We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes...”
Review of Oakhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Oakhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Ticks all the boxes...”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

....and, importantly, not just for middle-aged couples like us There were all ages staying and dining and drinking at this lovely Somerset inn, just half an hour from Bath. We loved the spacious airy dining room and it's eclectic mix of classic furnishings. Our bed was huge and very comfortable, as was the bathroom. But for us, it's the food and the service that makes a place and the Oakhill Inn delivers. The breakfasts, with home made sourdough bread, creamy scrambled egg and smoked salmon set us up for the day; and at dinner the wild boar with rich red wine jus was excellent. The staff were truly hospitable. We stayed here for three nights at the end of April and were very well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    48
    8
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
75
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We came across The Oakhill Inn after 3hours looking for a last minute overnight stay Nr Bristol on the internet. From our initial phone call and booking we felt we had found something special and we were really looking forward to our stay. All the staff were delightful and very helpful. The room was very comfortable and shower excellent. The decor throughout was really lovely and we hope to stay again. Our evening meal and breakfast the following morning was excellent and would definately recommend. Sometimes it's so rewarding to find a gem of a place...

Room Tip: Room 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

A spur of the moment decision resulted in finding this wonderful inn. A very welcoming atmosphere from the moment you walk through the door to the moment you leave. The bedroom was a good size, extremely clean and the bedding was soft and comfortable.
The food in the restaurant was high quality, the wine list extremely reasonable and the service un-rushed. We will definitely be going back. A fantastic find.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boogs1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Atmospheric gastro pub in nice village. Always good reliable food as in Charlies other pubs in Bath (The Garrick & King William). Efficient staff and nice locals. Told rooms good too! I ha ve to write more - oh yes, dog friendly!

Room Tip: Not stayed, but told good and bonus is the excellent food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhenjI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had an American colleague with me when we stopped here for a quick lunch . He loved it , roaring fire and nice charector. Choose the home made burgers from the bar menu along with their triple cooked chips...and I can honestly say it was a meal with some class

The guy behind the bar could not have been more helpful

I think its a place that adapts to the time of day and the season. So whilst we had a quick bar lunch , the main evening menu looked very attractive & varied

Definately a pub I would go out my way to revisit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Thank you Oakhill Inn for looking after us and our two pugs so well. Excellently kept real ales, very good food, friendly staff and a lovely well kept bedroom. We couldn't have asked for more. ............

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrs_yogester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed over for two nights with the meal offer. The food was exceptional, the room was cosy and the staff unobtrusive. A great weekend away and excellent value for money. Thankyou for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkineater22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhill
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
968 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
6.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,024 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#17 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Inn

Property: Oakhill Inn
Address: Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Oakhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional English country inn with five, 4 star, en suite rooms. Comfy sofas and roaring log fires in the winter and a beautifully sunny walled garden in the summer. The bar is a show case of well kept real ales, local ciders and excellent wines. Menus are full of fresh seasonal produce from local suppliers and served throughout the pub or in the dining room. Rooms are comfortably furnished with particular attention paid to the bedding and showers.This is a family run inn and the welcome guests receive is genuine and warm. An excellent base from which to explore all that Bath and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oakhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oakhill Hotel Oakhill
Oakhill Inn Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing