We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to explore the region of Foia

We really enjoyed the downhill cycling tour with mountainbikes. Great guide and beautiful views... read more

Reviewed 20 May 2023
Karina v
Great day out

This is the second time we have done the downhill bike tour with outdoor tours. Communication with... read more

Reviewed 19 May 2023
James G
,
Peterhead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
72
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meeting point salad frequent stops excellent service mtb ride bikes guide helmets vasco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My boyfriend and I chose to do a combo trip with sea kayaking and the downhill cycling tour. Sergio was our guide for the sea kayaking. This is honestly the best way to see the coastal caves. Much more exciting than going on a motor boat, since you can navigate into the smaller caves that aren't accessible by boats. Sergio took us to a private beach where we were able to explore and swim.

The next day we booked the downhill cycling tour. We rode in a van up the Foia, the highest mountain in the Algarve. Upon reaching the top, we were fitted to our bikes. Our guide Thomas made sure that we were comfortable. Overall, the ride downhill was SO MUCH FUN. There was a honey and medronho (Portuguese moonshine) tasting. We learned about the various flora of the Algarve. We stopped at a small cafe for a delicious home-cooked meal, served along with more medronho, of course. Overall, we cycled around 36 km. I will definitely take my friends here when I come back to Portugal. Great experience - a must!

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The tour guides were great and full of information. The bike route was fun and included breath taking scenery. We would highly reccomend this to anyone and would go back again.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank BruceandIndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Our family (kids are 11 & 8 years old) took one of Frank's 3-hour+ tours kayaking around the caves at Lagos - what a great experience. We had beautiful weather and calm seas, and the guides Sergio and Sophie were well-informed and took us into little caves unaccessible by motorboat. For additional safety and respite (if needed), there was also a motorboat which accompanied us at a distance. We stopped at a couple of secluded beaches and took a swim. Great tour and great value for money!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We enjoyed a leisurely and informative run down the hill in late March. The lunch was provided in the price and was excellent. Free water from the escort van. Good value and we both thoroughly enjoyed our full day.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank SunnySunderland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our family of four (2 adults + 2 teenagers) booked the kayaking and downhill cycle trip online prior to our recent vacation in Portugal. Both were excellent. Loved exploring the coastline and caves near Lagos in the kayaks and the breaks on the beautiful isolated beaches. Although there were only 4 of us on the tour, we still had the support boat and 2 other guides.

The trip up the mountain in the van (with bikes on the trailer) on the narrow twisting roads had me a bit worried, but the trip down was spectacular. The scenery was amazing and the little stops at intriguing sites along the way gave us the feel of real rural Portugal. I loved the lunch stop in a tiny village (of course with narrow cobblestone streets) with fresh, healthy local food. This is the only way to see the mountain, the rural culture and the small villages. We are not avid bikers, but this was just really fun. There was little or no traffic and the bikes were good quality and well maintained.

Both trips were well organized, safe and really good value. I really liked the fact that this tour company is small and able to adjust to the needs of your group. We will definitely be trying some of their other excursions the next time we are in Portugal.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews