We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewtrenchard Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We visited Lewtrenchard manor in October we had a Lovely Sunday lunch 4 courses for £25 Service was Very good food was delicious we had coffee and petit fours sat next to the lovely fire will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cateringexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for one night at the beginning of October in St Clements, one of the Courtyard Suites, on a dinner bed & breakfast rate, their autumn/winter offer. We simply could not fault it. Both the hotel and staff were wonderful, a real experience, a delight to have stayed there. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. St Clements was lovely, beautifully decorated, and the four poster bed was extremely comfortable - altogether we had a lovely time. Admittedly no tea or coffee making facilities in the suite, but that did not trouble us as early morning tea was delivered promptly, in a very efficient and friendly manner. Any requests we had were dealt with promptly and efficiently. On arrival in the afternoon we had tea and scones, in the beautiful reception hall, followed by a local walk through the surrounding countryside which was delightful. We would certainly like to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We found Lewtrenchard Manor via the 'Late Rooms' website when planning a road trip to the West Country. On being put through to the Manor's reception by Late Rooms the friendly but efficient receptionist was told about my wife's dietary requirements and assured us that it would not be a problem so we booked a table for a moderately expensive dinner. On arrival the sat nav took us down a very small road that caused our MX5 to bottom out a few times so beware if you have a low car and take the main approach road to the west of the hotel.
The building was absolutely beautiful, although the reception could (in my opinion) be better sited, instead of forcing new arrivals to wander in past guests taking afternoon tea in the lounge before eventually wandering through to the main stairwell.
We were staying in the folly outside of the main building, the room was named 'Merrial' and on first sight looked very impressive, with the spacious and luxurious ground floor bathroom (why is there a telephone socket on the wall by the loo?) and a peculiar wardrobe in the space under the stairs. Upstairs the room was largely taken up by a king size four poster bed.
There was no canopy above, Just four posts. Apart from a single chair in the corner and two bedside cabinets there was no furniture. There wasn't room for any. Looking up from the bed the exposed cross beams had their own web sites - very hand for catching flies. The robes provided were very handy considering the wardrobe was downstairs from the bedroom.
A TV was perched on the window cill, and that really, apart from the stunning views, was it.
A wander around the grounds revealed a rather impressive central fountain, and various water features, along with a sunken garden and a ha-ha where the meadow lead down to a milky looking lagoon optimistically referred to as 'the lake'.
The gardens were a little spoiled by neglect, the beds and borders needed re-stocking, many of the lawns had been scalped by a badly adjusted mower, most of the grassed areas were ruined by a pile of rotting clippings in the corner. Time to spend a bit more money on the grounds chaps.
An afternoon visit to the bar for a coffee in silent oak panelled surroundings and a ticking clock had all the reverence of a Gentleman's Club, I half expected Rowley Birkin Q.C. from the Fast Show to pop his head round the corner and explain that he was 'very, very drunk'.
Having perused the sample menu in the room we were looking forward to dinner, but on asking for an actual menu we were rather disappointed to see that every item except one of the deserts was totally unsuitable from my wife's dietary requirements (as discussed at time of booking).
Taking a leaflet from the reception we opted for a visit to a local 'gastro pub' - The Harris Arms. Big mistake. (see reviews)
On returning to Lewtrenchard as the weather was decidedly hostile rather than trudging across the rainy gardens we opted for an evening in, and were disappointed to find that there were no tea making facilities, and that there was wifi, but it had to be paid for. It's 2013 folks!
After a very good night's sleep and a complementary cup of tea we joined the guests in the main house for possibly the best breakfast ever, all the more disappointing that we'd had to miss dinner.
On checking out I mentioned the dietary requirements faux pas to the receptionist, and she told me that we could have had something special cooked. A bit late now! Also were told that we could have called reception for tea and coffee the night before, but if they are charging for wifi how much would that cost?
Would we visit again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Only opt for 'Merrial' if you don't mind a small room and crossing the garden in whateve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMurraysoflew, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Martin H,

Many thanks for your review, I however did want to correct a few incorrect facts.
1) The lawns were not scalped they had had Iron Phosphate put down in order to kill moss and then scarified.
2) We do not have any ticking clocks in the lounges, however I do a very good impression of Rowley Birkin Q.C!! One of my favorite characters from the Fast Show.
3) With regards to the menu we do not change the menu for everybody dining just because of one individuals dietary requirements. We are very happy to adjust the menu to suite individual requirements, and do so almost daily, however it is not clear in your review if you discussed this with any of the staff. I have checked the menu on the night you stayed and looked at your wife's dietary requirements and most of the dishes seemed to be fine.
4) We do not charge for WiFi and have never charged for it since owning the hotel so I am not sure what signal you managed to pick up, possibly the local BT Openzone.

I am very pleased to see you would come back and we look forward to welcoming you here in the future.

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Travelling from Tintagel & looking at our road map, I wondered how we'd ever find the place but Lewdown is well-signposted off the A30 and the country roads are wide and in good condition. The entrance and first glimpse of the manor is imposing. As we travel light and dress very casually, we wondered if it was a bit too "posh" for our liking - but no, we felt quite at home. We were upgraded to a suite (thank you) and stayed in the Nonington Suite off the upstairs gallery. The manor is so very English with its history, walls lined with family portraits, wood panelling, giant fireplaces and over-sized sofas. The bar area was busy and we didn't want a full three-course dinner so a light supper of soup and salmon platter was delivered to us in our chosen spot - the library - surrounded by hundreds of books. Some were written by Sabine Linton Baring Gould who inherited the estate in 1872. Wow. Our suite was delightful with a large bedroom with canopied bed and (my favourite) a window seat, plus a separate sitting room and generous bathroom. While we had supper downstairs, the Room Fairies turned down the bed and left us a tray with tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The house is reportedly haunted but our sleep wasn't disturbed and we felt refreshed for breakfast which was an elegant affair with linen napery and Villeroy and Bosch crockery. The bacon and eggs were delicious. This was an overnight stop on our way north but had we known it was so delightful, we would have stayed longer and enjoyed the formal gardens and local walks. Yes, it might be a bit creaky and dated in places but Lewtrenchard Manor is an absolute treasure and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: Loved the Nonington Suite which is at the front of the manor and the the right of the front entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lewtrenchard Manor is a true gem set in beautiful countryside. I went there with my husband and our dog to do some walking and celebrate his birthday. We paid a small extra charge to bring our dog. We opted for one of their excellent value deals including dinner, bed and breakfast and stayed in the Nonington suite overlooking the gorgeous gardens. Sadly the weather wasn't great but the food and the service more than compensated for the lack of sunshine. We were greeted warmly and nothing was too much trouble for our gracious hosts and their delightful staff who really made us feel welcome.
Dinner was an absolute delight in the wonderful, candlelit dining room, I really loved the artichoke veloute and pre dessert, little extra treats that make the whole experience of dining out exciting and delicious.
Our bed was very comfortable and we slept really well although the bathroom and shower were a little on the small side.
I would definitely recommend Lewtrenchard very highly if you're looking for a lovely setting, old fashioned charm, relaxation and first class food. It's a peaceful and luxurious haven far from city life. I would love to come again in the Spring or Summer as I'm sure the gardens would look glorious when the flowers are out. Thank you to all the staff and our kind hosts who made our stay so very enjoyable.

Irena and Mark Riggott and Harry the Sheltie.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms but our room, the Nonington suite, had lovely views and a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a magnificent old historical property. Staff are dedicated to the property and its history and the service provided is exemplary. Grounds are beautiful with wonderful gardens and walks. We stayed in a suite and the additional space was very welcomed, as was the sun streaming in pretty much throughout the day. However, the rooms are very old and fixtures and fittings can be somewhat 'tired'. There are no fridges in the rooms, nor tea or coffee making facilities. The beds are 'small' and pillows are very soft/flat and no pillow choices are obviously available. The breakfast is very good however, the dinner service is fairly drawn out and in our case over a couple of evenings it started at 7:45 and didn't finish until almost 10:00pm ...... only 6 to 8 in the dining room. The wine list and prices offer a reasonable selection. So if you are looking for an historical experience you will be well rewarded but if seeking modern day facilities then you will probably need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Atmospheric, secluded and beautiful. The house, its setting and style are perfect for a relaxing and very comfortable stay. The room that we stayed in was large, light and airy with window seats that looked out over the fountain and the gardens. Both breakfast and dinner are a foodies delight - inventive, imaginative and very eatable. The bread is outstanding.

The staff are a delight and it feels as if you own the place and are part of the family.

This was our first visit but it wont be our last - definitely a place for all seasons.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
13.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,163 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,438 reviews
22.1 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
677 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
472 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Price Range: £153 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Lewdown, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing