We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you're hungry!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titchfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Titchfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The building itself was beautiful and the luxury room was very nice, but unfortunately the other room we stayed in was very small and impossible to walk down the side of the bed to get to the tea and coffee without squeezing.
I was also very disappointed with the breakfast. You had to pre-order the day before and they assumed that's what we wanted every day. The portion sizes we're ridiculous. My grandma ordered pouched eggs on toast and she received one egg and one slice of toast. You had to ask for any extra toast and then you were served one slice. Juice was also rationed, as was butter and milk (had to ask for more both mornings). The owners were very friendly but for the price there are far superior places to stay in the area (who don't act like it's war time with the rations)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at Abbey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Do come if you are hungry! There is no limit to what you can eat. Some of our guests do not just want quantity, but if they do they can have it. Perhaps you are more used to a self service breakfast that some hotel chains provide. Here we aim to get away from that and provide a much more personal service. All our food is carefully sourced, cooked to order on a range and you are served at the table. There is no limit to the amount of orange juice, toast, butter or milk you can have - if you want more then you only have to ask and we bring it to you. Your grandma asked for a poached egg on toast and was given it. If she had asked for two, she would have been given that.
Asking you to complete a breakfast sheet the night before is for guests' convenience, not ours. To cook a full English breakfast takes 25 minutes on a range (nothing's microwaved) and guests do not want to wait that long. Calling it wartime rationing is gratuitously offensive and simply wrong.
Teresa and I work hard to provide an enjoyable stay at our home and most people do appreciate it. You cannot please everyone but we will continue to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Abbey House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Made very welcome from arrival. Nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in the luxury room with unexpected views of the historic Abbey ruins. Comfortable bed and a great night's sleep in a quiet location. Great fluffy white towels and Molton Brown bath products. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful garden. Would recommend it and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A delightful B&B in the grounds of a garden centre that once belonged to the premises. There is a beautiful ruined Abbey at the back of the centre, well worth the visit.
The garden centre is littered with CCTV cameras so it's a safe be to leave your car.... bonus!
The couple who run the place were totally charming from the first phone call, to being met at the door and that all important 'English Breakfast' The price was great and beat all of the opposition. Abbey House is right up there on our 'revisit list'...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We booked the luxury room for 2 nights on the strength of the 7 excellent scores on Trip Adviser. We weren’t disappointed.
The house is very easy to find. It is surrounded by a Garden Centre. There is little noise from the garden centre. Richard and Teresa are very hospitable hosts. They close the curtains before you return at night and give you a front door key. On learning I take decaffinated coffee an addition was made to the hospitality tray in the room.
The house is large and spotless, decorated in beige/cream throughout the hall, landing and stairs and our room. The Dining Room is in blue. The luxury room is about 6 m x 4m with 3 windows with a 2m x 1m bathroom including a walk in shower. The furniture includes a large comfortable bed with crisp clean linen, 2 bedside tables with lamps, a chest of drawers, a wardrobe (with adequate hangers and an almost full length mirror) and a stand for the hospitality tray and a unit for the TV. The bathroom has stone tiles, toilet, wash basin and mirror and shaver point. There was a mixture of toiletries and one hand and one bath towel each. The shower worked well, towels are fluffy and water was hot. We slept well, though the curtains didn’t give complete black-out. Lighting levels from the main chandelier was ok. There was a selection of magazines next to the bed and some menus from local eating places. The room was generally warm, though the heating seemed to come on and off at odd times. There were no other guests and the house was quiet at night.
You order breakfast the night before; cereal, yoghurt, tea or coffee, a range of hot components of an ‘English Breakfast’. Excellently prepared and served.
One oddity was the contents of the cabinet in the bathroom – looked as though they were a collection of toiletries left behind by previous guests – an old fashioned shaving brush, 2 old toothbrushes and a couple of toiletries bag – we didn’t investigate further! Parking at first was a bit strange – the car park to the Garden Centre that surrounds the house is chained when the Centre closes and outside the house are ‘unofficial’ double yellow lines. Richard invited us to park in their drive – only room for one visitor car. The entrance to the house is up a walkway that has seen better days and the garden is a little unkempt. They have a pool in a glasshouse that isn’t available to guests. The tv in the room is a 16 inch flatscreen with DvD with freeview. I was a bit disappointed with this – for a luxury room, I expected a larger TV. The room only had one chair, and, as the room will usually be occupied by 2 guests, another chair needs to be provided. Whilst the room was clean, there was a dirty mark along the skirting board. When we arrived Richard asked whether we wanted the chiming clock in the room turned off - fair enough, but I am not sure anything that is likely to disturb guests should be in the room in the first place! Another strange thing is the inability to lock the door of the room to ensure privacy.
We paid £90.00 per night for the room. This is expensive for a Bed and Breakfast though I think on balance it just about lived up to its price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a lovely welcome we received from Teresa and Richard, nothing was too much trouble. Such a great location and gorgeous house, and our room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable and room beautifully decorated. We chose to eat at the pub just down the road, the food at the Fisherman's Pub was good quality and very reasonably priced, and no more than 5mins walk at the most from Abbey House. Our favourite part of our visit was the breakfast, we chose the full english and was probably one of the best we have ever had! We would highly recommend Abbey House to anyone visiting the area, we will be planning a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 194SuzanneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Super warm welcome from Teresa and Richard, Abbey House's owners and our weekend began on a wonderful footing. We arrived exhausted and were greeted by a clean and cosy room complete with all the necessities to make our stay truly relaxing. Breakfast the following morning was delicious, served in a friendly relaxed atmosphere and we were delighted the owners could point us in the direction of all the local facilities.
We were especially impressed by the cleanliness of our room and the stylishly modern en-suite. We would definitely recommend Abbey House to anyone needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 182RosalindP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a find ! We stayed at this absolutely charming B&B for 5 nights. Our room which looked out over the beautiful garden was spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully presented, as was the lovely modern bathroom. The generous hospitality tray was refreshed every day, not that you needed it as the breakfast was first class ! We had the full english every morning, not something that i would normally do but i could not resist ! The owners, Richard and Teresa are lovely people, so warm and welcoming, making you feel right at home from the moment you arrive.It is a great base for exploring the surrounding area with so much to see and do. The pretty village of Wickham is just a 10 minute drive down the road ! Abbey house is an excellently run B&B in a lovely rural setting which we highly recommend. We will definatly be booking up to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchfield
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
1.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,080 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
2.5 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Abbey Nursery House Mill Lane, Titchfield, Fareham PO15 5RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Titchfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Titchfield
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a delightful walled garden with private off-road, gated parking, in the conservation area by the ruins of Titchfield Abbey to the west of Fareham and close to the river Meon with rural walks along the river to the Solent and into the Hampshire countryside, yet within easy reach of the M27, mainline rail links, Southampton, Portsmouth and cross Channel ferries. Within a 10 minute walk there is the historic village of Titchfield, a choice of 5 pubs, all of which serve food every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey House Bed And Breakfast Titchfield, Fareham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing