We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The bedroom was large, comfortable and with good lighting. The weather was pretty cold outside but the room was warm. The bathroom was also a good size, clean and warm with a heated towel rail. The extractor fan rattled rather but went off as soon as the main light was switched off. There was an ancilliary mirror light which comes on as you open the bathroom door - a nice touch for night time visits!

The breakfast was cooked for you - not a buffet - and was excellent. There was also a choice of kippers. The food in the pub was really good pub food - not fancy but really tasty and large enough to satisfy after a good day's walking. The choice of real ale was excellent.

Ideal for walking and visiting the bird sanctuary - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place was unexpected.

The rooms are very comfortably appointed, although I am not absolutely certain about the deep memory foam beds. Beautiful solid wood furniture.

Good breakfast. Service in evening was a bit slow

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebbyABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here overnight with friends and received a lovely welcome in the pub on arrival. We started with coffee and then stayed on for lunch. After checking in to our rooms, we had an easy walk along the canal but didn't quite get to Sheerness as planned. The room was very comfortable and had a small sitting area which was very useful and we even had a small drinks party before dinner. We also enjoyed our evening meal and slept well. The breakfast was really excellent too. As previous reviewers have said, it is ideal for those wishing to visit Slimbridge and we had a wonderful day there in brilliant sunshine. A great choice for a quiet break in the country.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gathornegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Located about 400 yds from the Wetlands Trust entrance it was ideal for Sunday lunch after spending 4 hours in the frosty weather walking around the Wetlands trust site.
Very busy pub, best to reseve a table, with a good choice of beers and food.
Main menu only served until 2pm on Sunday and again from 6pm. Portions were geneous and very tasty, although we had to wait 30 mins as it was busy, however we had been warned in advance so not a problem.
Would imagine it would get very busy in the summer, given the number of people there on a frosty Februay day

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Many thanks for your feedback, which is always welcome. As you have guessed we do get extremely busy on weekends and during the summer months & school holidays. It is always advisable to book a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very comfortable room in a separate building adjacent to the pub.
Shower – not particular powerful but could be very hot.
Comfortable bed.
Tea and coffee and biscuits replenished daily.
Excellent breakfast – cereal, fruit, cooked breakfast, toast, tea/coffee.
Very good meals at the pub itself at reasonable prices – brilliant apricot & cashew nut roast for veggies.
Plenty of parking spaces.
Two pool tables.
Good range of real ales as well as Guinness and lagers.
Within walking distance of Slimbridge Wetlands Centre and also adjacent to the canal for easy walks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBikersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excellent accomodation with luxury bathroom. Mattress so comfortable. The Tudor Arms is superbly placed for walking to the Slimbridge reserve. Very quiet despite being full. The staff were also lovely to us when we had to leave a day early due to a sudden family illness. The food in the pub is good (the beef was really tasty and good quality) and there are real ales and ciders on offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that your Relation is recovering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed for one night when travelling up to yorkshire. It is extremely handy for Slimbridge wetlands where we had a very enjoyable visit. The adjoining pub is handy for evening meals pretty good bar food, the breakfast was enjoyable but I would have liked to have seen them using local produce and stating it on the menu.
The room was beatifully decorated and the furniture was extremely nice. A lovely bed and shower also.
There is a canal right behind the pub where you can enjoy a walk along the tow path.
All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiitscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
696 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
444 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing