We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
1 Kaccatur Flats(Marsalforn)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downtown Hotel(Victoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
264
333
102
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
333
102
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsea viewreception staffhalf boardlovely hotelmarsalforn bayrestaurant staffthe general managerwaiter servicecoffee shopomelettelarge balconylocal restaurantssun decksunday lunchsmall harboursalt water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a shame to see a good hotel slide into being not a very good one.
Have just visited the Calypso for the 3rd time in 4 years. Believe it changed hands 2 years ago just about the time of our visit..The rooms are now looking very tired with stained furniture and holes in the awnings on the balcony. The most surprising thing is patched towels one had 3 holes with patches sewn on to cover them.
It all looks very neglected
The restaurant which used to be excellent and had table service out of season now serves buffet food on the nights when it cannot cope with the number of guests requiring food, The food which is supposed to be hot is luke warm at best.
This is such a shame for a hotel in a fantastic position and rooms with great views and staff in the restaurant that welcome you back like a friend.
I will be sad not to go back but unless the decline is halted I would not consider going back again.

Room Tip: Always have sea view room. Rooms on the back overlook a narrow street and dont get the sun
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldinefrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Once more we have had an enjoyable stay at the Calypso. It may not be the grandest hotel on Gozo but we like it & have stayed many times. We received the usual pleasant friendly welcome from the staff - especially as we walked into the dining room. Being on half-board, we usually had a substantial breakfast to see us through until the evening meal, although we did occasionally have a small snack if out for a visit or on a walk. The evening meals were varied and we enjoyed each & every one.
The room was adequate, with a large balcony overlooking the small harbour. Furnishings & facilities were clean, and we had no problem with either the bed or the bathroom.
Our only criticism would be regarding some of the staff who work in the Reception area. Many of them had their head down as we passed - it would have been pleasant to have been acknowledged - if only by a nod or a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Visit Calypso Hotel for short visit and we were truly satisfied.

To start off, we have only encountered the Front Office,Housekeeping and F&B staff and all are very helpful and efficient especially the housekeeping which makes you feels very welcoming. Front Office tried their very best yet they have their limitations whilst F&B servers need to put more effort in making the client the first and foremost.

The room itself was very well kept. Cleaning was top notch and fittings are of very high standards. We had a sea-view room and definitely a very attractive view of Marsaforn bay. It is shame that the weather was not in our favor and we could not enjoy the well sized balcony. I found the bed a bit uncomfortable, yet the accompanying persons did not complain hence it could be that I am used to different bedding. Having tea/coffee facilities would be a nice touch if they are provided free of charge.

We stayed on BB basis and Breakfast was of high-quality for a four star hotel. Wide selection to choose from especially the pastry section where one may find around 6 different types of bread rolls and another 6 different kinds of pasties which all seemed to be produced in–house and delicious in taste. The only thing about breakfast was concerning hot beverages as Coffee jars and Tea pots were readily available for self service . At times, the tea was not strong enough and throughout the service the tea will not remain piping hot. In my opinion, the management must invest in a coffee machine and offer other choices like; herbal tea, warm milk etc.

Hotel Calypso does not have a lot of leisure facilities and being Gozo is very quite throughout the shoulder months, no particular atmosphere is created. It was also a shame that the roof top pool terrace was not open for residents as I was looking forward to see the view from up there.

All in all, definitely a good value for money and I am surely to re-visit again if I plan to go back to the island of Gozo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Usually the title I'm going to give to my review is one of the most difficult parts but this time I had no problem. Every morning when my wife and I went in for breakfast a most magnificent view of the bay and, on its right side, the sea, welcomed us. Though we went in February, the weather was so beautiful that - cross my heart - people were swimming! The view of the bay was also what we looked on from our room which was spotless. The staff was friendly and the breakfast delicious and extremely varied. When I look at these and the other positive aspects of this hotel I ask myself what do negative reviewers want?

At this time, this village is mostly deserted but enough restaurants were open and we had some wonderful and peaceful (few people and few cars around) long walks.

Room Tip: The beds and the coverings can be better. Choose a room with a seaview.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwars0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from a weekend break with my girlfriend for Valentine's, which we enjoyed thoroughly, but not because this hotel was any fun!

The room we rented was overlooking Marsalforn Bay, which is lovely to wake up to in the morning. The hotel is clean and the staff is rather friendly. So why a poor rating, you might ask? Simple: the hotel is a poor 4-star experience.

1. The bedding is uncomfortable. We booked a double bed and we got two singles stuck together with a sheet that was too short to tuck in under the mattresses at both sides, so the sheets would come off at night. The sheets were overplayed with two single-bed blanket spreads, folded in the middle, which once again get all messed up because they do not fit properly. It would appear that the invention of duvets is still unknown to this hotel. The mattresses also feel cheap and slept on a few too-many times.

2. The furnishings inside the hotel rooms are shabby. They seem to be made of cherry wood with "touches" of white chipboard, and they're not getting any reward for style anytime soon. The doors look like cheap post-form. The lobby next to the reception is a mixture of cane sofas and cheap-looking amateur-made tables and shades. The corridors leading to the rooms lack any sense of taste, looking more like an old people's hospital-home than a good hotel!

3. The room facilities are poor, lacking any coffee/tea making facilities, an iron, bed slippers or anything of the sort.

4. There is dire need for proper maintenance everywhere, Our room had at least 3 wobbly tiles that felt like they would come off the flooring any time. The A/C was so noisy we had to turn it off. The water tap in the bathroom was clogged with limestone and water would not come out properly,

5. Breakfast was OK-ish. You get a buffet breakfast with the usual eggs and sausages and rashers of bacon, a variety of fresh fruit and breads, yogurts, and several pastries. The quality of the food itself was not great though; cheap sausages, streaky bacon, and the juices and water tasted outright horrible, more like fruit squash mixed with tap water!

6. There are no parking facilities. There are a few parking spaces in front of the hotel which are always full because of the many restaurants in the vicinity, so we always ended up parking several blocks away.

We have not tried the hotel restaurant but the menu looked ordinary. That didn't bother us as their are plenty of good restaurants and cafés in the area and in Gozo. There is also a small rooftop pool which we didn't bother to visit.

At best, this is an average 3-star hotel with some questionable 4-star attributes, but certainly not a 4-star experience. If you want better value for your money, try elsewhere!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clyde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews