We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
Review of Oakhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Oakhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

A spur of the moment decision resulted in finding this wonderful inn. A very welcoming atmosphere from the moment you walk through the door to the moment you leave. The bedroom was a good size, extremely clean and the bedding was soft and comfortable.
The food in the restaurant was high quality, the wine list extremely reasonable and the service un-rushed. We will definitely be going back. A fantastic find.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boogs1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    46
    8
    11
    3
See reviews for
37
73
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Atmospheric gastro pub in nice village. Always good reliable food as in Charlies other pubs in Bath (The Garrick & King William). Efficient staff and nice locals. Told rooms good too! I ha ve to write more - oh yes, dog friendly!

Room Tip: Not stayed, but told good and bonus is the excellent food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhenjI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had an American colleague with me when we stopped here for a quick lunch . He loved it , roaring fire and nice charector. Choose the home made burgers from the bar menu along with their triple cooked chips...and I can honestly say it was a meal with some class

The guy behind the bar could not have been more helpful

I think its a place that adapts to the time of day and the season. So whilst we had a quick bar lunch , the main evening menu looked very attractive & varied

Definately a pub I would go out my way to revisit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Thank you Oakhill Inn for looking after us and our two pugs so well. Excellently kept real ales, very good food, friendly staff and a lovely well kept bedroom. We couldn't have asked for more. ............

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrs_yogester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed over for two nights with the meal offer. The food was exceptional, the room was cosy and the staff unobtrusive. A great weekend away and excellent value for money. Thankyou for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkineater22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butleigh, Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

So Mother's Day is approaching and it reminded me of last years experience where I booked a table for lunch for Mothering Sunday a pupils of weeks in advance. I was looking forward to it as I drive past it every day and it looks nice and they claim to do great food. I also love to take my family out occasionally, although we don't do it often so when we do its an occasion.

So having made a booking we got to the pub and went to the bar to ask about our table, whereupon we're told at we don't have a reservation. The guy behind the bar, Mike, pronounces that he takes all the bookings and there isn't one for us. That's all the is to it. He even chucks his booking diary on to the bar to prove our name isn't in the book. And as he's said, he takes all the bookings and is evidently incapable of making any kind of error whatsoever. With or without his apparent perfect performance we have no booking.

Now, to give the place credit, they did manage to squeeze us in although by this time the moment had most definitely been soured for me by practically being accused of being a lying idiot. What's more, all but one of the staff had a face on them that looked like it would crack if they even thought of smiling.

Despite this the food was quite nice. I'd say the roast lunch wasn't anything amazing, but was a nice Sunday lunch. The puddings were very nice, although (as I often think in pubs) a bit overpriced.

Such a shame. The experience of how we were treated with regards to the booking means I won't go back, no matter how nice the pudding was.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewTamea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This pub is a good quality pub nestling in a picturesque corner of Somerset. It's a little smarter than its rivals, though it charges prices to reflect this. It is an old stone inn, in the heart of a small pretty village, with a tiny carpark (you can usually squeeze the car somewhere on the road instead). Inside it is quite large, plenty of seating, flagstone floor and sold wood tables. They set the tables with cloths and cutlery for the evening service, and it's wise to book in advance. There is a small bar with a good selection of draught ales and a decent wine list.

Popular with locals it's also friendly to those from out of town, not too noisy, no intrusive TVs playing sports, or loud music. Nice ambience, attractive decor of antiques and bits and bobs, and very clean. Service pretty quick, food nice although possibly slightly overpriced for what it is - it's nice pub style food with a small choice. In my group we enjoyed the food but found it a teeny bit salty and well-done in some areas. Desserts were excellent.

I'd go back to this pub - probably more for a drink with friends or a smarter lunch out, and it's a nicer option than some of the other local pubs, but be prepared to pay a little more for your experience - around £12.95-£14.95 for a main meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigergirlberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhill
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Holcombe Inn
The Holcombe Inn
#1 of 2 in Holcombe
423 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#18 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
244 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Inn

Property: Oakhill Inn
Address: Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Oakhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional English country inn with five, 4 star, en suite rooms. Comfy sofas and roaring log fires in the winter and a beautifully sunny walled garden in the summer. The bar is a show case of well kept real ales, local ciders and excellent wines. Menus are full of fresh seasonal produce from local suppliers and served throughout the pub or in the dining room. Rooms are comfortably furnished with particular attention paid to the bedding and showers.This is a family run inn and the welcome guests receive is genuine and warm. An excellent base from which to explore all that Bath and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oakhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oakhill Hotel Oakhill
Oakhill Inn Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing