We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have stayed here a number of times for a two night break. It really is a gem. Very comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. Very friendly staff. Attached to a first rate pub with good choice of beers. The breakfast is especially good and individually cooked making a pleasant change from dried out buffett style breakfasts. A stay here is very good value and much better than some much more expensive accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed two nights at the Tudor Arms whilst visiting the nearby bird reserve. It's a lovely inn in beautiful surroundings, lots of nice walks and of course the Slimbridge wetlands. The room was lovely, although those with a bad back like me will find a soft bed is not good for them! One minor niggle was I couldn't hook up with the Wifi for some reason. Excellent good value meals at the Inn and a great breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our two children age four and one. We had specifically requested the flat as we thought this would be more spacious. A few days before we were due to arrive they phoned to make sure we were happy with this, which we thought was lovely attention to detail.

The flat is actually in a separate block over the road, which was fine for us. The accommodation comprised a living area, two bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen that included a washing machine and small bathroom. The bath was half size which our four-year-old found hilarious. There was a separate shower cubicle too. The flat was cleaned daily with coffee etc. topped up. The only issue we had was that none of the three televisions worked. We reported the problem and it was resolved the next day.

The location is just beautiful, and we took full advantage of being within walking distance of Slimbridge WWT.

We had a lovely break here, and would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leftthecatathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

had our third stay at the tudor this august and like before we experienced the same scenario.the rooms here are great, large comfortable and great ensuite. breakfast one of the best you will have. unfortunately apart from ben the staff have not got a clue, when booking in on arrival you will be in a queue of diners waiting to be served. 20 minutes we waited this time!!! the food at night is not great and you have to wait some time. also you cannot tell who are staff from a customer. we think that this hotel could be great with just a few minor alterations.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank radarEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a lovely room. Wonderful furnishings. Clean. Nice seating area. I could go on and on. Oh - except why was there only one pair of slippers in the room when there were two people staying?
The breakfast was slightly disappointing. We had lovely filtered coffee with the evening meal but had to put up with stewed machine coffee at breakfast. My pet hate -microwaved scrambled eggs. However the fresh fruit salad was actually fresh instead of the usual tinned variety. The best I've had in a hotel. The service was variable - the younger staff were lovely the older staff slightly less cheerful. Overall, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple1234186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Couple, early sixties, stayed for one night B&B. Friendly welcome on arrival. Good, large room with good quality furnishings and spacious bathroom. Really soft bed - a bit too soft for me - but very comfortable. Ate in restaurant for evening meal - good quality food and value for money too. Good crowd and good atmosphere in the bar from people from local camp site and boat moorings. Breakfast cooked to order and so it was both hot and nourishing - also a good range of cereals and fruit and beverages. great place to stay for one, or even a few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRPWashington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Tudor Arms falls between two stools; It has neither that cosy family-feel of a small B&B, nor does it have the smooth efficiency of a corporate overnighter such as a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are large, well equipped and clean - but annoying touches like the cheap electric shower which has pressure, or heat - but not both, spoil the overall effect. Breakfast is served in the conservatory, which sounds great until you find that the conservatory overlooks the large car park at the rear of the pub. The full English breakfast was motorway service station standard: You get a lot on your plate - but it was lacking the finess of a home cooked, locally sourced ingredient breakfast you would expect from an £85 per night four or five star B&B. Three Stars is OK when you are expecting three Stars; but from the over-effusive write ups of our fellow Trip Advisor travellers, we were expecting more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveySheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing