We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed here for the conveninet access to WWT Slimbridge - I had meetings there with an early start.
What a great location not just for the access to WWT, but also the pleasant canalside walk, and general great British countryside, I would visit here again for pleasure.
The Tudor Arms not only does location. The rooms were well presented, and quiet - despite being within a pub. The actual accomodation is in an adjacent annex, so you escape the noise of a busy pub. The general facilities were excellent. I though the breakfast could be improved, but it was still very good. The night before I ate in the bar with colleagues, and the food was average pub grub, hearty and well priced, but nothing special. The beer was excellent, and this place is a must of you are a real ale fan.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    55
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
125
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. All staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast very good and dinner excellent.Canal side. Lovely countryside. Relaxing atmosphere. Good value for money. Short walk to Wetland Centre.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have stayed here many times and can assure you we will be back. Great rooms, clean, really nicely decorated and very comfortable beds.
The food and ale/cider brilliant. The breakfast is fantastic.
Amazing canal side position. The staff are friendly and polite.
All in all a wonderful weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed att his place a coupe of times and will definitely go again. The area is beautiful, and being so near to Slimbridge wildlife and wetlands centre there is lots to see. Also the canal nearby is a nice spot for a walk.
More importantly the rooms are big and fitted out really beautifully, the beds are comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms are clean and contain everything you might need.
I recommend this place. Go and try it out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Visited the Tudor arms for a meal with some friends. Staff were happy to help and polite. Any queries I had they were glad to attend to my needs very quickly. Good range of local and two guest ales and ciders. Food was perfect, excellent menu, Not much of a wait and generously portioned! Some would say too much food, all in all a very good meal. Definitely visit there again very soon and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Looking for a pub to meet a friend for lunch this looked perfect, but we met with unwelcoming, unsmiling staff who looked as if they wanted to be somewhere else! "Who's next" was the cry from the barmaid after a lengthy wait in a queue of one. The food wasn't bad but when we asked for a pepper mill the waiter said they didn't have one - but did return with a small pinch pot from the kitchen. However, it was when we asked for coffee that we realized our custom was obviously a huge inconvenience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for Badmington weekend. Lovely room, nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable bed.
Pub meals are good and generously portioned. Even in a very large group service was still good. Breakfast had a buffet of cereal/fruits and help yourself team and coffee. Menu items were cooked quickly. The bar has a large range of ales and local ciders which are absolutely lethal!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
4.4 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
669 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
164 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Property: The Tudor Arms Lodge
Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing