We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lewtrenchard Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Back again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I love Lewtrenchard Manor. Had my wedding there 7 years ago and have been coming back every now and then for a dose of luxury relaxation and excellent cuisine.

The huge comfy sofas and chairs arranged around the log fire were the site of much conversation over coffee and delicious shortcake biscuits, before drinks in the bar (served by the owners) and then an evening meal with the most incredible tastes!

The rooms are beautifully done, some with four-poster beds that look so comfy they seem to call to you!

A fabulous overnight stay was finished this morning by a delicious breakfast.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    42
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
251
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

An absolutely lovely break at this gorgeous hotel!

Beautiful grounds and building, staff were friendly and attentive and food was amazing!

We stayed in The Warrington, which was spacious and beautifully furnished.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thickchick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I won't belabor things by repeating previous accolades, but wish to say I felt like a personal guest of the Murray family. Duncan is a wonderful host. Excellent breakfast, superior dinner. This hotel is deep in the countryside but has easy access to Dartmoor and the coast. Very highly recommended.
Room tip: we had the St Gertrude suite- beautiful, great space, good bathroom.
Meal tip: don't miss dinner in the hotel. Have drinks beforehand with Duncan. Very special.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank batsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

excellent weekend break we would like to thank all the staff for making our weekend very enjoyable .its the 2nd time we have stayed there and will be going again with our dog poppy she also found very relaxing. i would recomend this hotel to any who is visiting dartmoor and surrounding areas Rob Sue & poppy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the Milton room for 3 nights this past weekend. After booking last minute we were completely bowled over by this wonderful house.
The owners are excellent hosts and made us feel as though we were there personal guests in their manor house. The staff are all very professional and friendly. The history and all the antiques make this house a very special place.
Our room had the four poster bed that belonged to Henrietta-Maria who was queen consort to Charles 2nd ... it was very grand and was very comfortable .... I felt like a queen!
There was free wi fi but there is no mobile phone connection .. which to me was a blessing.
The gardens are absolutely beautiful and there are plenty of tables and umbrellas around to sit out and have your afternoon cream tea in the sunshine.
The food .... well all I can say is that we felt as though we were dining in Le Gavroche every evening. I am quite a fussy eater but I ate every single thing that was served to me ... not one complaint. My compliments to the chef.
We are already thinking to return for a long weekend during the winter months when all the open fires are roaring ... it must be magical.
5 stars to the Lewtrenchard Manor, we are so pleased we found you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babiface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just stayed for one night to unwind at the start of a holiday. The gardens are beautiful, as is the road approaching the hotel. We were delighted with our 'classic' room and the cheerful welcome. Very very comfortable bed, little touches in the bedroom and bathroom, those heavy white robes that just make you feel spoilt.
There are lovely rooms to explore, along with books and magazines, but as it was sunny we spent most of the afternoon relaxing over tea in the garden, watching bees birds and butterflies among the flowers.
Dinner was delicious, service was friendly but not intrusive. Coffee, petit fours and excellent Armagnac were enjoyed in the bar later. any flaws?? well the fire alarm went off just as I had fallen asleep, but I forgive them. Would love to return when the fires are lit

Room Tip: Even the less extravagant rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed recently for three nights in the St. Gertrude Suite, which overlooks the gardens and fountain, as part of our 45th wedding anniversary celebrations. The experience more than lived up to our hopes and expectations.

There is no need for us to repeat all the many very positive comments already submitted by other guests - but we simply wish to confirm that they are all quite correct. This is a wonderfully relaxing, and very special, place to stay, in every possible way, and we could not have been made to feel more at home by the Murray family and their excellent staff. The only downside was having to leave at the end of our break, and we will certainly return at the earliest opportunity.

Having travelled all over the world, and stayed in many excellent hotels, we also feel that Lewtrenchard provides very good value for money.

Many thanks to everyone for helping to make our anniversary celebration so perfect.

Room Tip: We believe all rooms are good, from speaking to other guests, and the staff are very helpful in advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian and Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
13.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
8.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Property: Lewtrenchard Manor
Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Lewdown, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing