We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Gozo”
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 9 May 2014

staying on Malta we decided to go over for 2 days and booked a B&B at this place. It's a great location for Victoria clean and comfortable with helpful front desk staff. Breakfast was ok no more than that however Gozo was a joy. the open top bus takes you to some beautiful bays where you can stop for lunch or dinner and everyone was very friendly and helpful. There are lovely little bars in Victoria to go for a glass of wine or two and then a straight walk back to the hotel. The St George festival was on the evening we were there and we really enjoyed all the music and ceremony going on.

Room Tip: Booking tours with the sellers whilst waiting for your ferry means you can negotiate discounts which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 6 nights as a base for a walking holiday. Found the hotel very comfortable and
friendly. Also the meals in the hotel are good and great value. It was close to the bus station and bus stops. Supermarket and shopping centre are 5 minutes walk away. There is a school nearby but we didnt hear any noise from that. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lc_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is a good bet if you want to stay on Gozo. It's located about 5-10 minute walk from the main bus terminal where buses go all over the island and are easy to navigate. It has a complimentary breakfast which is simple and satisfying. It has a restaurant and a cafe and an American restaurant, Lucky Jack's, directly below it. We didn't love Lucky Jack's but I'm not even sure if it's affiliated with the hotel. The hotel gave us a late check-out of 6pm for free so we could spend the day checking out Comino. It had free wifi and, apparently has a beautiful rooftop terrace with a pool and great city views but, unfortunately, it was closed in winter. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlJess902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Me and my friend wanted rooms next to each other and we wrote to them, but instead they gave us rooms in separate floors. We were pissed. The receptionist didn't even speak good English or Maltese. The furniture very old and dusty. The wifi too slow and I had a view of the shaft. The corridors are very narrow and it's very closed. When I stayed at the Grand Hotel in Mgarr I give it a much better rate, not to mention the breakfast was all messed up. Only 1 sausage with a piece of ham and they were all out of milk. My family hated this hotel only one good thing the location. I won't stay in it never ever again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlaaaa111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

We advise anybody reading this review to use their good sense and consider the way and tone that this review has been written in and what ulterior motives may lie behind it. Any response from our side would be really superfluous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Downtown Hotel in Victoria Gozo is an ideal hotel where to stay for a short break in Gozo. The rooms are very comfortable. The accomodation stardards are very good. The hotel serves a very good english breakfast. The staff at the reception make you feel very welcome!

Room Tip: The country view rooms are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is an good, clean, budget hotel situated in a great location if you want to be in Victoria town in the centre of the island. From the hotel one can walk to the bus terminus and travel around easily as all main routes radiate out from Victoria. It is also ideally situated within walking distance of all the central shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. So for those wishing to explore Gozo from a central base, without a vehicle, this place is ideal. The hotel has an integral cafe which I have always found to be very friendly and serves good coffees, and light meals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Have stayed here a few times & this time noticed standards had dropped. There tv in the room is so old & the picture and sound are really bad. The wifi is to slow to work in the room. When I checked in I was told the room had been just cleaned, but everything had a layer of dust on it & the shower gel on the wall of the shower had emptied in to the bath. The shower head is very small with poor flow.
I had dinner one night in the cafe & I after waiting 30 mins was served a 1/2 frozen lasagne, sent it back, 10 mins later still frozen in the middle.
It is good value hotel & the location is very handy, but it's getting very tired now.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
765 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,277 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
749 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £40 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing