We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed att his place a coupe of times and will definitely go again. The area is beautiful, and being so near to Slimbridge wildlife and wetlands centre there is lots to see. Also the canal nearby is a nice spot for a walk.
More importantly the rooms are big and fitted out really beautifully, the beds are comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms are clean and contain everything you might need.
I recommend this place. Go and try it out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Visited the Tudor arms for a meal with some friends. Staff were happy to help and polite. Any queries I had they were glad to attend to my needs very quickly. Good range of local and two guest ales and ciders. Food was perfect, excellent menu, Not much of a wait and generously portioned! Some would say too much food, all in all a very good meal. Definitely visit there again very soon and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Victoria_atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Looking for a pub to meet a friend for lunch this looked perfect, but we met with unwelcoming, unsmiling staff who looked as if they wanted to be somewhere else! "Who's next" was the cry from the barmaid after a lengthy wait in a queue of one. The food wasn't bad but when we asked for a pepper mill the waiter said they didn't have one - but did return with a small pinch pot from the kitchen. However, it was when we asked for coffee that we realized our custom was obviously a huge inconvenience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for Badmington weekend. Lovely room, nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable bed.
Pub meals are good and generously portioned. Even in a very large group service was still good. Breakfast had a buffet of cereal/fruits and help yourself team and coffee. Menu items were cooked quickly. The bar has a large range of ales and local ciders which are absolutely lethal!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We chose the Tudor Arms as a base for a visit to the Wetlands and Wildlife Trust venue at Slimbridge. We were very impressed to say the least. The accommodation was in a lodge next to the pub. The room was quite large and the bed had a memory foam mattress which was very comfortable. Breakfast was served in the conservatory of the pub, which consisted of the usual cereals, toast and full English breakfast. The pub itself was a real ale pub serving some 6 local beers and 4 ciders. The meals were freshly prepared and were very good value. We had booked as it was close to the WWT centre, and was probably only a 10 minute walk over the canal and down a country lane. I would recommend this hotel for anyone planning a trip to the WWT centre and for walking down the canal as it is only about 10 miles from Gloucester. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_M1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed here one night during a business trip.
It is a lovely place in the Gloucestershire countryside.
The rooms are completely refurbished and the style is original and "warm" (all wooden furniture). Nice flat screen, all the toilet "necessaire" is there and everything is very very clean.
We also had dinner and breakfast there: the food was genuine and I loved it (I had a roasted duck at dinner that was excellent). Really great value for money, that's why it deserves a 5 in its category.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Spent two days at the WWT Slimbridge staying at the Tudor Arms Lodge & Free house. Room was as good as a 4 star hotel. Food was excellent almost too much No need for a starter. The staff were very friendly even though they were very busy especially when we arrived Sunday mid afternoon when they had a busy Sunday lunch time
Would recommend it to anyone, and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Adviced to book a table if eating in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
693 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
442 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing