We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth it anymore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not worth it anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I’ve been in this hotel in 2010 and after being there now (3 years after) I saw a downgrade. The hotel remains affordable and clean; however my good impression of this hotel was not satisfied again. In 2010, I would have completely agreed with those who said that this was a 3-star hotel which offers a 4-star service. But now it’s a different story.

Apart from a receptionist who does not speak our native language, my main disappointment comes from the restaurant. The buffet dinner was not catchy and we opted to dine outside the hotel. The breakfast quality was poor too. Half of the buffet counter was empty and unused, making the breakfast so lacking in variety: no salad and only 1 kind of fruit (oranges). Food was stale and the working staff was not even wearing uniforms.

Room Tip: internal rooms have no bath and lack sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCaruanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We note the the positive comments about the hotel's affordability and cleanlines.

And we are genuinely amused about the comment on the receptionist not speaking "our language", presumably Maltese! We are sure that other hotels in Malta also emply non-Maltese staff.

Regarding the buffet dinner not being 'catchy', we do not exactly know what is meant by this. Our buffet dinner consists of soup, a selection of salads, pasta and main course plus vegetables and potatoes and desert. It is freshly prepared and represents good value for money at the price it is sold.

Salad with breakfast? We are not sure if it goes but there is a limit to what a three star hotel can offer for breakfast. The comment about the half used buffet (counter) is misleading - we do have a large buffet counter that we use for dinner and breakfast, but for breakfast we only use one part of it. It was always like this. We believe that we offer a very good breakfast for a three star hotel, buffet style with eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans, baked tomatoes, ham, cheese, maltese bread, french toast bread, brown bread, cereals, jams, marmalade, honey, butter, yogurt, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices, cake and fresh fruit. Not bad at all for a three star hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    120
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
38
116
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting parents who live nearby. Nice clean rooms - the internal ones without balconies are a bit cheaper but worth getting a balcony for the extra daylight. TV channel selection is poor - there was only one English channel showing re - runs. Free wifi internet with good download speed was a big plus point - available throughout the whole hotel.
Nice bathroom - walk in shower, plenty of towels and shampoo / body wash dispenser next to the sink and in the shower - helpful if you want to avoid taking liquids on the flight or are traveling with cabin baggage only on a budget airline. My room was tidied and bed made every day.
Breakfast was fairly simple but adequate - English breakfast buffet style, ham / cheese, cereals, toast, yoghurts and fruit. plenty of free coffee and juice. I didnt eat in the restaurant but it seemed popular with the locals and they served delicious coffees and cakes, which I did try !
The bar closed quite early - about 10ish but I was told it was because of it being winter and they open later in the summer.
Very quite location, 5 mins walk from Victoria town centre where there are lots of shops / markets / places to eat. There are many beaches on Gozo but I think you would need a car to reach them from Victoria.
All in all, the Downtown is a nice place to stay. The rooms are reasonably priced and the staff are friendly. I will be going back in June for a short holiday and I'm intending to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with town view are well priced with large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphandbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We've been to DownTown over and over and we shall keep on staying there...staff are always kind and friendly to us and to our dogs...(even though this time round one of the staff seemed a bit shocked to see us marching in with our four legged children :)))

The hotel in itself is clean and down to earth, no added frills but very comfortable. Relaxing view of the country...and a decent kitchen downstairs if you do not feel like running around for a meal.

Hotel is also nearby shopping centres for those interested in some shopping.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenmab79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

What we loved about this hotel was that the room was very clean and spacious. We loved the balcony as it is quite big, almsot a terrace, different from all of the other hotels. Hotel is great value for rate paid

We did not quite like being in Victoria in general, as in the evening there was not much to do. The staff were not so friendly or helpful. Food brought for room service (pizza) was average. One other thing I did not like was that we asked for a King bed, and we were given a bed with 2 single joint beds, so sleep wasn't so great!

Overall, good hotel to spend a few nights in Gozo on a budget.

Room Tip: The hotel gives you the option to choose between a street view or a country viiew. We have chosen th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_M28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is virtually the only hotel in Victoria, and it has clear-cut good and bad features. Downside is its location, admittedly only ten minutes' walk from the bus station, but giving the impression of Out-of-Town rather than Downtown. The flip side of this is the remarkably peaceful views from the rear of the hotel (the so-called "garden" side), with a comfortable balcony to relax on over a glass of wine in the evening. The other negative point is the food - adequate but nothing special: synthetic-tasting orange juice and coffee for the breakfast buffet, and a limited evening menu. On the other hand, the rooms and the whole hotel are clean, modern and attractive, the beds, despite the protruding chipboard betraying their construction, are comfortable, after the manner of a good medium-priced business-class hotel. The small roof-top pool was also good. Good value for money.

Room Tip: The Garden View rooms are recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the Downtown Hotel on 26 Septemberand would highly recommend it for a stay.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, making our room available early so that we could checkin, even though we turned up at the hotel without a booking.

Our balcony, street view room, was incredibly clean and roomy.The bathroom exceptional for the price we paid. The room also had a minibar which was very useful considering the temperatures last week, and it was affordable!!!

We found the breakfast to be very good. There was an ample choice of cheeses, meats, different types of bread and eggs.

We will definitely use this hotel again and are planning to stay longer and use it as a base to explore Gozo.

Thank you for a very pleasurable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Downtown hotel is in the capital of Gozo (Victoria). The Island of Gozo is one of the most beautiful places I have been. We were there at the end of September and the weather was glorious and sunny every day. The Town of Victoria is full of history and and hotel enables you tp walk to it all. The hotel offers a free service every weekday to the many beautiful beaches on the island in a mini bus free of charge. The food is Exellent and the room we had was Ideal overlooking the street with a small balcony. The staff cant do enough for you and the people on the Island generally are very friendly. The hotel is always very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artycrab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.9 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Property: Downtown Hotel
Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing