We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titchfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Titchfield B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Abbey House really is a b&b that should be seriously considered if you are looking for accommodation in the area , set in beautiful gardens in a really peaceful village , it's a breath of fresh air. Unfortunately I have been unable to sample what I'm sure is a great breakfast due to leaving very early for work , but when I come down for a break later in the summer , I feel sure I will not be disappointed . The owners are friendly with a warm welcome , and are always happy to help with any queries you may have . My room was very clean and set out to a high standard , I really couldn't have hoped for any better. Many thanks to Richard and Teresa and I'll see you again soon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We only stayed one night, but felt at home straight away. Our hosts were very helpful. Beautiful clean room and lovely breakfast. Situated in a lovely quiet area.But close to Portsmouth and motorway. Would recommmend local pub over the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Richard and Teresa were very friendly and made us feel most welcome. The room was spotlessly clean and we had a fantastic sleep. Breakfast was delicious, a great feast to start our day and we really enjoyed the local area and convenience of this location to a range of attractions for us. It began as a bse for local business meetings, with its handy proximity to the motorway, but we booked extra nights simply to enjoy the comfort, local area and hospitality. We will definitely be back soon. We very much appreciated their exceptional attention to detail, which just gave the place a wonderful relaxed tone of welcome and home comfort too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrailerByTheSea07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a wonderful stay, great location as we were staying for a friends' BBQ. Had looked at the
Holiday Inn but was really expensive, so found Abbey House instead. Hosts were so friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Lovely breakfast, given just what you asked for and extra toast provided. Beautiful room, we had the one with our own bathroom as I prefer a bath to a shower. Would definitely stay again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I had a wonderful time at The Abbey House. Richard and Teresa were extremely welcoming. Lovely home and garden and the breakfast was spot on. Thank you for your kind hospitality! Will recommend to friends :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clod74007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had an excellent time when staying at the Abbey House. The house was clean, well presented and the couple were very friendly and informative. The bed was very comfy and the en suite bathroom was very clean. Although food was not provided in the evening (obviously as it is a B&B) the owners told us of a few pubs around that were in walking distance (The Fisherman's Rest was especially nice) Lots of choices for breakfast which was excellent and cooked well. Excellent value for money, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The building itself was beautiful and the luxury room was very nice, but unfortunately the other room we stayed in was very small and impossible to walk down the side of the bed to get to the tea and coffee without squeezing.
I was also very disappointed with the breakfast. You had to pre-order the day before and they assumed that's what we wanted every day. The portion sizes we're ridiculous. My grandma ordered pouched eggs on toast and she received one egg and one slice of toast. You had to ask for any extra toast and then you were served one slice. Juice was also rationed, as was butter and milk (had to ask for more both mornings). The owners were very friendly but for the price there are far superior places to stay in the area (who don't act like it's war time with the rations)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at Abbey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Do come if you are hungry! There is no limit to what you can eat. Some of our guests do not just want quantity, but if they do they can have it. Perhaps you are more used to a self service breakfast that some hotel chains provide. Here we aim to get away from that and provide a much more personal service. All our food is carefully sourced, cooked to order on a range and you are served at the table. There is no limit to the amount of orange juice, toast, butter or milk you can have - if you want more then you only have to ask and we bring it to you. Your grandma asked for a poached egg on toast and was given it. If she had asked for two, she would have been given that.
Asking you to complete a breakfast sheet the night before is for guests' convenience, not ours. To cook a full English breakfast takes 25 minutes on a range (nothing's microwaved) and guests do not want to wait that long. Calling it wartime rationing is gratuitously offensive and simply wrong.
Teresa and I work hard to provide an enjoyable stay at our home and most people do appreciate it. You cannot please everyone but we will continue to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchfield
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
1.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
2.5 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Abbey Nursery House Mill Lane, Titchfield, Fareham PO15 5RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Titchfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Titchfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a delightful walled garden with private off-road, gated parking, in the conservation area by the ruins of Titchfield Abbey to the west of Fareham and close to the river Meon with rural walks along the river to the Solent and into the Hampshire countryside, yet within easy reach of the M27, mainline rail links, Southampton, Portsmouth and cross Channel ferries. Within a 10 minute walk there is the historic village of Titchfield, a choice of 5 pubs, all of which serve food every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey House Bed And Breakfast Titchfield, Fareham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing