We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Review Highlights
Great way to explore the region of Foia

We really enjoyed the downhill cycling tour with mountainbikes. Great guide and beautiful views... read more

Reviewed 20 May 2023
Karina v
Great day out

This is the second time we have done the downhill bike tour with outdoor tours. Communication with... read more

Reviewed 19 May 2023
James G
,
Peterhead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
72
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meeting point salad frequent stops excellent service mtb ride bikes guide helmets vasco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We (four of us) arranged our Downhill Nature Trip before we left home. We paid a deposit through Paypal to secure our reservation. Frank, the owner, was an excellent communicator throughout.

We met our guide, Thomas, at the office and were driven to the highest point in the Algarve in the Outdoor-Tours van. After fitting our bikes and helmets we were given safety instructions and a bit of time to practice braking and stopping. Then we were on our way.

Most of the trip is downhill on to back roads through beautiful scenery. There was practically no traffic for most of the trip. The views were extraordinary. The route was well-planned and took us through lush valleys and picturesque countryside. We made several stops and Thomas taught us about the local flora and fauna. He has a deep knowledge about the area and is an enthusiastic teacher. We were followed at all times by the van which totted extra water, bikes, helmets, first aid supplies, etc.

We stopped for lunch in a small village and had a simple yet delicious lunch of sandwiches on home made bread, fresh squeezed orange juice and yummy chocolate cake.

I highly recommend this trip. Outdoor-Tours is a reliable, well organized and safety-conscious business. We really enjoyed the day and look forward to cycling with them in the future.

Date of experience: May 2012
2  Thank synthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank K, Owner at Algarve Outdoor Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback! Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It was a great tour. The guide was real friendly, we saw a local village, got a bit of culture, had a good cycle, etc. I recommend it.

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I did 4 walks with outdoor tours,and saw beautiful places that were new for me,eventhought I live here for 15 years. See the wonderful nature while you breath in the fresh air!

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank 85marga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Before our trip to Alvor I arranged a cycling trip with Outdoor Tours. There was 7 of us in the group aged 21 - 60's. A pick up was arranged for us and we were driven to the highest point in the Algarve. The views are fantastic! Once we had all had a bit of practice and had remembered how to ride a bike again(!) we were taken on the guided Downhill Nature Trip, with plenty of stops along the way to take in the scenery. There was a stop for lunch outside a tiny little tavern where we were treated to the most amazing homemade bread and cake!

The whole trip was completely hassle free and very relaxing. I would recommend this trip to any of my friends and family no matter what their age. I look forward to trying out another activity with Outdoor-Tours when I return to the Algarve.

Date of experience: December 2011
2  Thank Michaela186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
outdoortours, Owner at Algarve Outdoor Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback.

Yes, for this Downhill Nature Trip we take out any-one with age between 14 and 65, and with some cycling experience.

For skilled riders there is also the Downhill Off-road Trip.

cheers, Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews