We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Calypso(Marsalforn)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Il-Plajja Hotel(Marsalforn)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cornucopia Hotel(Xaghra)(Great Value!)
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Downtown Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
412
67
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
67
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakesguest housethe buslovely guesthousecooked breakfaststreet noiseamazing breakfastfamily runrain showerold housewonderful hoststartsperiod featuresevery morningsalt panssmall balconymake you feel at home
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had booked for a week in Valetta but were so glad that we took a two night booking on Gozo for some R and R during the week. The Guest House is excellent, we had Room 10 which is large and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and the Guest House is well run by the nicest hostesses in Sonia and Anna. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt more like visiting family than strangers. Twenty paces get you to the promenade and the Victoria bus is just around the corner. Don't bother about the lack of TV in the room; there is only Euronews and CNN in English unless your Italian is up to scratch. There are sun loungers up on the open rooftop and the internal lift is great for getting up and down the four floors of the building. We were there in March and it was very quiet at night and only a few of the promenade restaurants were open but we kept going back to Smugglers for afternoon tea and evening meals and were never disappointed. Lots of well placed benches all along the promenade from where you can enjoy the view and people watch. We took advantage of the excellent and easy walk along the coast road which helped offset the delicious lemon meringue pie served fresh at breakfast after the eggs and bacon. You have been warned!
The Guest House is reasonably priced, comfortable and welcoming and Marsalforn is quite the nicest of the places to stay on Gozo. You might want to splash out a bit and take a taxi from the ferry to the guest house - very reasonable off season and the drivers are full of useful information.

Room Tip: You can ask to see other rooms before making a final decision which is what we did.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thabakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Thabakate,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience with other TA travelers.

We are very pleased to learn that you both have enjoyed Gozo and your stay here with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you home again once back on the island...

Regards,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Out of season visit to a very sleepy Marsalforn; nonetheless very enjoyable. This guesthouse is what would be described in the UK as ' Boutique Shabby Chic'. Our room was dressed with traditional Maltese furniture complete with a clean, modern ensuite. The bed was very comfortable and decidedly 'high rise' as the 'vertically challenged' Mrs Doc can vouch.

Plentiful breakfast. Scrambled eggs on toast superb!

Very comfortable, very clean and perfectly located. The welcome we received was genuine and warm as was the farewell.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MerchantDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear MerchantDoc,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other TA travelers.

Glad to hear we have met your expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both home again in the near future !

Warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a very nice stay in this home away from home. The guest house has a friendly and nice atmosphere. The rooms are all different, but clean and comfortable. The only thing on the minus side is the traffic noice from the main street. Ask for a room with view to one of the side streets.

Room Tip: A room to the side street is the most quiet place.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirmat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Kirmat865,

Many thanks for posting a review on TA.

It is always our aim to ensure guests' comfort throughout their entire stay here with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you home again once back on our little Island.

Regards,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

What can I say we stayed here for 2 nights and wished we had booked for longer.
We visited Gozo during a Christmas break to Malta.
The owners were friendly and helpful and the rooms were beautifully and traditionally furnished.
Breakfast is freshly prepared and of good quality.
If only all guest houses were like this, well done guys keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Telfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Telfor,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience here with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you home again once back on the Island.

Regards,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A recent long weekend break to Gozo and a stay this wonderful guesthouse made a welcome change. Truly pleasant hostesses,, great breakfasts and a warm and cosy room. Thanks a million. See you again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil101992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Phil101992,

What a lovely review !

We very much look forward to welcoming you home again in the near future.

Many thanks and regards

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews