We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food and drink, locals could do better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We love the range and quality of food at the Tudor Arms. Very dog friendly and lovely staff. There are always a number of vegetarian options available, and the discounted early evening menu is great value. A good range of well looked after real ales make it treat for something different.
Lots of space to sit in the dining area, even with the dog, and a large outside area for smokers or just to get some fresh air. Location next to the canal and a short walk from Slimbridge Wetlands centre is fantastic.
My only gripe is that the locals tend to congregate around the till which sometimes means customers struggle to reach the counter to order or pay for their food. The conversation is often a little coarse around the bar which is off putting for more gentile visitors. Perhaps a rule that locals keep the area around the till clear would be all that is needed.
Overall, a great pub (known locally as 'The Patch' if you get confused).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked 2 double rooms at the Tudor Arms Lodge after reading recommendations on Trip Advisor. They have got it exactly right - We were not disappointed at all. The Lodge is an annexe to the pub which makes it a quieter place to sleep. The rooms were lovely with fabulous wooden furniture, comfortable sofas and memory foam beds. Everything you need is in the room, hot drinks by way of a refreshment tray and kettle, bottled water, toiletries, hot towels, hair dryer, slippers and clock. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings, the food was good and a reasonable price, accompanied by real ale beer. Breakfast again provided everything you could want. A lovely setting and only 15 minutes walk from the wetland which was our reason for staying. (We didn't need to use the car). A long way to go from York but hope we can go again possibly for a longer visit. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Dorado1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited two years ago and were very impressed. We returned again this April and were pleased to find that it is still very good value for money, with young, friendly, helpful and professional staff. The rooms are excellent, the beds very comfortable and there is plenty of hot water for a bath or shower. Nice touch to add complimentary toiletries, too, as well as a kettle and tea/coffee supplies. Excellent walk to the WWT centre. The pub is clearly popular and very busy, but the BB accommodation is beside it, and therefore quiet and tranquil. Lovely to have fresh fruit salad for breakfast, but as somebody who never eats a cooked breakfast, it would have perhaps been nice to have better quality coffee and bread, but I recognise I am in a minority here. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5 had two windows. A blackbird sang every evening beside the corner one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is clearly a very popular place, both with visitors and locals, but our room was an oasis of peace and quiet. The rooms are in an attractive annexe, with very comfortable beds and lovely wooden furniture (which I wouldn't mind at home!)
We enjoyed two excellent evening meals,and breakfast was also of a high standard. As the pub is so popular, it became very lively in the evenings, and we struggled to find a quiet spot, but this is only a minor niggle.
The main reason for visiting was the Slimbridge Wildlife and Wetlands Centre, only a 10 minute walk from the Tudor Arms, and there are also good walks along the nearby canal. We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor so was very convenient. There was only a view of a wooden fence bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanR646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Found by chance as we wanted to visit Slimbridge. Since then have visited several times. Rooms of very highest standard; cannot be faulted. Very friendly service and good food. Main building apparently old, but modernised very unsympathetically. Plastic replacement windows, brick pattern wallpaper, bric a brac from a car boot sale and overall beige theme. Such a shame! Interesting skittle alley.Clearly caters for huge numbers, including caravans, in summer. Very close to canal - beautiful walks in both directions. If visiting Slimbridge, suggest leave your car in car park and walk the10 minutes down the road so you can admire the medieval farm landscape.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Was travelling for work and needed somewhere to stay in Gloucester area. Tudor arms was accommodating, friendly and comfortable. Easy place to stay on your own as they look after you. Would happily go back, and hopefully visit Wildfowl and wetlands Trust.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southdown_hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I came across the tudor arms by accident an im glad I did the beer is fantastic the food is gorgeous an recently changed menu.
The staff all very friendly and chatty
Great place to visit.
Even better that they have accomadation but if your a little bit more adventurous its also connected to camp site which is busy too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
694 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
443 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing