We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tudor Arms Lodge - excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tudor Arms Lodge - excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very comfortable room in a separate building adjacent to the pub.
Shower – not particular powerful but could be very hot.
Comfortable bed.
Tea and coffee and biscuits replenished daily.
Excellent breakfast – cereal, fruit, cooked breakfast, toast, tea/coffee.
Very good meals at the pub itself at reasonable prices – brilliant apricot & cashew nut roast for veggies.
Plenty of parking spaces.
Two pool tables.
Good range of real ales as well as Guinness and lagers.
Within walking distance of Slimbridge Wetlands Centre and also adjacent to the canal for easy walks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBikersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    50
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
119
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excellent accomodation with luxury bathroom. Mattress so comfortable. The Tudor Arms is superbly placed for walking to the Slimbridge reserve. Very quiet despite being full. The staff were also lovely to us when we had to leave a day early due to a sudden family illness. The food in the pub is good (the beef was really tasty and good quality) and there are real ales and ciders on offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that your Relation is recovering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed for one night when travelling up to yorkshire. It is extremely handy for Slimbridge wetlands where we had a very enjoyable visit. The adjoining pub is handy for evening meals pretty good bar food, the breakfast was enjoyable but I would have liked to have seen them using local produce and stating it on the menu.
The room was beatifully decorated and the furniture was extremely nice. A lovely bed and shower also.
There is a canal right behind the pub where you can enjoy a walk along the tow path.
All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiitscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a great B&B if you are thinking of visiting the WWT at Slimbrige, just 10 mins walk down the road.
The rooms are exceptional and very clean. The people who run this establishment are very helpful indeed.
Our only very small complaint is that the Pub menu lacked any Salads as a main meal.
Surrounding area is great for long walks along the canal, 2 mins from the Pub.
We would highly recomend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanesdaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We drove past a few months ago+thought we should stay. We stayed for one night as a halfway journey stop! Well, it was an extremely busy night, no spaces in the car park. We had a bar snack, but could have had an evening meal, serve til 2100, we were allowed to take drinks etc to our lovely suite, with 2 sofas, lovely memory foam bed. Flat screen tv, easy to work, very clean+attention to detail. Shower, was easy to use, fixed to wall, with a flexi head, set at 38 degrees, plenty warm enough, with good pressure. Warm+cosy, excellent value for money, drinks were a wide range, also cheaper than expected. Breakfast was included, couldn't fault the breakfast, service a little slow sometimes due to popular demand. We have already discussed a return visit in a couple of months, very much wish to stay again, booking most definitely needed.
Why can't all the B+B's we stay at be this good! Very pleased to highly recommend them!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouskasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night to beak our journey to Devon - a great choice. The Tudor Arms is a large pub with a caravan site behind it, so the restaurant is busy. The rooms are in the adjouring "Lodge" We were delighted with the standard and size of the room. The bathroom was a good size with a great shower and very comfortable bed. Despite the pub being busy, there was no noise in the room. The food was good pub grub. An excellent stop-over - we will certainly stay here again on our journey to the South West

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife and I found the Tudor Arms online. It sits alongside the Gloucester-Sharpness canal just over a mile from the A38 and easily accessible from the M5. It's only half a mile from the Slimbridge Wetland and Wildfowl Trust's 800 acres - our reason for visiting. The Tudor Arms is a high quality pub-hotel with friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent facilities. It's great for bed-and-breakfast, but the decent evening menu is marred by being a bit pricy. However, overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Property: The Tudor Arms Lodge
Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing