We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“robert kennedy”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Dublin, , Ireland
1 review
“robert kennedy”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

this trip was great the hotel staff food acc room were all fab we will return soon as the kids had a great hoilday diveing swimming snorkeling it was just non stop what a place frendly and great value thanks so much xxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: 408 front of hotel looking at sea great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    302
    92
    34
    24
See reviews for
110
365
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just had 2 weeks at the Calypso hotel in Marsalforn and we were were very impressed with our holiday with just two points we think can be improved on which I have mentioned later. On the positive side our room was kept spotlessly clean and both breakfast and evening dinner were very extensive and good. The evening meal in the main restaurant had a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains (a fish, meat and vegetarian) and 2 desserts. Drinks and snacks served on the 6th floor (top) bar/pool area were good too. All of the staff but especially those in the restaurant were very friendly and good. We think overall though that Manuel and Martin in the restaurant excelled.

Some other useful points about the hotel being the location, a small beach is nearby, shops - a mini supermarket selling a local newspaper - head around the bay near opposite where there is a diving shop just up side street, turn up that street, take a footpath/alley on the right and right at the end, a bus stop around the corner in the square to the left of the front entrance with good regular inexpensive buses to Victoria (310) and the other villages and main beach/ferry (322). Day and week tickets available, day ticket being 2.60 euro a day for a non resident and for those staying locally for lunch or for evening meals, plenty of restaurants around the bay to chose from.

The two points I think worth mentioning - at check in which was later than planned due to a slightly delayed flight and missed ferry connection the reception did not seem to be aware of our holiday representative coming the following day but they helpfully put us in touch with him whilst we were having breakfast and he worked around us finishing our breakfast. Maybe an English thing too, a kettle in the bedroom to make tea or coffee would be a nice touch and was really missed.

Overall though, we were very happy with our holiday and look forward to a return in a few years time.

Room Tip: Choose a sea or bay view if you are like me a light sleeper. Rear rooms have a road than can have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdd150407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalypsoHotelGozo, Director of Sales at Calypso Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear mdd150407,

Greetings from Hotel Calypso!

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Calypso.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Gozo.
Hotel Calypso is renowned for its cuisine and for the great choice for the buffet breakfast.
The hotel is indeed in a great position as it is near restaurants and shops, and also enjoys great sea views.
Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Calypso in the future.

Best regards
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a functional hotel. Aspires to be 4* but is definitely no more than 3. Service is hit and miss. Waiting Staff are good - receptionist are are surly and abrupt.

If you expect no frills you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

stayed in this hotel for two weeks, and we can happily say we didnt ever get bored or sad of staying in this hotel. rooms are fantastic, very clean, food is mouthwatering, we loved every dinner we had, especially the sunday buffet! we arrived very late at night, and the lovely night receptionist chris was very helpful and he was patient indeed since we do not really know the island and how things work at the hotel, he explained everything to us in detail and answered any query we had. it would be lovely to send him our regards :)

the only thing that disappointed me a little was the barman at the 6th floor, he was a bit aggressive and showed us he was doing us coffees or drinks as if we were not going to pay for them!! on the whole, we would definitely suggest the hotel to all of our friends and people out there to stay at this lovely hotel.... :) opt for a seaview or bayview room, it is worth the price :) we love hotel calypso! and cant wait for our next holiday later on this year!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Nice rooms, good location.Breakfast has a great variation. Staff is very friendly. À good choice. We sure come back overhere.

Room Tip: Ask seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a week on Gozo, the hotel is amazing, clean tidy, the staff arefantasutic , the cannot do enough for you, nothing is to much trouble. The only one slight downer, and it is the smallest criticism, is that there are no brewing facilities in the room. You can request room service or nip to the 6th floor but, it's just not the same. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone. We agree with other comments that it is busier at the weekend however, that should not put you off it is still a fantastic place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PiscyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed for six weeks. A truly first rate experience. The staff, on all levels, so very good at their work. I travel a great deal, spend a great deal of time in hotels and have to say The Calypso is one of the best. It just felt so good. The essence of a first rate hotel is often found in the way residents are looked after. The Calypso certainly succeeds 100%. If you are going to Gozo - stay at the Calypso!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo, Malta - Marsalforn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing