We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Odyssey Restaurant

Odyssey Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 50 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
suffolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We ate here twice , situated right next to our hotel it was less than 30 seconds to walk to it , over looking the harbour it is in a nice location . The prices represented good value and the food was ok However the guy pictured in one of the other reviews was a little surly and took ages to bring our menus and didn't speak or try to make conversation

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greeny1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    85
    32
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Smiling?”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The food was fine. We had a good dinner. It was just too bad that the whole staff looked anointed and we never saw one smile.
We ordered four different dishes and they came on four different moments. So the food itself was good, but the service was poor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NienkeJK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
“Excellent Service & Food”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My girlfriend and I dined at this restaurant twice during the last fortnight. Once we had dinner and the day after we had lunch. We were really satisfied with the food and service although in lunch time, service is a bit slow. At dinner time waiters are more friendly and attention is given to all tables. Also noted that a certain waiter explained the specials and different types of fish in French. As well after we ordered we were served with free Garlic Bread and a Homemade dip that was delicious. Occasionally the waiter poured wine and water and when food was served we were asked if everything was ok. Really satisfied with the Mushrooms in Garlic and with the Whole Fish the waiter suggested and even filleted. My girlfriend's Rib-Eye Steak was brilliant and the Mushroom Sauce was superb. As well the pizzas in lunch time were really fine and big!! Will surely be back in our next holiday on the sister island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad value for money, bad food, unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Can‘t believe that there are a few recommendations but i just went to there and it was terrible. first a really unfriendly didn‘t want to turn off the fan because i am ill - “ if i mind i should go!“. the food wasn‘t much and it really wasn‘t good. the pizza was more like a warm bread with cheese, like instant pizza and the lasagne was burned! Although it wasn‘t that expensive it wasn‘t worth the money - really BAD VALUE FOR MONEY!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muchde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conrad s, Manager at Odyssey Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Mr ''Muchde''

We are very democratic and respect the general public for their opinion and personal tastes but this time, we cannot be left indifferent to such false statements about our restaurant. We feel we need to use our right of reply in order to correct certain misleading comments which are to the detriment of our job.
First of all, we cannot be blamed for a dispute you had with another CLIENT like you, who wanted to keep the fan switched on during this hot month. If you think the other client was 'unfriendly' to you, then it doesn't necessarily mean that our staff is unfriendly. At Odyssey Restaurant we care for each and every client and even though the dispute was between you two, we cared enough for you as a client and offered an alternative better solution by trying to accommodate you on a new table inside where you would not have been exposed to any fans or the occasional breeze outside. Since this was not to your liking, we also offered to accommodate you on another table outside, not within the reach of a fan.
Regarding our food, you have all the right to say that our food ''really wasn't good'' because this is purely a matter of personal taste. But when you assert that it's ''instant pizza'', then you stand to be corrected. Our pizza is purely HOMEMADE and if you have the opportunity to ask around, you will realise that it is one of the things we are renowned for.
As regards to our lasagna, which you said it was burned, we would have been more than happy to serve you another lasagna (obviously not burned) only if you would have told us!
In 38 long years of successful business, we admit we had the occasional complaints like any other establishments, but we always do our best to improve by correcting our mistakes (if any) and satisfying our loyal customers.
- The Management at Odyssey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap and excellent pizzas”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

This is a very popular place with both locals and tourists. It offers a tourist menu so don't go here expecting fine dining. Having said that, their pizzas are first class. They are great value at between €3.50 and €6 and the choices are varied and delicious. If you're on a tight budget a large pizza will easily feed 2 of you. Worth pointing out is the fact that they will serve pizzas all week and at lunchtimes. Most places here won't do that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamStevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odyssey Restaurant also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Odyssey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing