We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Certificate of Excellence
tucson
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Spent a week hiding from the world here and I swore I wouldn't tell anyone about it because I want to keep it a secret, but it is just so wonderful I had to share. Food - Excellent. Accommodations - Excellent, Diving - OMG WOW. People - beyond excellent.
it takes a long time to get here as it is very remote, but there are no cars, no roads, and no noise once you arrive. Meals are announced by Conch shell and the chef, who trained in Nadi, is superb. The manager - Richard goes out of his way to see that your needs are being met, and is always available even just for a chat.
Not for those who need fluff, as there are no shops, no hair dryers, no A/C, Dining is a group affair and and meals are what the chef chooses to cook that day, but if you are up for an adventure and need to really relax this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
131
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Yes, it’s almost a year since we were there but as I scour trip advisor trying to plan this year’s holiday I realize that I am looking for another Mai Dive. Our family of 6 traveled from Toronto to LA to Nadi to Kadavu to Ono….it was a long trip, it was tiring, my wife and children probably hated me at points but once we were on the boat on the way to Ono Island we knew it was worth it. If are looking for a small resort off the beaten path in paradise Mai Dive is for you. Why????
1. Food – Read the reviews and believe them, with 4 children and no menu it could have been a nightmare but instead our children still talk about the great food, especially the “Bubba Cows”. By far the best food we had in 3 weeks in Fiji.
2. Rooms – spacious, clean, comfortable, no its not 5 star, its better…..outdoor showers. If something went wrong Richard fixed it right away.
3. Staff – wow, I cannot say enough about how incredible they were, Mary and Di who served us in the restaurant, they always had big smiles and loved to laugh, Ame the cook (ukulele player) who befriended our son who was constantly visiting him in the kitchen, Joanne the office manager who brought us to her village, church and home, Mika the dive master (guitar player), Kenny the Captain and of course Richard the Resort Manager……we miss all of you!
4. Diving/Snorkeling - Pristine, incredible visibility, loads of corals and fish. Richard and Mika managed to upgrade my son from Scuba to OW, get 2 adults & 3 children (aged 10,12,14) their Scuba certificate plus we snorkeled with the Mantas (incredible, even our 7yr old daughter jumped in), did the waterfall hike and did some free dives…talk about organized. All the time I never felt any short cuts were being taken, safety first, they talked the kids through it, made sure they weren’t nervous and were capable.
I have been to many 5 star hotels and restaurants in my travels but I can honestly say that any of those hotels would be fortunate to have staff like Mai Dive. Richard sorry for the delay in posting this, thank you to everyone at Mai Dive for an incredible trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havekidslovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Mai Dive gave us a look at the "real Fiji" that was extraordinary! The resort is everything we thought it would be and then some. The staff treated us like family and did everything they could to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. The coral and marine life was the best we've seen...and we've been snorkeling in Belize, Bonaire and, Aruba as well as the Great Barrier Reef and several places in Mexico. We were amazed at the variety of the fish, such as sharks (non aggressive species), turtles, large schools of groupers, innumerable colorful reef fish and coral that defies description. The food was beautifully presented, tasty and was graciously served by lovely Fijian women who's smiles were sincere, and ever present. A bonus was the opportunity to visit a nearby village and experience a little of the remarkable Fijian culture...including their wonderful music. We loved watching the sand crabs scooting all over the beach during low tide. We stayed at Ma iDive for 10 days, snorkeling twice a day and saw different sites each day. We'd love to go back to explore the many unseen sites that looked inviting. The resort was just what was advertised. It is remote with beautiful, healthy coral. The remoteness of the island insures that you will experience this lovely place without crowds or probably, without seeing another boat. We snorkeled from March 12-22, 2013 and would be happy to share our experiences if you wish to talk to us directly, just let Richard, the hospitable, charming manager know and he'll give you our phone number. Bula (which is a Fijian greeting)!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cspartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The reviews speak for themselves, and it is well worth the effort to travel to this amazing boutique resort. From the moment you arrive Richard and the entire Mai Dive team welcome you with smiles and warmth.

The bure was extremely comfortable, and the outdoor shower was an added bonus. A steady ocean breeze keeps the room comfortable for sleeping. The food was extremely plentiful, with loads of seafood and flavorful seasoning. The Lovo night was particularly enjoyable. Throw in kava and music with Sai and Maika to really complete the experience.

The reef system and marine life were spectacular. Didn't see another dive/snorkel boat the entire week. My wife and I did the "discover SCUBA" training with Richard which was very memorable. Richard has a wonderful sense of calmness and was a terrific instructor. The house reef has plenty to see and explore for snorkeling. Joining the dive boat for several snorkels is well worth it...healthy reefs, canyons, marine life, and clear water. The Bird Island and Marine Reserve boat trips were a few of the highlights.

Can't say enough good things about Mai Dive. Dream vacation that exceeded expectations! We will miss your welcoming smiles and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellamadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Mai Dive, Ono Island, Fiji proudly displays & fully deserves the awards it has received from Tripadvisor. While this resort might be described as small scale & low key resort it was certainly not lacking in quality or sincerity. All the people at Mai Dive make every effort to ensure you have as fulfilling a time as you had hoped for. The accomodations are excellent, food is delicious, varied and more than enough. Activities are mainly based around the water as you would expect on an island; the diving is fantastic: Mai Dive is blessed with many sights within 15-20minute boat ride inside the Astrolabe reef, which makes the trip to each site smooth & relaxing. Mika the divemaster is excellent, his calm & relaxed manner underpins his professional & unintrusive guidance throughout each dive. The whole dive operation would be 1 of the best I have experienced. The dive boats are also very good, heaps of room for each diver & their gear. Surface stops are enjoyed on 1 of the nearby picture postcard beaches. As for the dives you would be hard pressed to find such extensive coral, as many thrilling swim throughs & diversity of marine life all together & in such a location as to make the diving so 'easy': very little current, no need to go beyond 15-18m & so much to see.
Another blessing that Mai dive enjoys is the snorkelling sites close to the resort. The 'house reef' is very good, a big plus is that it is snorkellable at all tide levels. There are other sites for snorkelling that are easily accessible by boat as well.
I was also lucky enough to do a spot of fishing & was able to catch some nice fish which was the icing on the cake for me.
There is so much to like about this place......

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divemark1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I had the pleasure of staying with the Mai Dive family in October 2012. I went for 4 days and stayed 16! Everything you read in these reviews is true. Mai Dive is a beautiful resort, hidden on the beautiful island of Ono. Richard and the team do everything they can to make sure you enjoy the best dives and the most delicious food. If like me you also enjoy a bit of walking, kayaking, snorkelling, and swimming then they will also show you the way. Often you are the only people diving on the stunning reefs or swimming with the Manta's. Everyone at Mai Dive wants to tell you more about where they come from, their families, the Fijian way and in exchange they are happy to hear stories from your home. I miss the lovely Mai Dive team, the laughter, singing and Bula's! Just go, you will regret it if you don't.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. If you want one with an outdoor shower then just ask, some don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had spent a week at Mai Dive in the middle of 2012. We liked it so much we have just spent another week there (Jan 2013). And loved it again. Beautiful people, great diving, comfortable accommodation, good food, and a week immersed in the natural world away from phones, TVs and the internet. The weather was warm and fine, with cooling sea-breezes. We did 10 dives guided by the extremely capable Maica, and had the pleasure of watching 10 spotted eagle-rays. The snorkelling trip to Bird Island was another highlight, and perfect for the non-divers staying with us. The dive operation is very well run, with good boats and gear, and highly knowledgeable staff who are always ready to help you. We particularly enjoyed the times chatting with Joanna and Joave and family, learning about the local Fijian village life. With only 9 guests, we felt like part of the family for the week.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapipem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ono Island
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 13 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
12.5 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
24.4 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort

Property: Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Address: Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Ono Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote Adventurous Pristine Fijian Resort on Ono Island in Kadavu Fiji. The closest resort to the Great Astrolabe Reef. All facilities are new and absolute beachfront. Eco Resort with solar power, fresh water spring, vegetables garden & fresh seafood. PADI Certified dive operator & plenty of non dive activities. Maximum of 14 guests, as this is a low key relaxed family run resort. Fantastic facilities and even better food with full board included - come and stay with us a while..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Hotel Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing