We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menqa L'Antika - CLOSED

Menqa L'Antika
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled in the picturesque fishing village of Marsalforn on the tranquil island of Gozo, Menqa L'Antika awaits you to savour authentic local and Mediterranean gastronomy with a modern flair. Chef patron Gordon Camilleri, has created an exciting menu using the islands' tasteful and freshest produce. Carte du jour includes antipasti, fresh pasta, fish and shellfish, tender beef cuts, flambe dishes and homemade desserts. Thanks to our extensive wine list, every dish can be paired with that wine to create a fine art. Attentive service, exceptional food and a relaxing ambiance make Menqa L'Antika ideal for romantic dinners, families, friends as well as larger parties.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Menqa L ‘Antika Restaurant. Marsalforn, Gozo, Malta
We had an excellent meal and made to feel extra welcome and special. The food was excellent and reasonable priced, as were the wines, we would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gbysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    34
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guernsey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I wish all Gozo restaurants were this good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

From the welcome to the goodbye, everything about Menqua L'Antika is first class. The food is excellent, freshly roasted potatoes and grilled vegetables with tender suckling pig and fantastic calamari. Great wine (no. 56 on the list if you are interested). All in all a great experience and we will definitely go back. Easily the best we have eaten in Marsalforn. Genuinely good staff too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GsyReviewer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Marsalforn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had arrived in Marsalforn intending to try Pulena however this was closed. Our group of 4 decided to try Menqa L'Antika. We were glad that we did, the location is scenic and central in Marsalforn. The decor is great with crisp white table arrangements. I found the service attentive. We had mains only however tasty bruschetta and breads were provided before the main course. A minor issue was a wrong main course came, we didn't change it as it was quite late however what came was tasty so not a major problem. Price was reasonable compared to other similar venues. Overall would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Very good food, nice environment, lovely crockery, good service. Will be back! Thank you for a lovely evening!

Helpful?
Thank normacamilleri575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piazza Armerina, Italy
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience between taste and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I think is first or one of the best restaurants in Marsalforn , the food was very good and I don't pay very much, the restaurant is nice.... try it...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank concetto94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menqa L'Antika also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing