We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

staying at the calypso hotel was a brilliant experience. the staff were friendly but not in your face and the view from the roof is superb. we were upgraded to a sea view room free of charge which also has spectacular views.

upon arrival back to our room every evening it was spotless no complaints at all. as for the pool on the roof, it was bigger and better than i expected due to some of the rather negative reviews id read.

being incredibly picky, bacon lovers, the bacon is not good. and the beds are a bit hard overall
i would recommend this hotel to anyone:)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 980barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    309
    93
    38
    24
See reviews for
116
377
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I really hate writing bad reviews but more than a review the following should actually be considered a warning to anyone planning to stay at the Calypso Hotel in Gozo.

Not all is negative and I will begin by writing about the good things this hotel does offer. First and foremost I found the staff to be immensely helpful and understanding, particularly two very nice ladies by the name of Charmaine and Helen, I highly appreciate the trouble they went through to cancel the rest of the booking and refund my money back. So once again thank you Charmaine and Helen for your constant support you gave us.
The hotel is also spotless and I found it to be very clean too.

So what did I complain about and why did I leave just after one night?

If you happen to be visiting Gozo to explore the island, this hotel might just do it for you, however if you are planning a 3 night stay to actually stay in this hotel, make use of the 'pool' on the roof and relax inside and have breakfast in the morning you are in a for nightmare and trust me it will be a nightmare.

At around 2pm we tried to use the pool on the roof, unfortunately no sunbeds or umbrellas were available since they were all occupied by the residents, funnily the roof is big enough to fit more sunbeds and umbrellas but strangely the space on the back of the roof is empty and the rest of the other part is taken by chairs and tables. It is impossible to make use of this pool area or relax on a sun bed!
Paying Euro61 a night for a bed and breakfast simply does not justify the price considering the bad quality this hotel offers ( i will comment on the breakfast later) i am surprised that the hotel was supposedly to have been refurbished, if it was they surely did not refurbish the rooms!
The rooms are very dated, with furniture which looks very old (trust me they are not antiques) an old CRT Grundig TV in a cabinet just gives you an idea what to expect, even the remote control had to be changed as it was not working!
Could they not afford to replace the TV sets with 19 inch LCD-TVs??
Is the management aware that we are living in the year 2012?

The air condition is so noisy that I just had to switch it off at night, it was impossible to sleep.
Funnily outside in the corridor on level 4 room 423 a very annoying noise can be heard all day long, not only is this a nuisance during the day but the people who stayed in room 423 could not even get a good night sleep!

The breakfast.... (joke of the year)
Has the management ever checked out other 4 star hotels in Gozo and the breakfast they offer?
Maybe the Cornucopia would be a good tip guys.
This is what the breakfast consists of, potatoes, scrambled eggs( they looked very inedible) tomatoes, sausages and bacon. I wish I had a camera on me to show you the how off putting this food was, it looked like it was cooked at night and warmed again at 8am! I am not an expert but I have worked in the catering bushiness for 3 years and I know exactly how fresh cooked food is supposed to look like. This was not fresh but warmed food cooked hours ago!
There was a table of various fruit and croissants a small plate of 4 different cheeses and bread.
Coffee and tea from the Thermos and juices from the machine.
No cereal could be seen anywhere, no cappuccino machine or espresso in sight.
Personally this is one of the worst breakfasts I have ever had in my life.

Talking on food I had heard that they offer a good BBQ every Saturday night with live entertainment, when we went to ask about this, we were told we a smile that they have not started these BBQ's, what are they waiting for? Autumn? Also the offer of 50% discount on the Sunday lunch buffet to hotel residents is no longer available, when we asked about this we were told that it was an offer made only last year.

I honestly cannot recommend this hotel for anyone planning to enjoy himself inside this hotel, the rooms are ugly to stay in, the breakfast is a disaster, the noise on level 4 is a nightmare, and trying to relax by the pool is simply impossible.
This is one hotel that I will never ever check out again or even recommend to stay in.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in 423 and 529 are situated on the back of the hotel. the noise on level 4 near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank u2fanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

What a great location,clean and very friendly. I would pay next time for a seaview room with balcony that you could sit out on. Safe is fairly cheap,air con and big ceiling fan gives you both options. Best bit for me was the breakfast and the view at breakfast. The pool is great just go up get your bed before breakfast so you do not miss having bed as they are limited the beach out front is great gets busy around 3pm. Watch out 4 jelly fish they are around. Take a walk up and around the harbour past otters bar keep going to the little bay xweji something like that very quiet and motel busy. The salt pans are around the corner as well. The temples were very disappointing really small not giant at all. Blue lagoon go that is a must but go early I cann tell you how crowded it gets you would not believe it and it's worse in July and August apparently. Best restaurant Beppe's and Latini's great food and service. Take the all day bus for 2.60 you can go we're ever you like and they are air conditioned. Cheaper than a tour. Midas cruise from Malsaform very good, Azure window worth a look great photo opportunities. Great holiday thank you

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAlta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The location of the hotel is superb and the breakfast was very very good. The receptionist was a bit too calm for my likings and took his time. The bathroom was super small and claustrophobic at times, the bedroom was ok but in need of some renovation like for example the curtains were torn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SVELMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, , Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

this trip was great the hotel staff food acc room were all fab we will return soon as the kids had a great hoilday diveing swimming snorkeling it was just non stop what a place frendly and great value thanks so much xxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: 408 front of hotel looking at sea great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just had 2 weeks at the Calypso hotel in Marsalforn and we were were very impressed with our holiday with just two points we think can be improved on which I have mentioned later. On the positive side our room was kept spotlessly clean and both breakfast and evening dinner were very extensive and good. The evening meal in the main restaurant had a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains (a fish, meat and vegetarian) and 2 desserts. Drinks and snacks served on the 6th floor (top) bar/pool area were good too. All of the staff but especially those in the restaurant were very friendly and good. We think overall though that Manuel and Martin in the restaurant excelled.

Some other useful points about the hotel being the location, a small beach is nearby, shops - a mini supermarket selling a local newspaper - head around the bay near opposite where there is a diving shop just up side street, turn up that street, take a footpath/alley on the right and right at the end, a bus stop around the corner in the square to the left of the front entrance with good regular inexpensive buses to Victoria (310) and the other villages and main beach/ferry (322). Day and week tickets available, day ticket being 2.60 euro a day for a non resident and for those staying locally for lunch or for evening meals, plenty of restaurants around the bay to chose from.

The two points I think worth mentioning - at check in which was later than planned due to a slightly delayed flight and missed ferry connection the reception did not seem to be aware of our holiday representative coming the following day but they helpfully put us in touch with him whilst we were having breakfast and he worked around us finishing our breakfast. Maybe an English thing too, a kettle in the bedroom to make tea or coffee would be a nice touch and was really missed.

Overall though, we were very happy with our holiday and look forward to a return in a few years time.

Room Tip: Choose a sea or bay view if you are like me a light sleeper. Rear rooms have a road than can have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdd150407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalypsoHotelGozo, Director of Sales at Calypso Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear mdd150407,

Greetings from Hotel Calypso!

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Calypso.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Gozo.
Hotel Calypso is renowned for its cuisine and for the great choice for the buffet breakfast.
The hotel is indeed in a great position as it is near restaurants and shops, and also enjoys great sea views.
Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Calypso in the future.

Best regards
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a functional hotel. Aspires to be 4* but is definitely no more than 3. Service is hit and miss. Waiting Staff are good - receptionist are are surly and abrupt.

If you expect no frills you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
721 reviews
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
701 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.8 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo, Malta - Marsalforn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing