We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beer n food, well worth a look”
Review of The Tudor Arms

The Tudor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Slimbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated just 800 yards from the world famous Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, and yards from the banks of the Gloucester-Sharpness Canal, The Tudor Arms is open for breakfast from 8:00 am and serves main meals from 12:00 until 9:00 pm. We serve a wide selection of ,mostly local, real ales, ciders and perries along with soft drinks and spirits.
worcs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great beer n food, well worth a look”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

sunday roast big and well presented, great gravey like mother made. not the chapeat but well worth it, real ales good, service good, would deff go again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    108
    40
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hungry and thirsty”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The sausage salad I ate, had a pleasant surprise included. For the first time ever, I found strawberries present, which worked exceptionally well. The real ale on offer was very well kept and the range of beers on offer could not be faulted.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank moonrakerphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A typical English pub in a lovely location and with plenty of car parking so, what is there not to like... The problem was that the staff and there was plenty seemed more interested in what they were doing than me as a customer. No one would look at me and as I was the only one at the bar I had to ask for a drink and it took at least 5 mins. Food however was nice and good choice but the atmosphere was very lacking..
A warm night and the beer seemed to be at room temperature.Nice outside seating and it is dog friendly so that saves the day. In my humble opinion good staff training and a smile would work wonders as it has great location, location

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnPeter627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely location for a drink and food after a walk along the canal tow path. Pub was reasonably busy the evening we went, but there were plenty of staff on duty serving. Just a pity they were not a little more welcoming and friendly, the only smile we had all evening was from the very pleasant young lady who actually delivered our food. Meal was ok, the beef stroganoff was really tasty (but at over £12 it needed to be good); the lamb curry not so exciting, a bit bland and "watery". Good selection of beers. Had to ask for our table to be wiped down - had been cleared after previous diners but no one had bothered to wipe it.

With so many other pubs around, can't honestly see me returning here too soon. Not enough attention to detail and no smiles!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A large pub with plenty of parking”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Half a dozen real ales, several real ciders, only wish it was next door so I wouldn't need to drive home. A very nice well prepared Ploughman's was my choice, well presented what's not to like, highly recommended after a good day at Slimbridge Wildlife Trust. Right by a canal too which must be good for viewing the barges passing and right by a caravan park. Reminder to self check out the prices for a stay at said caravan site.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristleposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor Arms also viewed

Stonehouse, Stroud
Dursley, Cotswolds
 
Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Tudor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing