We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa and great pool”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and pool
The private pool The courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Villa and pool
The private pool
The courtyard
The courtyard
Living room - view 1
Living room- view 2
The pool at night
The kitchen
The breakfast area
The entrance and dining area
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedrom
The bathroom
Poolside
Poolside
The view from the pool area
The archway
Upper walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gharb, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs H S
1 review
“Lovely villa and great pool”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a fantastic time at the villa, which was clean and organised. The kitchen was very easy to use, great fridge and freezer. The grocery welcome pack was a lovely surprise. All bedrooms were very well air-conditioned and there were lots of towels. The downstairs shower was great (as was the upstairs bathroom) - we just used it more. We took a small amount of clothes so used the washing machine and that worked out really well as it dried in no time! Our teenagers liked lying down in the sitting room using the wifi when it was too hot. I found the villa very comfortable, like a home from home. The outside seating was good too and we used the bbq. The pool was wonderful and appreciated the pool man coming to clean it. We also loved the quiet, calm location and wonderful view. Of course we loved the beaches (Ramla and Hondoq) and Dwejra too. Great snorkelling. Natasha, the housekeeper, was fantastic and very efficient getting back to us with air-conditioning and any queries we had. We used about 10-11 euros a night for air-conditioning (it was a heatwave) for 3 bedrooms. The owner, Juginder, was quick to respond and very knowledgeable. I found his written instructions accurate and helpful too. I also liked seeing his art around the house. It was a great villa and we would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible rental property in a lovely quiet village”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The property is a fabulous restoration of a traditional Gozitan farmhouse, preserving many of the historical architectural features and embellished with some of the owner's sculptures. Jurginder, the owner, was extremely helpful in the run-up to the holiday, organising our taxi-transfers and car hire.
The house is comfortable and has most things you'd expect. There is no dishwasher, so we were able to introduce our teenage boys to the joys of washing up by hand! The courtyard was a lovely place to take our meals; we enjoyed feeding the little lizards who emerged to beg for scraps as we ate. The beds are comfortable, although you will require AC to sleep comfortably during the heat of summer. The AC is metered, activated by prepaid cards available from the housekeeper, Natasha, who is really friendly and always eager to help.
The pool is a decent size, nice and deep, with lots of chairs and loungers on the surrounding patio. The views across the valley to Gharb are enchanting, especially in the evening when the light is failing.
The farmhouse is about a 10 minute slow walk (it was hot!) out of the centre of Gharb, which has 4 bar/restaurants and a mini-mart. The mini-mart has most essentials, but for a big shop I recommend Lidl on the other side of Victoria.
We ate most nights in the Gharb Rangers bar. The food is tasty, with reasonably-priced, good-sized portions. The view from the roof terrace across to Ta Pinu are wonderful in the evening. The staff are friendly, especially the manager who shares my passion for good whiskey. They also have a reasonable selection of bottled Black Sheep beer - a little taste of home. Of the other restaurants, Il Kunvent is a family-run establishment near the main church. It has well-priced good food, although the service can be a little hit-and-miss when they get busy. The food and service in Grazie Mille is spot-on, although it is considerably more expensive than the other offerings in town.
I recommend signing up for a wine-tasting session at the Tal-massar winery, which is just around the corner from the farmhouse. Very enjoyable.
All-in-all a great place to spend a relaxing couple of weeks. Thanks Jurginder!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katenorsk
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic house & holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We were rather nervous about travelling for the first time with our 8 month old daughter but everything went very smoothly. The direct transfers the kind owner organised for us from the airport made the journey relatively painless & the car rental he had also arranged for us meant that we could explore Gozo stressfree. The welcome pack waiting for us on arrival was most useful as we arrived at 1am on a Sunday. However, most importantly, the house was utterly delightful. The weather was beautiful so we spent most of our time swimming in the lovely deep pool or relaxing in the sheltered courtyard. The flowers were beautiful & it felt very private. It was lovely to have so much outdoor space for ourselves. The bedroom we used was comfortable & our daughter slept surprisingly well despite the heat. There was snow on the ground when we left Norway so we very much enjoyed showing her the flowers & the smell of jasmine in the courtyard was heavenly. We went on lovely walks along the coast & enjoyed the small village of Gharb. We ended up mostly eating in so it was great to have a well equipped kitchen. We hope to come back in the future & are very grateful to the owner, especially for his patience in answering my frequent pre-travel queries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
So delighted that your holiday, and your stay at our villa, was a great success.We know how stressful it can be travelling with a young baby, so it was important for us to try and eliminate as much of this stress as possible so you could just concentrate on enjoying your stay. Also delighted that the villa provided for all your needs and comfort, and that you were struck by its charm. But then, we too think its a beautiful villa and we try and maintain it to a high standard. We are most fortunate in being able to avail the services of David from TRAC (transfers & car hire), and his unstinting kindness and helpfulness. We look forward to welcoming you back at any time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 May 2017
I also delighted that you and your friends had such wonderful stay at our villa. As you say the villa is beautiful, comfortable, and private. We know that these qualities are important so do all we can to maintain them in order to provide a relaxed stress free environment. It was a pleasure to have you stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ElbyRevie...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect villa and experience.”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2016

This villa has a quality that is memorable. It has a mesmerising view, a homely feel and an elegance that can affect you immediately. We went with old friends and had an excellent time, seeing the unspoilt island of Gozo. It was our second stay there, with many years between visits. We were most surprised to see that little on the island has changed, which was wonderful. The villa is located far from the harbour, on the top part of Gozo, so is away from any hustle and bustle. It is a quiet location, with farmland, an impressive coastal area and a mixture of different architecture to investigate. In the evening, after sunset, you can see the churches on the island lit up and bells ringing from them throughout the day add a good atmosphere of calm.

The owner kindly sorted our transfer from the airport and our car hire so the journey to the villa was stress free. It is nice to hire a place from such good people - Juginder was very helpful as we arranged our holiday there. You will need to hire a car to get around and see the island’s stunning landscapes and pretty towns.

On the island there are superb beaches, which have a pleasant breeze at times, making the heat very comfortable to bear. The weather is beautiful throughout the year (and in April and May it’s not too hot for very young children). The people are very friendly and the fact that Malta used to be a British colony means that virtually all people speak English. There are still the old red telephone boxes and post boxes around the villages.

Evenings can be spent by the pool, with the beautiful flowering plants, under the arches in the courtyard, in the cosy lounge after dinner, or at nearby restaurants. The bedrooms are immaculate, with plenty of storage space and can be reached by two staircases, one from the courtyard and one from inside the villa. There is a handy downstairs shower in the laundry room, for when you need to quickly shower after being in the pool or have been sunbathing. Nearby you can buy food from a small supermarket, to cook in the villa, to serve either indoors or outdoors. Go to the Bugeja fishmarket at Ghajnsielem early in the morning if you intend to cook an evening meal, since they have a huge range of fresh fish - perfect to cook on the BBQ after a day out.

Places to visit are the Ġgantija Temples, then the amazing rock formations, the diving caves, the capital Rabat’s Citadella and beaches such as San Blas. Historically there is a lot to learn from the island. In Rabat the views from the ramparts are impressive - photographers love to view the landscape from an ariel viewpoint. The best restaurant that we found by chance, is an amazing one called ‘Il Gabbiano’ at the end of Marsalforn Bay, where you can get beautiful pasta dishes.

It is a superb villa, with a perfect location and character; a hideaway from all you wish to leave behind in order to relax. Perfect! We will be going back as soon as we possibly can.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
Thank you for your most positive response. Clearly, your holiday was a great success and you enjoyed your stay at our villa, and fell for the beauty and charm of Gozo and its friendly people. We are delighted that our villa delivered all you required and that you had a comfortable and inspiring stay. We do try and do all we can to make your stay as relaxed and comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaryH2310
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky but not my cup of tea”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The booking was very quick and efficient. The farm house has been beautifully and lovingly converted. The courtyard and pool areas are full of mature plants and are private and peaceful (except when the local deaf farmer has his afternoon banter session with his friend haha). The house is equiped with everything you need, clean and tidy. Driving is easy in Gozo so hiring a car is recommended but the bus stop is just up the road and best used if visiting the main town of Victoria as parking is strictly time limited there.
The novelty of remembering the one key to lock the bedrooms and the outside balcony door to the internal spiral stone staircase soon wore off as did having to go outside in the dark to visit the bathroom - you could use the balcony lights but then make sure you're decent :-). Didn't have children with us but would worry at night as all bedroom doors only open onto the balcony and steep stone steps leading to the courtyard and pool area (there is a gate from the courtyard to pool area though). Going in September did mean that the beautiful plants in the mature garden were shedding leafs, flowers and accompanying bugs. As the pool is only cleaned twice a week (can pay extra for more cleans), you will spend a lot of time cleaning it yourself! Also remember that housekeeping during your stay is extra so if you don't want to change your own bedding then expect to pay more.
All that said, if none of this bothers you, then this is an amazing place for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful and restful
Liked least: Constant cleaning of the pool (leafs, dirt and bugs blowing in due to time of year)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate. We are delighted that you found the villa charming, well equipped for all your needs, and comfortable. We do state quite clearly that this is a self catering villa, so it should not be a surprise that you have to make up your own beds and change the sheets etc. This, of course, not only helps to keep the rental costs down, but allows complete privacy during the guests stay - something which most guests prefer and value. We also make it quite clear that the pool is cleaned twice a week during the summer months. Most pools in Gozo villa are only cleaned once a week. Sometimes it can be windy and leaves will fall into the pool. A net is provided so these can be scooped out before they sink to the bottom. We hope this is a small price to pay for having lush plantings of beautiful plants and trees which, not only enhance to pool area and provide shade, but also create a screen around the pool area making it very private. Perhaps staying in a hotel, where you do not have to do anyhing, may have been a better option than renting a self catering. villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing