We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic diving destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Oh to be back at Mai Dive catching a cool breeze in the hammock and waiting for the conch shell to call us to lunch after a morning diving with curious fish in thriving coral. After years of travelling around the South Pacific, we've found that this resort stands out for its professionalism, not just because everything just seems to work seamlessly but because the atmosphere is so relaxed and happy and welcoming. This is a simple place but very comfortable. The food is really good considering its isolation, the staff anticipate your needs and the whole place is clean and beautiful. This was our first real experience of diving and I think we are now completely spoilt for anywhere else! Vinaka vaka levu to Joanna and the team!

Room Tip: The room after the dining room seems to catch more breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

And that is saying a lot because we have been on some amazing holidays. I can't add much that is new to what others before me have said, but I will just reiterate how truly incredible Mai Dive is.

The Staff
They truly embrace you. They make every interaction a pleasant one and I'm fairly certain that nobody on the staff is capable of frowning. Seriously - never seen so many smiles. It's impossible to be anything but happy when you are in their company. And they set the tone for the whole experience. We had the good fortune to be there when the owners of the resort (Jason and Danielle and their two children) were there as well. Some of the kindest people we have ever met. We also loved getting to know the other guests and in a short time we were comfortable sharing laughs and having great conversations. The family-style meals definitely lend themselves to getting to know each other quickly.

The accommodations
Beautiful, clean and fitting in the island style. Fresh flowers around your room every day. The outdoor showers are amazing. We loved relaxing in the afternoons on our front verandah with a cup of tea or lazing in the hammock with a book. The mosquito nets and coils worked perfectly - didn't get bitten once in our sleep. It can get a bit hot, but there is often a breeze blowing off the water and there is a fan in the room.

The diving
We have been diving in some places that are consistently rated "best in the world" - not sure how this place has stayed below the radar as a world-class diving destination, but in some ways I'm glad because I think the limited number of divers has helped preserve the reef. The coral is super healthy and the variety of corals (both hard and soft) was spectacular. Too many varieties to count. And with the healthy coral comes lots of fish diversity. It's amazing that one tiny island can have so many different types of dive sites. On one side of the island you get beautiful topography - caverns to swim through and gorgeous soft corals. On the other side you get the Naqoro passage which brings drift diving along beautiful walls, and amazing fish life. There is a reasonable amount of big stuff (reef sharks, turtles, rays, snakes, octopus), but we had fun focusing on the macro life. The diving was easy, Maica was the most amazing dive master and everything was safe and professional.

The food
YUM!!! It's incredible given Mai Dive's remoteness that they can maintain such a high standard of food. Cy, Ana and Dee put together some awesome dishes...my favorites were the two lobster dinners - so decadent!

I seriously can't gush enough about this place, but it's impossible to capture this resort in words, so if you want to understand it - GO VISIT!!! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Fantastic place to welcome in the new year (2014). And even though I don't dive, the trip was still divine. Wonderful hammocks that swing in the breeze, fantastic massages, fabulous food and brilliant snorkelling - it's the kind of island escape that you read about but never imagine finding. Oh - and loved the private outdoor showers (that DO have hot water, not that I really needed it.). The resort is beautifully remote and the staff are a team that somehow manage to blend friendly personal attention with complete professionalism. Loved it and can't imagine a better way to start a new year.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms - so get in quickly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What can we say, that others havent already said?....
My HUBBA HUBBA hubby (Rod) and I (Lisa) came to Mai Dive after a week at another Resort of luxury and 1st class personal attention of 5STAR standards just around the Island. We were celebrating our Honeymoon!!!
Our 1st week was the most amazing experience we had had so far in our life together, and didnt think it could be surpassed? well it was definitely EQUALLED to.

From the moment of saying goodbye to our previous hosts and saying BULA BULA to our new hosts..... we were welcomed by staff, and ....... by other guests - which isnt always the case as new arrivals... but I believe it was because of the friendliness and love shown by ALL the staff that rubbed off on other guests (which I will say were returners.... they had been before!)
We had the most beautiful 5 days at Mai Dive! I was a newbie at diving, having only just achieved my openwater certificate... but Michael (or Mikael?? sorry) and Dee made sure I was totally comfortable doing my dives and then encouraged me to push my boundaries -which i did,and for which I am so grateful.

The personal attention, not only out diving but throughout the Resort is 5*****. We feel like the staff have become our family without ever being intrusive. We...
* loved the way we inter-acted with other guests around breakfast, lunch and dinner
* loved the way in which we all shared KAVA at night
* loved the way we were made to feel so special and as a surprise were baked a "surprise" HONEYMOON cake. and as I was 'gluten free" it was made 'gluten free' so I could enjoy it too

All these little touch's just exemplified the care that Mai Dive takes with their guests.
Accommodation could not be faulted.
in fact - nothing could be faulted!!!!!! - menus too - any specific dietary requirements you may have, are catered for if you advise in advance....... only thing that could be faulted..... is that we didnt stay there long enough!!!!!
Love you...... Joanna, Joe, Dee, Michael (dive master) Annie (massage) Abe (kitchen) soo sorry if we have spelt your name wrong and if we didnt say your name personally..... but we love you all
Lisa and (Hubba Hubba) Rockin Rod xxxxx (hubba hubba to all - I understand this has become a catch cry around the Resort) - glad to be remembered haha
bye the way - we visited in November 13.... I will upload my pics as soon as I can..but I hate this windows 8! which is not very user friendly.

Lisa_RockingRod
(friends forever)

Room Tip: you dont need to book a specific room...... but we had the bure which was next to the kitchen and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_RockingRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

In October 5 friends and I spent an idyllic week at Mai Dive, Ono. Fiji was lovely, as was Kadavu. But Ono was perfect. From the warm welcome, being spoilt by the Mai Dive team, the untouched island, lovely accommodation to the remoteness and perfect peace of the Astrolabe reef.
No restaurants or shops to distract you. Just blue water, quiet and beautiful waterfalls a views of the lab from the top of the hill. I would have just one compliant. The food was TOO good!
The diving and snorkeling we're lovely. I've got some great footage on my GoPro - just amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelinePe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you want a assume dive destination, this is the place! From the location to the friendly service to the 5 star meals... Mai Dive Resort is the best value Fiji has to offer. The 5 bungalows are private and very we'll decorated in the traditional Fujian decor. 5 Star all the way"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two weeks with the wonderful folks of Mai Dive Resort for our 25th anniversary and had the greatest trip of our lives. My wife and I are avid worldwide divers and we have never seen such an abundance of sealife and coral as Mai Dive's Astroreef.

The food is outstanding, the cottages - all with an ocean view - are comfortable, and the setting is unparalleled, exotic beauty.

The staff, though, truly make this resort special. They are simply your good friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Champagne1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ono Island
12.5 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
1.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
52 reviews
24.4 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tiliva Resort
Tiliva Resort
#3 of 3 in Kadavu Island
42 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort

Address: Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Ono Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Price Range: £226 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote Adventurous Pristine Fijian Resort on Ono Island in Kadavu Fiji. The closest resort to the Great Astrolabe Reef. All facilities are new and absolute beachfront. Eco Resort with solar power, fresh water spring, vegetables garden & fresh seafood. PADI Certified dive operator & plenty of non dive activities. Maximum of 14 guests, as this is a low key relaxed family run resort. Fantastic facilities and even better food with full board included - come and stay with us a while..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Hotel Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing