We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of Il-Forno - CLOSED

Il-Forno
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A 300 year old building with great character, with a bay view balcony.A live latin guitar player and a Hong Kong Chef who tries to please.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We ate here our first night of our 5 day stay. The Avocado and crab starter was tasteless with terrible old grab meat with bits of shell in it. For the main course I ordered Veil in an orange sauce - my first bite tasted of old cooking oil coloured orange - it was swimming in grease pretending to be a sauce. My partner has canaloni that looked about a week old - reheated with the tomatoe paste flaking on the top. It is a shame as this restaurant has one of the best views of the bay, but the furniture is dirty and seat fabrics torn and all needs a good clean. The final straw is that the owners kept saying that it must be my taste that caused me not like the dish - as others like it. Well I didn't eat it as didn't want to be on the toilet all night!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BluePeterDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    3
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“very friendly and good restaurant”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

we were friendly invited to have diner in their restaurant. we talked about how we would like to have the food done, and it was perfectly done like that. the lampchop and the calves liver were dilicious to eat. we surtainly recommand this place, off which the owners do absolutely their best to please the customer .it also hase a lovely sight on the bay from the terrace above.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dirty place and burnt food”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Il Forno is situated in Marasalforn. The owner, an old guy is like a hawk waiting outside trying to catch his prey with his nice sweet talk. When one enters one easily notices how dirty the place is apart that it was empty. The only thing very well done was our rib-eye which was burnt. Not recommended at all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply Great!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We loved it here, the owner was really friendly. He gave us the choice of table - we chose a table on the balcony whice overlooked the port.

The good was really good. And try the Gozo wine - brilliant!!

The offer a range of Italian or Chinese food, which seemed odd but the family that own the restaurant were Maltise & Chinese so it then made sence!!

Was one of the best nights there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitykatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha
1 review
“My experience is based on my personal opinion. I'm an amature cook myself and I can identify good food. I recommend.”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

i've been to Il-Forno quite a few times and was always served exquiisite food. Their variety of Italian, French, coupled with a supplement of Chinese food makes it unique. The prices are very reasonable. A touch of music by the owner, who plays the guitar beutifully, makes the evening (or lunch) quite complete. My complements..

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il-Forno also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing