We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, clean, simple but classic guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Marsalforn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homely, clean, simple but classic guesthouse”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Close to centre, and convenient for dive centres, restaurants and the beech. Spacious well proportioned rooms, with stylish furnishing. Superb breakfasts. Hard to fault as a guesthouse, but obviously no in room TV, roof top swimming pool nor bar, if that is what you are looking for then look elsewhere, but if you are not fussed with chain hotels, then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60arw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    64
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
263
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Maria Giovanna on Gozo for a brief vacation. As you enter the hotel, you can smell the freshly baked goods that taste as wonderful as they smell. The hotel is run by 2 sisters who are energetic, helpful, and willing to help you make your stay perfect. The hotel is 30 seconds from beach. Beach towels and a basket of pharmacy and toiletries are available for guests. The rooms are immaculate and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, with freshly baked goods and eggs and sweet fruit and tomatoes. They helped us plan our sightseeing and select the best restaurants that are a stone's throw from the hotel. Our only regret is we did not speak to them about a dive shop because the dive shop we selected was extremely disappointing.

Gozo is a wonderful place to relax, tour, and people watch

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If “Maria Giovanna” is a Maltese gem, then the twins, Anna & Sonia are the treasure trove!

The warm genuine hospitality, detailed attention and ever willingness to assist make staying here a truly abundant experience. Nothing is too much for the twins, they know how to spoil guest silly.
Sonia made our stay so seamless by helping us put up a harmonious program for each day, her extensive knowledge of the tourist attractions and time management makes her a super-efficient organizer.
Thanks to Anna’s bakery skills it easy to put on weight! The breakfast buffet is a culinary treat. Juice, coffee, cereals, yogurts, fresh breads with butter and preserves, fresh fruits, eggs to order, cakes and pies for deserts. Oh I loved the lemon meringue pie.

“Maria Giovanna” is ideally situated, very close to the bus stop, scuba diving school, a bar and the water front. Walk a little and you can discover many cafes and restaurants serving diverse cuisines along the promenade. A bit further and you can walk along the salt pans marvelling the rugged coastline. A typical Maltese house (fifteen bedrooms) furnished with authentic Gozitan period furniture, complete with four post wrought iron beds with brass fittings, decorative ceramics and lacework run lovingly by the Bugeja family, including the behind scenes man, Victor.

We stayed on the third floor, room 15 overlooking the street. The room was comfortable and well-appointed with Gozitan period furniture. A three seater sofa, armchair, cupboard, camphor chest, double bed, single bed, and a washstand of yore complete with the metal bowl, jug and marble table top. The glazed door opened out into the small balcony overlooking the street and offering a partial view of the sea. The bathroom was reasonably sized, modern with a good shower head and hairdryer.
Here is something total unique, you can borrow snorkelling equipment and floats which are kept on the terrace, beach towels, hats, sun screen, travelling nick-knacks like lotions, detergents, toiletries etc left behind by outgoing guest place at each floor landing.

In trying to maintain the authenticity of the period, there are neither television sets nor any water boilers for tea / coffee in the rooms, but I never really missed either. If I missed anything, it was a bit of lighting in the room. I found it difficult to read at night.

We would love to revisit.

Cheers

Room Tip: Room No 10 or 15 if you are looking for larger rooms with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saumil0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada del Hoyo, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I agree with most reviewers that this is an excellent place, brimming with character and charm. However, one has to keep in mind that this is only a bed and breakfast place so the prices charged should reflect this. But they don't and it can be quite expenisve. Don't get me wrong: I recommend it but the facilities available do not reflect the prices asked for. What you are paying for is charm and the excellent reputation that the two sisters who run this place have managed to build up. Marsalforn, where it is located, is nowadays a very touristy place. Parking is also a nightmare if you have your own car. I prefer it in Winter when it is quiter.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms with a balcony onto to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultra5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodmell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our first visit to Gozo for 34 years - still a magical place. Maria Giovanna Guest House was a revelation. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathrooms spotless and modern and the breakfasts were a kick start to the day. We brought three children (3,9 & 11) who had never been abroad before and they loved it. Sonia and Anna make great hostesses and we intend to return next year.
Thank you,
Marcus and Jenny Brown

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We’ve spent one week in this lovely guesthouse. It was our 3rd trip to Marsalforn, but the first stay with Anna and Sonja and certainly not the last one! From a warm and uncomplicated welcome late in the evening to the very last minutes, everything was to our satisfaction.
The room was spacious, wonderfully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and plenty. All the staff were friendly and helpfull, always a big smile on their faces.
We are already looking forward to retourning to Marsalforn and our next stay in Maria Giovannas Guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great atmosphere, great location, lots of fun with the staff..unbelievable breakfast...I'm out of words! Thank you!

I dont want to write more than 200 characters because the hotel speaks for itself :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
3.6 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.0 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Giovanna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Giovanna Guest House

Property: Maria Giovanna Guest House
Address: Rabat Road, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 9010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Giovanna, a typical Maltese town house, elegantly furnished 15-bedroom guest house offering a warm yet family atmosphere. It is run with care just like a personal home. Antique furniture, modern design and comforts melt to create this peaceful atmosphere. All bedrooms are set in a rustic style with romantic brass/iron beds. Each bedroom enjoys a fresh shower equipped with a hairdryer. Situated in an excellent location in Marsalforn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Maria Giovanna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Giovanna Guest House Hotel Marsalforn
Maria Giovanna Guest House Island Of Gozo, Malta - Marsalforn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing