We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning food and view!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe San Martino

Cafe San Martino
Ranked #27 of 45 Restaurants in Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning food and view!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had an amazing time with my husband at cafe san martino proberly the best meal or it is the best lunch we had on r 2 week holiday, had this amazing shrimp soup for a starter and followed by a exallent dish called timballo its a home made vegetable lasagne and my husband had the Gozo cheese salad and came with pizza warm bread cooked by a very young sweet boy named jordan! San martino has a breath taking view and very exallent service, Joseph the owner was very funny followed by his team Anna very nice people. When ever I'm back in Malta (Gozo) I'll decently come back there highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    13
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally! A Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I hit upon this little cafe unexpectedly while visiting Citadel. The menu was interesting but the cafe, though has a good view, was unassuming. But were we pleasantly surprised by the food. We were attracted by the friendliness of the owner, Joe. He recommended his specialties and we took them. They were excellent.

The shrimp brisque was so creamy and tasty. I really loved the octopus stew - a special tangy tasty soft octopus. The bread with special tomato toppings tasted like warm pizza, and the salad so crispy, all local produce. The stuffed peppers were almost out of this world. We wanted to try other dishes, but we were too full!

We definitely plan to return to this little friendly cafe, which serves such delicious food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLCTakeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Possibly best food on Malta and Gozo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Delicious food, beautiful view, good value and great service. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Lovely food, beautiful views, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I visited during December and had the place to myself... Seafood bisque was recommended by the owner and it did not disappoint. Nice salad, breads and pizza also hit the spot. Reasonable price for lunch with a stunning vista over the town below.

3 of us ate and drank for less than 40 euros

Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamindrfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quality food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Possibly the best meal we have had in 12 days on malta and gozo. Some good vegetarian choices ad well as meat options. Care taken with presentation. Waiting staff very helpful and attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frances515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe San Martino also viewed

Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 
Island of Gozo, Malta
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Cafe San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing