get dressed and go into the general bar and order lite lunch. Worse was to come though as my daughters treatment didnt go well mainly due to the girl being new to the job that week and was really a waste of money as she didn't know what she was doing. My treatment was good though so would depend on which therapist you were assigned. On the positive side the evening meal was good (remember and book a table) as was the breakfast the next day. However the glasses had the remnants of orange juice stuck to them. Service was very good from all the staff both in the restaurant and at reception. Room was very clean and spacious with the usual facilities so all good there. The hotel seating area however could do with a good clean/dust with a number of splash marks on the walls. The drinks were on average with a 4* hotel. The hotel was busy with lots of golfers and as was an offer of £59 each for DB&B along with the extra discount and free golf it obviously attracted a lot of people. Nothing else near the hotel in the way of restaurants etc but the small town of peebles not far away by car. We stayed Sunday night into Monday. On the whole a mixed visit.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the golf course would be quieter but a quiet lcoation in general anyway
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your helpful and constructive review.

We do value all feedback and we ensure it is used to improve our service where possible.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel was lovely but as a young couple we did feel just a tad out of place but thats the only slight negative thing i can think of and thats me being picky, the staff are very nice, helpfull and polite, the spa treatments are lovely i had lisa and she was absolutely fantastic and nade me feel relaxed and at ease, the hotel is very very clean and definately of a high standard and worth its 4 star rating, the food was nice and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room on ice when we came back from our spa treatment that was a nice touch we didnt expect that, the rooms are nice inside, the hotel grounds are lovely so all in all i cant fault the macdonald cardona hotel whatsoever well done guys keep it up

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Gareth

Thank you very much for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

You don't have to be a golfer. The scenery is superb and there are some good walks by the river tweed. The hotel rooms are large and well appointed. get one facing the golf course. There are 2 bar areas and a good restaurant.

Room Tip: overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Ann

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is very much appreciated by us all.

We are indeed in an exceptionally beautiful part of the country and we hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Through a late booking on Classic Britain we had an exceptional visit to this Hotel on Wednesday 16th July 2014.
Our booking was for a king size double bed in a room with Golf Course view, 3 course dinner and full Scottish breakfast. Included in the deal was a FREE round of golf but we did not take advantage of that, although the Golf Course looked superb and very inviting. Hotel also included a Pool and Spa.
Meals were very good, but could have benefited from a Bar/Bistro type Menu rather that just the Restaurant menu which was a slightly reminiscent of 'Nouveaux Cuisine'.
Excellent service and impressibly clean.
Their treatment of dogs is unusual in that Dogs are welcome in the main Bar and Lounge and in the Bedrooms all for free and are only charged for if the animal sleeps in your room. Fortunately our dogs are very happy sleeping in our vehicle but enjoyed seeing inside the hotel.
The deal was amazing value at £90 for the 2 of us with a 3 Course Dinner, Bed and Full Scottish Breakfast.
Well done Classic Britain

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L752OJjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear John

Thank you very much for your review, I will ensure your positive comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews