We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous house & service. Very friendly.”
Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewtrenchard Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife & I were given the gift of dinner, bed & breakfast at this beautiful manor house and it has been a wonderful experience. From the very warm welcome as we walked in, to a lovely chat with the very friendly owners and an amazing dinner created by a local chef with an astonishing lightness of touch and a great future I'm sure.
Our room was huge, as was the bed and the en-suite with its bath, seperate large shower enclosure and individual wash basins. The staff are all friendly, attentive and highly professional. The owners, who take full part in the running of the hotel, are a delightful family whose love of the house is obvious and infectious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Thoroughly deserving of our 'excellent' rating. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockwelllodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear stockwelllodge,

Thank you for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon, we are not too far away after all.

The Murray's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

I had my wedding booked at this beautiful manor house. Sadly thanks to the new owners, I have had to cancel it. Their wedding planner was very unhelpful and gave no thought to my requests or wishes for my wedding, instead it was very much 'this is how I'm doing it, deal with it'. When I complained to the owner she was nice but made no apologies for her staffs rudeness and commented if I wanted to give my guests a choice between a vegetarian soup and a meat starter etc then the serving of the food would be less professional (are the staff so incompetent that they cannot serve up soup as well as a meat starter?). She also stated that 60 is a very large wedding and it would be difficult to manage. 60 guests would be the smallest wedding I have ever been to - these people can obviously not cope with weddings at all and do nothing but stress you out. My advice is find somewhere else that recognises that its your very important day, you should never have to feel like your in the way at your own wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank UnhappyBride101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear UnhappyBride101,

Thank you for your review, all comments are welcome good or bad. I am sorry that you feel this way about us. It is unfortunate that we were not able to resolve your issues and hope that your next venue will be able to provide to all your requests. I only hope that readers of this review will take into account all the other reviews we have since March and make an educated decision on Lewtrenchard.

Best wishes for the future

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We went to stay at the Manor after my daughter's wedding so were looking for some downtime but also some luxury. The staff were wonderful from the very first greeting as we arrived - coming to meet us at the door. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay perfect. The food is top quality and deserving of a Michelin star - from the dinners to just a snack by the fire. Perfect. Highly recommended. We'll be back and suggesting to lots of our friends to go visit.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that overlook the garden at the front. The trees are just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baroness V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear The Baroness V

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you down here again soon.

The Murrays

P.S. We will stock plenty Harveys Bristol Cream!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at Lewtrenchard Manor for 4 nights from 8th - 12th May 2012. It is a special place, full of atmosphere & thoroughly recmmended. The welcome & service were warm & professional.
The food was really excellent & the chef, John Hooker, definitely deserves a special mention - and I hope it's not too long before he is awarded a much deserved Michelin star.
Our bathroom was wonderfully appointed but some of the furniture in our room was a little tired. And they need to get wi-fi sorted out in all rooms as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear BrendaMaidenhead,

We are overjoyed you had a great stay, we loved having you here and hope enjoyed the rest of your trip. Next time you join us you can let us know. We are working on the WiFi situation and hopefully will have somthing in place soon.

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Spent only one night there on our way from Heathrow to Cornwall and what an excellent start to our vacation. Wonderful walks - we hiked on Dartmoor as well as in the beautiful grounds of the manor. Very close to the manor is a very old Church where the original owners of the manor are buried so there is lots of history too. Best of all, there are practically no other tourists. Staff of the hotel are extremely caring and helpful.

Room Tip: The lady at the reception, quite unbidden, insisted on taking us to choose between three rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear NatureloverToronto,

Thank you for your kind words, please look us up the next time you are in the UK.

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want to unwind this is the place to go. The staff are wonderful, the food is lovely and the location is stunning. This is one place that I will definately return to. If you want to be on your phone or laptop maybe won't be so good as unless you go to higher ground there is no network.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear P H

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately/fortunately (delete as appropriate) we can not do anything about the lack of mobile phone signal but we will be looking at improving our Guest WiFi as we feel more guests want it than not. A necessary modern evil!!

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Arrived late afternoon on Friday after a 250 mile Ice cold motorcycle ride.Once the initial motorcycle preconceptions were dealt with we were made to feel very very welcome. Motorcycle parking was good, being away from the main car park.The Hotel was very warm throughout having an open fire burning in most of the Grand Jacobian fireplaces.We were shown to our attic room which was again very warm and inviting albeit a little small in comparison to others which we later saw.The room was decorated in a very luxurious manner with smart fixtures and fittings and tasteful decor.The bed linen was luxurious and can really only be described as 'expensive'.The Bathroom was again very lavish having a large Victorian Style tub and a large 'two berth' shower.Plenty of warmth and hot water with robes and plenty of towels. only real criticism of the room itself was the entrance hall which had low beams which were a nuiscance.. Astonishingly the room was not equipped with any tea making fascilities so you really need to take your own travel kettle etc...Tea was available as room service for a £5 service charge which i thought was a bit steep..Staff were great and really friendly, new owners were equally friendly , Initially we looked for alternative dining in nearby pubs but there arent any close by so we finally decided to try the evening menu... Food was amazing..,and im fussy...plenty of courses and a true dining experience...probably the best meal I have ever had and at £50 it surprisingly turned out to be a bargain.The bar area of the hotel,was again with an open fire blazing.This room was more like a front room than a bar so dont expect darts and pool but do expect conversation, bottled beers and a good wine cellar .The Wedding was the following day and was very well organised and went it would seem pretty much to plan.with the ceremony held in a beautiful room.. The grounds were ideal for photographs and the Falconry display.The Wedding breakfast was again very good,quality food served well and the same room later used for dancing to the Band...Overall great venue.This is not the type of Hotel I would normally stay at.Previous experience tell me that old hotels are draughty, cold and over priced and a bit snooty...Lewtrenchard is the exception.No Doubt its expensive and exclusive but I have to say it made us feel great...the Soul of the place is refreshing and the owners and staff made our stay 'one to remember'...Take a kettle,...and read the history of the place...its amazing

Room Tip: Although we paid for our own rooms Our room was chosen by the Wedding party and as such neither we o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom975478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Tom975478

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. Regarding your one criticism about the tea & coffee facilities, I am sorry about any misunderstanding regarding the room service charge, however this was only charged for meals served in the room, not tea or coffee. We also can provide early morning tea or an over-night tea tray at no extra charge. We have taken your comments into account and have decided to remove the £5 service charge anyway, as we feel you are already paying enough for your stay for this to be included.

We hope to see you back soon

The Murray Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
13.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,166 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,440 reviews
22.1 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
472 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Price Range: £152 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Lewdown, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing