We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Penmon Pool by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penmon Pool by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Penmon Pool by night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Gharb, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
janninemc...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from this wonderful farmhouse. We travelled with friends and there was 8 of us in total. The pool was amazing and the facilities excellent. Mark was so friendly and helpful, he met us at the airport. We had the upstairs double and it was really comfortable. The bathroom was wonderful, the kitchen and eating areas well equipped. It was spacious and very clean. I would recommend this property to everyone. Thank you for a lovely base for our holiday. Jannine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derynlynn
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic farmhouse as described in the particulars. Very clean and spacious. Mark and Nancy (owner and housekeeper) went out of their way to be helpful and were the perfect hosts. Unfortunately I didn't research Malta enough and didn't realise that the pools and sea would be too cold to swim in in April. Although we were initially disappointed we found lots to do. (pool may be too deep for children who are not confident in water). Gharb is a beautiful village with restaurants and two small shops for everyday provisions. It was so peaceful it was like stepping back in time, for the first time I wanted to stay for ever. Will hopefully be back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulinebe...
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delightful, we all loved the 300 year old farmhouse and Gozo”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute the door was opened and we stepped inside this beautiful house, we had the best holiday!
The house is fantastic. It has charm, character and basically everything we needed.
The bedrooms all have ensuite facility - which is great.
The living areas are spacious and beautiful.
The kitchen is well equipped and easy to use.
The outside pool is gorgeous and well kept.

No complaints!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! By the way - deposit not returned yet - I think it should be 2 weeks
Liked least: Could have done with salt and pepper / washing powder - but i bought and left for next people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zemfru
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Farmhouse but very dusty and we had problems with our stay.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

When I write reviews for Trip Advisor I like to be fair but more importantly, honest.

We have just returned from an 18 day trip to Gozo staying in Penmon Farmhouse. This is our third trip to Gozo but this is the first time we have stayed at this particular Farmhouse. As a family we are very use to old farmhouses in Gozo and are familiar with the Island.

We were 7 adults and 4 children. We chose Penmon Farmhouse as we particularly loved the large swimming and great outdoor space around the pool. Other farmhouses we have stayed in the past have had very small pools so the children were very very excited about this.

As mentioned in my title we did have numerous problems with our stay but the owner Mark always did is best to rectify this in some way. I will talk about the positive and negative in a fair way and hopefully this will give you some idea about the farmhouse.

The farmhouse is in Gharb. This is the first time we have stayed in Gharb and we did find it noisier than other places we have stayed, such as Ghasri. There was noise coming from a couple other properties which did drive us slightly mad especially when Gangnam Style is blasting out of speakers - obviously not the owners fault. It is not private and is overlooked and has no view.

Inside the farmhouse it is very spacious, with a great kitchen area fully equipped. There are 3 great sized bedrooms with 1 much smaller double bedroom downstairs. Family occupying the downstairs bedrooms did not like the 'alfresco' style bathrooms! Basically a partition separating the bedroom from the bathroom so one can hear the other half rather clearly! My sister had a terrible time with dust in this smaller bedroom. Constantly over every surface, all over the sink and toothbrushes etc. She would wipe it away and an hour later, would be covered again. Mark organised for her room to be cleaned but by the next morning would be incredibly dusty again. He organised for some sort of contractor to attend to look at the problem, who didn't turn up, even though we waited all morning for him (on holiday). He later turned up at 8.30pm! We found the farmhouse to be very dusty and our son had to take antihistamines. We have stayed in equally old farmhouses before and never found them to be quite as dusty as this one.

We loved the family bedroom or the kids bedroom as we named it. Very spacious, great bathroom and the best air conditioning in the farmhouse. Beds very comfortable, blankets in the wardrobe in case they got cold. The upstairs double bedroom was very comfortable but terrible air conditioning that was extremely noisy. Mark did arrange for an engineer to call to have a look at it for me as it was not cooling when we first arrived. There are lights in this room that stay on, albeit dimly, all night. I asked Mark about these and he said it was special lighting. These drove me mad as they illuminated the room all night!

We had a wonderful time with the pool until day 5 of our holiday. It was then we had our very own Rio de Janeiro olympic green swimming pool! For the next 10 days we had a very green pool that was very cloudy and a pool man visiting everyday treating it with some sort of cholrine.Very murky and you could not see the bottom.This meant the pool was out of action for approx. 3 hours a day everyday for 10 days! Mark then made the decision to do an entire pool water change which started at 8.30am and ended around 6pm that night. He did apologie, refunded us 200 Euros and sent a lovely birthday cake around to the farmhouse for our son. Once the water was changed, it was back to a beautiful blue colour but unfortunately was far too cold to use and the children, and most of the adults could not swim in it again.

Whilst at the farmhouse, my father sat on one of the plastic sun loungers and they broke. Mark kindly sent over new sunloungers for us. My toilet seat lost part of its fitting and when leaving the farmhouse Mark did not charge us for any of these things.

There is rather a lot of construction work going on around Gozo and around this farmhouse. On one particular day a generator was going for most of the day. Builders were working on a property directly nextdoor to the property. Not very nice havig a swim when men are watching! One morning we discovered a builder on our balcony about to plaster an outside wall. He told us he had permission but thought I would check with Mark. He didn't and Mark dealt with this situation brilliantly, builder packed up and left straightaway. Owners apologised profusely and sent over a lovely box of goodies. There is planning permission just along from the farmhouse garages which we noticed. Again, not the owners fault.

Outside eating area and gazebo is great. Used the bbq a few time and had some lovely family meals.

Parking was always tricky and rarely did we manage to park outside or near the farmhouse. On a number of occasions we had locals knocking on our door asking us to remove our car that was illegally parked and blocking the road. This was never us but locals assumed it was as we were tourists.

We loved Gozo, beautiful beaches, great restaurants and lovely weather. It was just a pity we had to deal with problems on our holiday as it is the last thing you expect to do on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Area around pool.
Liked least: Green swimming pool and builders.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
I found this review to be very unfair since Zemfru chose to point out issues which have nothing to do with our house or us as owners, except for one or two issues, which were dealt with professionally and with courtesy.
Zemfru was one of the MOST difficult clients we ever encountered with demands that were unattainable, from parking issues of which we are not responsible, to other related issues that were caused by third parties and that obviously we have no control over whatsoever.
We acted in an extremely professional manner, and reacted immediately to any claims that came our way, only to find out that most of them were either unrelated, over-exaggerated or plainly misleading.
One can only look at our previous reviews to verify this.
What I cannot comprehend is the fact, that on the day of departure, one of the groups from this family that stayed in our farmhouse had only praise for our house and their stay, and also went as far as saying that they like the place so much, that they were thinking of moving to Gozo for their retirement.
That leaves me speechless after reviewing what Zemfru wrote.
May I suggest to Zemfru, a stay in Comino next time, where there are no parking issues, no noise from feasts, no neighbours, and you can jump straight in the water without washing of your sun cream.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pens U
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Farmhouse”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Mark & Lidia could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Their lovely Farmhouse was exceptionally well presented and formed a fantastic base to see the Island of Gozo from. It was equipped with almost every amenity you could wish for and the pool was stunning providing a welcome retreat from the ever present sunshine.
We had a fabulous holiday and would not hesitate to recommend this holiday home to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mark and Lidia's helpfulness
Liked least: Pool water was cool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie Z
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Farmhouse in Gozo”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband , Elderly mother and myself stayed for ten days at Penmon Farmhouse. it was a lovely quiet getaway that was very much needed. The weather was mixed but mostly warm so we managed to make use of the well sized pool on sunnier days. The property was large and spotlessly clean and was true to the description. Perfect For large groups or families - well thought of kitchen with good cooking facilities. Nice welcome pack of essentials was a great help on our arrival however there are a couple of local food shops and a new Lidl in Victoria. car is advisable in order to see the island and especially for eating out, we spent many nights at Xlendi bay where there is a good selection of restaurants. Lovely friendly and helpful owners helped to make this a very enjoyable stay that I would thoroughly recommend .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space , charm and quiet location
Liked least: That we had to leave !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing