We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hospitality”
Review of La Trattoria Restaurant - CLOSED

La Trattoria Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family hospitality”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

La Trattoria had a great location, right on the corner of the front; tables are on the street but raised on a slight platform, and it is a fantastic place to watch Marsalforn drift past. The outstanding thing about La Trattoria was the warm, appreciative service - no second-rate, expendable tourist treatment here, but a genuine gladness you had chosen to dine. And the food was very good too, we were shown the fresh catches of the day and had a choice to make, as well as from the menu. All in all, a very good meal in Marsalforn

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaracasFlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    30
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gozitan gem”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was the meal that we had on the last night of our two week holiday in xahgra we had tried to get a meal there earlier on the holiday but every time we tried it appeared to be closed (they don't open during the day and shut occasionally in an evening) we were fortunate enough however to get there very early in the evening and was given a table on the corner of the veranda overlooking the bay undoubtedly this was the best view. The staff were excellent and it appeared that this was a family run affair and they were obviously passionate about giving good service always with a smile and a twinkle in there eyes.
The complimentary bread and crackers that came with a home made tuna and bean pate was delicious, My starter was marrow and bacon soup and was excellent my fiances starter was fish soup and was simple and fresh tasting. The main of duck a la orange was cooked very well and presented excellently the other main of whole roasted seabass was cooked and seasoned well.
We shared a desert of tiramisu which was not overbearing with coffee and was not too heavy as they can be all this was washed down with a bottle of Gozitan red with espressos and a complimentary limoncello the total bill was 68 euros (we tipped and made it up to 75) if we had been able to eat there early on in the holiday we would definitely have returned several times as we found this to overall be the best place that we ate at and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We went to have a dinner to La Trattoria. We were welcomed by the family which owns this restaurant.
The menu offers a range of maltese products and more classical meals. Fresh fish is also available. Portions are huge. We were offered antipasti and digestive liquor.
We payed 45€ for 2 starters and 2 main courses with a bottle of wine.
The view and the terrasse were enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MwittM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“One of best restaurants on Gozo”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Delicious food, best service and friendly people. Nothing to complain about. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D2S3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“la trattoria: family restaurant”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Really good food, great view, even for veggies. Friendly, and super desserts! Would recommend this to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GanVanSamkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Trattoria Restaurant also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing