We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the best kept secrets in the uk. Great value for money, very comfortable, very clean with good quality furniture, fixtures and fittings. All completed by a breakfast that really sets you up for the day!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    53
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
123
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed overnight after visiting WWT Slimbridge, our third stayover here. All the staff are helpful, welcoming and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean, as we've become to expect. After a long day visiting WWT Slimbridge or walk across canal, this is an ideal location. Our eveining meal was excellent as was breakfast. Will come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed one night after visit to Slimbridge WWT over Easter weekend. There was a slight delay in booking in when we arrived as they were very busy but soon sorted within 5 minutes. Had room 11 - very spacious and spotlessly clean. Staff asked if we were eating at night and would be best to book a table as they were busy. Booked us a table in one of the small rooms but we later moved to a table in main bar. The service and quality of the food (including breakfast) was excellent. When we checked out, we again received an apology for the delay on our arrival. Would recommend this to eat or stay without hesitation.
Well done to all staff / management - lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a second floor corner room and benefits from dual aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed 27/28 Feb 2013.
Stayed overnight after visiting WWT Slimbridge. 2nd Stay here.
Location is very well placed, quiet and out of the way.
Staff are very welcoming and friendly.
Room Spacious and Clean.
Ideal location if going to WWT Slimbridge or walk across canal.
Breakfast is good & filling.
Well recomeded and will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I found the Tudor Arms via both Trip Advisor and CAMRA, both full of praise and rightly so.
I telephoned to discuss and reserve a double room and the young lady at the TudormArms couldn't have been mor helpful or friendly and that gives you confidence befor you get there. The lodge reception was unstaffed when we arrived so we went into the bar where there was just one person serving and,despite being very busy, gave us quick and friendly service. The room was terrific and the only minor criticism was that the light levels were a little low for reading in the lounge area. Having our own small B&B in Wales, we understand the surprisingly large number of guests who turn on all the lights and then leave the room; not Eco-friendly and surprisingly expensive on the power bill so we cannot criticise.
We were really surprised to be able to take our two dogs into the room at a very reasonable charge and actually had ask them to recalculate the bill as they were only going to charge for one.
Booking out was easy and the customer service just as good as ever and the value for money outstanding, we really appreciated the memory foam mattress and have decided that we must have one as well.
As the Tmudor Arms is so close to Slimbridge Water and Wetlands reserve, we will be going back on quite a regular basis.

Room Tip: Take the advice of the staff, they are helpful, curteous and honest..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a great find..................excellent pub, serving good food and ale, with warm and cosy accomodation. The staff were friendly, helpful and the service was first class. The room was spotlessly clean, modern, beautifully furnished, very cosy and comfortable. The pub restaurant offered an extensive menu and the food was wholesome, tasty and well cooked. Service was very good and prompt. All in all the Tudor Arms is a little gem of a place to which we will be returning as soon as time allows.
Many thanks to all the staff and hopefully see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I cannot fault this B&B and pub! Excellent service, accomodation and very friendly and helpful staff. The location alongside the canal and WWT Slimbridge on the doorstep is very handy and surprisingly quiet given the traffic to and from WWT Slimbridge. Will certainly highl;y recommend to friends and family and a return visit will be a certainty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
659 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,452 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Property: The Tudor Arms Lodge
Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing