We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$1,218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
225
11
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
11
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonoboat rideswim throughsastrolabe reefmanta raysother guestsfishoutdoor showerkava ceremonylocal villagevillage visitspent daysremote locationdiving experiencesoft coralscoral gardensfijian culture
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having booked six months previous we were both pleased that the reviews were spot on for Mai Dive.
We went purely for the diving and were not disappointed with often just two of us having a choice of were we wanted to dive each day with one of the best dive instructors and really great guy Maika to dive with.
Looking for Nudibrancs and we found over 30 different species.
But, saw many turtles, eagle rays and even two marlin that swam above us on one dive.
Both boats were great to dive from and always on time and ready to go.
We were really looked after by all and staff were brilliant.
Food was fresh ad we were well catered for.
If you want a resort offering diving and a place to chill far from the maddening crowd then this is it.
Time will stand still.
Thank you all for a wonderful time.. Mark and Chris

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank macfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here after a 5 day kayak trip around kandavu and loved every second. The bures are clean and comfortable with mozzy nets for the nights. Great food, fresh and tasty and the staff are fantastic. I hadn't dived for 10 yrs at least but dive master Maiica patiently helped me through a refresher shallow dive and then made me feel comfortable as we did some of the bigger dives- Split rock dive will stick in my mind for years- awesome. Added to that we had a fantastic snorkel with the Manta rays and my 10 yr old son was taken out for a couple of shallow dives with all the equipment from the beach. There is good snorkelling just off the resort beach also. We also learned about and took part in kava drinking ceremony. Thank you again Mai Dive for making our holiday perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlowrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

To get to the resort you take a tiny prop plane from Nadi to Kadavu. Then you get in a boat, and the trip takes forever (about 1.5-2 hours from Kadavu). It seems crazy at first to live for a week so isolated. But it's GREAT. Everyone there, staff and guests, are very friendly, and guests eat meals together so you get to know them (and the food is delicious).
The diving is pretty amazing! On one dive, the dive guide Dee told us we might get lucky, as there have been groups of a few eagle rays in the past.
WE SAW 18 EAGLE RAYS. LIKE A FLOCK OF BIRDS. YES, 18. We also saw a few manta rays, and many many land crabs that dig holes in the lawn and steal anything you put on the ground and are very entertaining.
The bures were simple and clean, and there were flowers in our bure every day :)
They were having a few problems at the time: hot water, power, and internet could be quite unreliable. But what dan you expect in the middle of nowhere? It adds to the isolated charm!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It has been some weeks, since we came back from our trip around the world.
We still owe Mai Dive a review, because what a time we had with them at Ono Island!
Such good food, lovely room, fresh flowers everyday, the best world class dive spot right outside and reading a book after in the hammock.
Dee was such a good diveguide making you feel relaxt and comfortable. She always knew where we were at, which made the diving extra relaxt.
Beeing back home, we miss the feeling of Mai Dive, because that is what it is; a feeling these people give you from the time you arrive until the time you leave. Like you are so welcome and like coming home to your family; home away from home.
We have done some diving around the world, but the corals and colours we saw at the Astrolabe Reef are one of a kind!
Thank you once again everyone at Mai Dive!! Hope we can visit again some day ...
Bart and Agnes from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I read the reviews before choosing to visit and so glad I did - simply amazing. All the small touches and the friendly atmosphere is just extraordinary. If you love privacy and community feel rather than grand imposing shiny places but still want to feel like you are in paradise this is the place. The food alone.......wow! Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa40C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews