We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a weekend break fab.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a weekend break fab.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Everything about this lodge and the pub next to it is a wonderful way to spend a long weekend relaxed with nice walks along the canal. The evening can be taken up by having one of many glorious meals and plenty of banter in the bar with the locals

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms but i would try to book a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Just a small note: We do not have any rooms which overlook the canal unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    56
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
125
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our family and friends recently stayed at the Tudor Arms Lodge for our daughters wedding 'week'. Every room,Twin, Double or Family rooms were fantastic, very spacious, very well furnished and what can I say about the beds !!! They were fantastic, it was just like sleeping on air !! Everyone agreed they had never had a better nights sleep ! Bathrooms, very clean and modern with all modern fitments.
The whole package was great, All the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and all with a smile ! The food in the restaurant was excellent, breakfasts, lunches and evening dinner all excellent quality and service, we just did not want to eat anywhere else ! We will definitely be making ourselves regular customes of the Tudor Arms, would not want to stay anywhere else !

Room Tip: I cannot say that the top floor was quieter than the ground floor as we have stayed on both floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stay here with work frequently during the spring/summer months.
The quality of the rooms are excellent (far better than a 4star down the road I also use).
Service is always warm and friendly and the food is hearty (breakfast is my fave).
Wonderful walks in the vicinity of the pub along the canal too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Many Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoy coming here and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked last minuite, travelling on the Gloucester Canal. Stopped for lunch which was superb(roast dinner which felt like the best home cooked) booked in to our room which turn out to be beautifully furnished in modern oak with the most comfortable bed i have ever had in a hotel.
Breakfast was outstanding and service was relaxed but friendly and efficient,
On my list for another time if in that area.
Ideal if going to the slimbridge wild fowl reserve, as only a mile down the road. Boat and bike hire on the canal nearby.

Room Tip: All in new anex so i assume all the same. quite country lane so no obvoius late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The bedroom was large, comfortable and with good lighting. The weather was pretty cold outside but the room was warm. The bathroom was also a good size, clean and warm with a heated towel rail. The extractor fan rattled rather but went off as soon as the main light was switched off. There was an ancilliary mirror light which comes on as you open the bathroom door - a nice touch for night time visits!

The breakfast was cooked for you - not a buffet - and was excellent. There was also a choice of kippers. The food in the pub was really good pub food - not fancy but really tasty and large enough to satisfy after a good day's walking. The choice of real ale was excellent.

Ideal for walking and visiting the bird sanctuary - we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place was unexpected.

The rooms are very comfortably appointed, although I am not absolutely certain about the deep memory foam beds. Beautiful solid wood furniture.

Good breakfast. Service in evening was a bit slow

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbyABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here overnight with friends and received a lovely welcome in the pub on arrival. We started with coffee and then stayed on for lunch. After checking in to our rooms, we had an easy walk along the canal but didn't quite get to Sheerness as planned. The room was very comfortable and had a small sitting area which was very useful and we even had a small drinks party before dinner. We also enjoyed our evening meal and slept well. The breakfast was really excellent too. As previous reviewers have said, it is ideal for those wishing to visit Slimbridge and we had a wonderful day there in brilliant sunshine. A great choice for a quiet break in the country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gathornegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
4.4 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
165 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
426 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,507 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Property: The Tudor Arms Lodge
Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing