We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a budget hotel..it doesn't claim to be anything else.
We arrived at just after 0200 and were expected and shown to our rooms,ours was a countryside view..not too unpleasant ...not graced by luscious gardens ,however it is located on the outskirts of Victoria ,a 2 minute walk away, so it's ideal for the bus station and the few shops.
The rooms were clean tidy and functional and wifi access was no problem either in our rooms or in reception.
The pool is a little gem situated on the roof with some fantastic views especially in the evenings overlooking the citadel.
The staff were friendly enough and breakfast was good,in the evenings it was nice to see the locals eating there always a good sign I think.
Yes it's opposite a sports centre and school but this didn't detract us from a good budget stay centrally located....would stay again .

Room Tip: Ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel adequate for a short stay in the town. Rooms clean. Breakfast disappointing as ran out of things to eat, and lad was a bit surly. Think overall staff could be a bit more pleasant, didn't seem very friendly. An ok stay if you have to stay inland, overpriced for where it is. Had one meal there in the evening which was ok.. All in all felt quite impersonal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishermanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at Downtown Hotel for one night. Close to town center and parking is available. Room was clean, however it desperately needs some improvement. A/c makes way too much noise and one of the speakers of the TV was broken. We only had breakfast there but oh boy was it an awful experience. Staff did not look happy, the choice of food available was pathetic. No brown bread, no decaf coffee. If something finished from the hot food station, it was up to the guests to point it to the servers. Overall, we really didn't feel it was value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectickooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here as part of an Explore package tour. Clean but nothing special. Room 309 and many others at the back suffer from noise all night from exhaust ducts from the ground floor functions areas. Our view was to litter strewn vacant allotment and a concrete wall. Close to town center.

Room Tip: A front street facing room on a higher floor might be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay here.

The experience was decidedly 'okay' and nothing more.

The hotel is an adequate 3 star hotel. Rooms were clean, bed linen reasonable and towels clean and fresh. The street view room has a rather ugly view of the nearby Sports Complex and School but is way better than facing a shaft - beware, the hotel does have a number of internal rooms.

What sadly lets this place down is the staff. Not a smile unless forced, never a good morning and no checking that everything is okay. Dear Manager, this costs nothing! On arrival not a good evening but just a "Yes", on departure not even a good bye or did you enjoy your stay, hope to see you again. How can this be acceptable? This impacts dramatically on the guest's experience and on this basis I would not check in here again. Staff were also rather scruffy, in faded denim in the breakfast room. Surely time for these young men to invest in a pair of black trousers.

We ate in the cafe and had a mediocre service experience, two apologies for having forgotten us - is this really the way to do business.

Overall massive improvements could be made for no cost - how sad to have to write this.

Room Tip: Avoid shaft rooms - unless your budget is the key driver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Well located near the centre of Victoria (Rabat), nice comfortable room with a fridge. Breakfast was good and included hot food, bacon, eggs, beans, and the usual toast and corn flakes.
There is a small pool on the roof, ok for sunbathing but not big enough for swimming.
We ate in the evening in the little cafe downstairs, and the food was nice and well priced, pizza etc.
There was plenty of street parking.
A good base to explore Gozo, and not too far from the ferry at Mgarr.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at Downtown Hotel we went to Gozo due that Xaghra village were celebrating their feast of Marija Bambina . The room had a street view with the balcony was well sized clean and comfortable with airconditioning . Restaurant at the hotel starts dinner at 18.30 there is an alternative downstairs at Lucky Jacks to dine at the same time which I found a bit strange that you cannot dine before . To dine before you have to dine either out of the village or outside the hotel , which we did we al;ways dined outside at xlendi and once at Lucky Jacks , were staff is friendly I would like to mention one in particular Frans .We only took breakfast once the day of departure was not much variety for continental breakfast , the cups of coffee were all dirty from underneath were not polished properly.
On the whole it was an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
731 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £39 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing