We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent as always !”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Knowing that I had a course to attend at Oldbury Power Station, this was my first choice to stay. I have stayed here before, business and pleasure, and nothing is too much trouble for the owners and staff. The bar is very well stocked with real ales and ciders, Black Rat being my favourite !
The rooms are to an excellent standard, no expenses spared, even supplied a pair of slippers.
The food was that good, I didn't even bother to look any where else, I ate there all week.
You couldn't have asked for more, well done

Room Tip: A little place of luxury, that I don't really want to share, just in case I cant get in again wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David13bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    51
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
120
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we have stayed at tudor arms many times over the years, 5 times this year and never get fed up of it, love the place and area, the food is very good including the breakfast, we have been in family room, double rooms and even the apartment and can't fault any of them, well equipped and very comfortable, the staff are friendly and will certainly be going there for many times to come

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

First time we have stayed here,very enjoyable stay,rooms were spotlessly clean,staff very friendly,great location by the canal and just coiuple of minutes from the wildfowl trust,food was excellent,to be let down a bit by mediocre desserts,but overall a reall y great place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidlBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FARNHAM, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were staying at the same time as a group of 12 friends, most were staying here but others in another b&b nearby. The bed was very comfortable and there were details such as having a small plug in radiator in the room for if it got chilly and a fan for if it got hot! I also particularly liked the soft light that came on automatically if you went in the bathroom - saved groping around for a light switch in the dark. Solid contemporary furniture and good fittings. Breakfast was in the conservatory of the adjoining pub and was substantial and good. We also ate with our friends in the pub both evenings and we enjoyed both meals that we had - good pub grub. Wine was reasonably priced too. Pub was dog friendly. Staff were smiling and friendly in a natural way. All good!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 were downstairs, 7-12 upstairs. We were in room 11 which might have been a little larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidFARNHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a pub with a separate building for accommodation. This is the second time we have stayed here and the quality of accommodation and service has been consistently good. It is also good value for money.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopards_cheetahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

For our first visit to Slimbridge WWT (Wetland and Widlife Trust) my wife and I chose to stay at the Tudor Arms, which is less that one mile away from the gates of the WWT.

The Tudor Arms is a popular pub, hotel, restaurant and a caravan park on the banks of the Sharpness Canal, and has excellent reviews from a variety of sources.

After a day at the the WWT, we went tinto the bar, were checked in by Ben and shown to our room (Room2) in a wing adjacent to the hotel. The room was modern, spacious, extremely well appointed with a huge king sized bed. All the furniture in the room was matching oak and an enormous flat screen TV on the wall. The bathroom was modern, well sized, with stainless steel appliances and a heated mirror with LCD lights (Must get one) King size towels, all the extras you would imagine so no complaints about the room whatsoever, infact it is one of the most well appointed and spotlessly clean room we have ever stayed in.

We booked a table for dinner at 8pm, which was fortunate because the restaurant was packed. Our table for two was in the wiindow overlooking the road, and was just right for us, both private and spacious. The menu was extensive, very reasonably priced and a 'specials' board was also available above the bar. You have to order food and wine at the bar and because the pub is busy, there was a short wait as you would expect, but nothing to complain about.

Our food was delivered to our table by two separate waitresses who were professional, smiling, and polite, apologising for the short delay. Our starters and main courses were excellent, piping hot and well presented, and overall dinner was of a very high standard.

A great nights sleep and a breakfast in the conservatory fit for a king.

Great hotel, superb bedroom, great food and service and great value.

Great for couples and families and if I was on business in the area on my own I would stop there as well.

We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: This is a popular pub, restaurant and hotel so do expect to wait for your dinner, it's cooked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have stayed here quite a few times over the years whilst visiting friends in the area. It really is a little gem. The rooms are of a quality you would expect in a much more expensive hotel. Staff are friendly and the breakfast is top rate, individually cooked. Previously I had problems with the Wifi but not this time. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Property: The Tudor Arms Lodge
Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing