We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise on earth with friendly dogs and owner on the side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa di Matiki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zminj
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa di Matiki
Ranked #1 of 1 Zminj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“paradise on earth with friendly dogs and owner on the side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

this is really the most beautiful place i ever visited and believe me, I have been on the 4 out of 5 continents :)

the houses for accommodation are beautiful to stay in, new and beds are comfortable and all have tons of privacy. 3 dogs are your most gracious hosts who share their love daily on an unlimited basis.

Sonja, the owner is a doll in every sense of the word. she cares about you while leaving you the space to experience her property. she has decorated the whole garden and houses in such intricate detail and with such love of freedom and intuition that it souths the soul. my girlfriend and i stayed there for 3 days and she said to me we will return there to get married. I agree.

cant say more then this. words evade me.

Room Tip: depandance is the best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunjaquince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear dunjaquice,

We remember you as a person who enjoys live. We hope that we'll see you soon.
Thank you for leaving such a nice review about La Casa di Matiki. We really liked your comments.

Sonja and Matiki Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
99
77
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just spent 6 nights at Casa Matiki and enjoyed every minute! Lavanda apartment was excellent for a family with one teenager. It is beautifully decorated in a simple country style, with good bedding, great bathroom, small but serviceable kitchen and super patio with fireplace that can be used as a BBQ (which we did several nights). Sonja was the perfect hostess, unobtrusive but there when you needed her. Her son, Rolando, had wonderful suggestions for beaches, cafes and for visiting the fish market in Pula. Pool is lovely, chickens fun to watch, and a baby donkey was born the day we arrived! Nice country walks from the farm, and most places you'd want to visit were a 20-30 minute drive away. And the three dogs were great, but Obama was our favorite!
Thank you also, Sonja, for your kindness to our son. He truly felt welcome and enjoyed your company.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericansinSchonaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at La Casa di Matiki and for leaving a review at TripAdvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Casa Lavanda as well as the pool and all our animals.
We did also enjoy the company of your son. Rolando likes history and culture and was happy to help you, we are glad you liked it.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Sonja, Rolando and the dogs ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshima, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

La Casa Matiki is simply a beautiful place to stay where we had great time over there. The beautiful garden with plants, chicken and donkey gave us an opportunity to get close to nature. We were very much impressed by our host Sonja's hospitality too, we got a chance to try tasty home-made food and experience Croatian culture in some ways. We will definitely miss La Casa Matiki and hope to return there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatsuya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear Tatsuya
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you were able to experience our true Croatian hositality. We also hope that you will be able to return to visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The place is a real paradise with a beautiful garden, swimming poll, basketball playground, lots of deckchairs everywhere, a little playground for a kids.. it is situated in the center of Istria so all places in Istria are within 20 minutes drive by car. But you don't have to leave the property to have a good time and nice rest. The apartments are very nice (especially the two new apartments which are amazing) and well equipped, and they are all extremely clean.
There are also 3 dogs there which are very nice and friendly, so even if you are afraid of dogs, you don't need to hesitate, they are totally harmless and very sweet.
Breakfast is not included in the price of apartment because you have your own kitchen, but I recommend to take it because it is amazing. The lemon pie is the best I have ever tried, the home made jams and cheese are perfect..
There is also a possibility of sleeping on the hay. It is something like a wooden house with wooden furniture, without electricity (but you have a lamp, water and bathroom with toliet). The place is really special, like in old vestern movies, with the donkeys in the garden.
The owner, Sonja, is very nice and helpfull..
If you choose this place for your holidays, you will not regret..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is about as good as it gets, at any price - and this price is affordable. Gorgeous raw-cut stone facades. Swimming pool. Tons of nature, extensive grounds, chicks and donkeys and dogs. Four-poster beds and even a secluded hay-loft type cottage - suitable for poets and all who appreciate a fine ambience. Sonia's breakfast will get you through to dinner, easily. Don't hesitate - just go. Hey, they even laid on a little Miles Davis. This review is a honest appraisal. It is so nice to be able to say nice things and know that you are not kidding your readers. All the best - Lawrence and Romana, Austria.

Room Tip: The apartments are sensational. We had a pretty simple room, which had everything including balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

La Casa di Matiki is well located in the centre of Istria that makes it quite easy to travel to the different Istrian highlights. If you do not feel like leaving the property that's also fine as it offers a nice swimming pool and a lot of outside space where you can enjoy the different animals and nature, read a book in tranquillity etc. There's even the possibility to sleep in a room of hay for the ultimate "back to nature" feeling. The rooms are all equipped with a kitchenette but there's also the possibility to enjoy Sonja's breakfast in the nice and cosy living room/kitchen. The breakfast consists of all home-made products. Sonja is very nice and helpful, she speaks different languages so communication is no problem.

Room Tip: Casa Lavanda is very nice and offers a lot of privacy, sleeping in the hay can also be a nice and un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a marvolous time during the Easter period - and the best pancakes of the world, covered with homegrown lemon grind and served by Sonja, a very nice and helpful Lady. highly recomended! The house is based in the middle of Istria and is a great starting point to explore the rest of the beautiful area including places like Rovij, acice a.s.o.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zminj
13.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Eugenia
Hotel Villa Eugenia
#2 of 8 in Lovran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Stefanija
Hotel Villa Stefanija
#1 of 2 in Barban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.2 mi away
Casa Alice
Casa Alice
#1 of 42 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Matiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Matiki

Property: La Casa di Matiki
Address: Matiki 14, Zminj 52341, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Zminj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zminj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa di Matiki Bed and Breakfast, located in the Heart of Istria, is an Oasis of Peace and Tranquility for you and your family. We are 20 minutes by car to the picturesque seaside town of Rovinj, 30 minutes to Pula, 1 hour to Rijeka. A 200 year old Istrian farmhouse has been passionately restored with respect and love for traditional Istrian style. Seven uniquely designed apartments each with modern facilities and appliances can accommodate our guests. The natural environment offers a relaxing farm holiday for families or those who enjoy the simple pleasures of blue sky, sunshine, farm animals, a dip in the pool and freshly made homemade breads, cakes and marmalades. Outside stone grill for barbequing is also available. Room rentals are available from 40-155€, depending on the season and room type. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Di Matiki Croatia/Zminj, Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing